We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A coup de cœur”

Al Khawali Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 107 Restaurants in Damascus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A coup de cœur”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

One of the nicest place in Damascus. Wandering how they're going right now…
Me and my girlfriend fell in love with this place the first time we get in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canecamillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most famouse resturant in damascus !!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

most famouse resturant in damascus city .this is one of the expensive resturant in damascus,l like very much this resturant , meals and service in very good .. more than 6 time i have visit this resturant ..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excelllent food.. Taste of Damascus”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This place has the right combo of services. The camas Ian atmosphere, combined with great tasting food. I only wished they had better argeeleh or a musical program. Excellent destination for a family gathering or a tourist destination. Make reservation before you go. Valet parking available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimashqi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Semplicemente Perfetto”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Such amazing place in amazing city, its my favorite place ever. it was my first time to Siria, and i visited Alkhawali 2 times... Great food and atmosphere, friendly multi languages stuff... super service and wonderful bread.. and the best lemon and mint ever... cant tell any more.. you should go.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertoPirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quite nice”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Reading reviews is a bad idea as you set off with lofty expectations.. We expected the last word in Al Khawali from reading reviews. Indeed the bread is divine but the food is really only average. None of 3 of us enjoyed it much. Naranja is far better (and they serve alcohol..). But then we hadn't even heard of Naranja before; we just passed by but I am sure that only partly contributes..!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Khawali Restaurant also viewed

Damascus, Syria
Damascus, Syria
 
Damascus, Syria
 

Been to Al Khawali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing