We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel, a bit cramped”
Review of Beit Rumman Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Rumman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Beit Rumman is a beautifully restored old Damascus house that has been turned into a boutique hotel. It's right off a narrow busy street, near Bab Touma in the Christian quarter of the old town, but once you are in the small courtyard it's totally quiet and peaceful, and you can sit and read over a drink and enjoy the beautiful stonework. It's perfectly located for seeing all the sites on foot. Breakfast is served in the courtyard and is a delicious mix of Arabic and Western. No other food is served, but that's not a problem since old Damascus is a foodie's paradise and is totally safe to wander at any time of night or day. Our stay was partly marred by some confusion at the front desk. One employee told us we could stay three nights, while upon check-in another insisted we could only stay two. To be safe, we found another hotel for the third night anyway and as we checked out after our two nights at Beit Rumman it still wasn't clear if we could have stayed or not. I'm not sure if that sort of confusion is typical or a one-off, and the staff was very pleasant throughout the whole process. There are a few points I'd make about the hotel: the size of the rooms varies. Some are really quite cramped, others are more spacious. We had the more cramped ones. Make sure you ask when you book. Also, we had a six-year old with us, and everytime she made noise (as a six-year old does), it reverberated thoughout the small courtyard, on to which all the rooms face. The staff was very nice about it, but we felt a bit self-conscious. It's a small place, more suited to quiet couples. I think there may be better values in Damascus, but we certainly had a good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this lovely restored old mansion twice: first in the suite on the ground floor and later in a room upstairs. The location is excellent; all sights of the old town are at walking distance. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Breakfast in the beautiful courtyard was a feast! We did not use the restaurant, which is in the basement since there are many good and atmospheric restaurants in the neighbourhood. After a day of sightseeing in the busy streets the courtyard was a quiet paradise.
The room rate we paid was pretty high: USD 248 including breakfast and taxes. For payment by credit card a surcharge of 5% is added.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The Beit Rumman at US$180 a night was somewhat cheaper than the two other boutique hotels we stayed in Damascus, the Beit Zaman ($250) and the Al Fares ($275). Each with a lovely interior courtyard, excellent local breakfasts, attentive service. They each have the deficiencies common in many hotels in Syria: no practical guide to the hotel in the rooms (hours for breakfast for example), no practical short hand-out on the city, room safes which do not always work. However, we would go back to any of the three with pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at Beit Rumman twice, once mid March and again early April. We spent a total of 7 nights at this hotel, once staying in the suite just off the courtyard and our second stay was in an upstairs room overlooking the courtyard. All the staff, reception, porters, restaurant staff were always helpful and friendly. Once inside Beit Rumman, the outside busy street noises fade away and you are in a haven of peace and quiet. Rooms were comfortable, bathrooms very good and we had breakfasts that were appealing to the palate and the eyes. The staff were happy to give directions to sights, help with ordering taxis etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zambrosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My wife and I decided to take a short break to Damascus and used tripadvisor to select a hotel. Beit Rumman was listed as number one, and for good reason.
If you really want to get a feel of Damascus, this is the hotel for you. From the inconspicuous entrance to the loving detail the room was finished in, it is the perfect home base for a Damascine jaunt.

Accept no alternatives while you are in Damascus.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fakhdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We had been looking forward to our stay in Damascus immensely. Whilst the staff at Beit Rumman were pleasant enough the hotel is very over priced and poorly converted. The heating broke in our room so it was like a boilerhouse. The air con was also not working. It took a number of trips to reception to get anyone to come to the suite (well its a room and a hall really). Once there they explained that the heating is on one system for the whole hotel. So we had to endure a boiling hot room for over 2 days with a 9 month old baby. The only windows we had opened on to the courtyard where everyone smokes. There is zero soundproofing - you can hear when the receptionist gets an email. The breakfast is really not worth getting up for and is served in a basement cellar, which is a bit like eating in a dungeon. The room decor looks good in the photos but it is all a bit cheap and nasty (velour curtains abound) and very dark and cramped. Good location though!
We went on to Aleppo and stayed at a proper boutique Beit place there - totally different experience and standard.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeitRummanManagement, Owner at Beit Rumman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

Dear DeserDru,

In your review (We Were Glad to Leave), you mentioned few points that Beit Rumman Management finds them unfair, in a time every staff member tried his/her best to accommodate any request you asked for and they were very responsive as you mentioned in your review. As response to your review, we would like to explain the following points:

1- Your review came 4 months after you left our property. If you were really unsatisfied with our service, we would have encouraged you to send promptly or right when you checked out from our hotel.
2- As you very well know, our hotel is a non-smoking area, so this is a violation to the government law and the hotel policy. We could have been penalized by the government 10,000 SYP (200$) if the police noticed that. Our hotel is an environment friendly hotel and well known on this point. Moreover, Beit Rumman Management received a note from the staff that you were smoking which was also confirmed by yourself when we communicating this issue. We were really worried that other guests would complain. This was a violation to the hotel policy (non-smoking signs were all over the hotel (in-rooms/courtyard...etc). We usually allow guest to smoke on the roof top when weather allows, otherwise guests shall leave the hotel and smoke outside. During your stay, your 9 old month baby was handled by the father, in a time you were smoking in the courtyard.
3- When you posted your review, you omitted the fact that you are smoker. This fact was confirmed by an e.mail message via TripAdvisor e.mailing system.
4- Our ventilation system is a sophisticated LG one that is centrally maintained and functioning with no errors. Ventilation systems are not designed to vacuum heavy smoke inside rooms. We cannot control who smokes in-rooms, so we really understand your point. Again, a non-smoking sign is posted under the TV in the suite room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

In my travel I normally like to visit the old and historic , not the new. This hotel was 5-star experience in the middle ages. It was great atmosphere, friendly staff, I really felt home and enjoyed great privacy. My wife loved it, the room was clean and tidy and all in all it was a fantastic experience. The only regret about it, is that we did not stay long enough..

I will definitely go there again and again.. I love the touch and physical feel of history.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Histolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Rumman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Rumman Hotel

Address: 72 Qishleh St, John the Baptist intersection | next to the Syriac Orthodox Church - main road of Bab Toma, Damascus 31115, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Rumman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Rumman is one of the best boutique hotels in Syria. Its staff and owners welcome and invite every guest who has the desire to visit Syria from all over the world. Beit Rumman is your second home, and where you feel like you belong. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beit Rumman Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing