We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of boutique hotel in Old Damascus”
Review of Beit Zaman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Zaman
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem of boutique hotel in Old Damascus”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

A charming old palace has been turned into a modern, comfortable, clean, friendly hotel without losing the sense that you are in Old Damascus. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was tasty and of excellent quality featuring both local and international foods. The beds and bathroom facilities were up to date. There is wi-Fi. It is on Straight Street within walking distance of all the exotic sites of the city. A winner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernandgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on our return to Damascus. Our room was in the back courtyard which was so quiet and comfortable. All the staff were incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We arrived on 14th March, checked in and went out for dinner at Haretna Restaurant. The next morning, to our dismay, we found out that someone with access to our room safety box master key had opened it and had stolen 400 dollars and 200 euros. We complained to the manager to no effect. Of course we left immediatly to another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSmithBrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I had a fabulous stay in Beit Zaman. I was so impressed by the service and the environment provided in such an incredible historical place. I was really really in awe of the actual hotel building, the furniture and furnishings. The food was great and the staff went out of their way to really make my stay one to remember. I will be back!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

A lovely hotel in the old part of Damascus, very close to the souq (market) . There are several small convenient stores across from the hotel where you can buy snacks and drinks. A bakery is nearby where you can buy food. My husband , daughter and I stayed here for two nights and then came back for one more night before flying back home. The room in the first stay was very clean, roomy and the middle-eastern style furniture made me feel like in 1001 nights! However, because it's in a residential area, it would get noisy, but quiet down in late evening. We were on the second floor and there was no elevator. The room in the second stay was kind of strange. It was another lovely room on the ground floor. However, the wash sink and the toilet were in one room and the shower itself is in another room. Because the shower room is in a small space and there's no where to put your towel and clothes expect hanging at the back of the door, the towels and clothes gets wet easily! Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Internet connection was free! I was pleasently surprise by this lovely hotel! I don't know how much our room cost as it is part of our tour package, but it's list as 5 stars in our brochure.

  • Liked — the furnitures, cleaniness, ammenities, comfortable beds, spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — the shower room on the first floor, no place to hang towels, clothes without getting them wet.
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The hotel is very atmospheric and located quite close to the main attractions in Old Damascus. Some of the finest eateries are also situated within walking distance such as Elissar and Naranj. But what really bowled us over, was the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff! From helping us find parking for our car (we drove from Beirut) to giving us other tips and advice; they were just super friendly and extremely charming. Cant think of staying anywhere else, if we ever went back to Damascus!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Exceleltn situation, charming building with genuine atmosphere, wonderful service, very comfortable rooms. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Property: Beit Zaman
Address: Bab Touma (Straight Street), building N. 120 | P.O. Box 10302, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zaman 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Zaman hotel is a boutique hotel with 28 guest rooms and suites on 2 floors (the most rooms in all of Old Damascus) and each room is filled with antique furniture and wooden ceilings in the Ajami style. The rooms are equipped with Safe, Satellite TV, Air Conditioning, Private Bathroom, Mini-Bar, and a Wireless Internet Access.Features and facilities of the Hotel are listed below: Damasco Breakfast Room, where we serve a buffet with a mix of occidental and oriental food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Damascus
Beit Zaman Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing