We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Old Damascus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beit Rumman Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Rumman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in Old Damascus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Beit Rumman is a small boutique hotel, beautifully decorated and full of charm, and its staff are the most welcoming you could ever wish for.
We used Beit Rumman as a base for travelling into Syria and Lebanon, and each time we returned it was like coming home. Thank you Ebrahim, Monira and Walid !
The hotel has only 6 rooms which surround a typical Damascene courtyard. There is a bar facility in the cellar but we had our drinks on the rooftop terrace.
There is no restaurnt but a pleasant Syrian breakfast is served.
Beit Rumman is in the middle of the Christian quarter of the stunningly atmospheric Old Town, only minutes walk away from the souks. handcraft shops ,hammams, great sights and restaurants within the city walls. (And most of the restaurants in the Christian quarter serve alcohol.)
There is a travel alert for Syria but we never encountered any problems whatsoever.
Go now to Syria and stay at Beit Rumman when in Damascus. You will never again get better prices wherever you go or be able to enjoy the historical attractions in such peace.

Room Tip: Deal with the hotel direct. (Ask for Ebrahim).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
53
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Loved this historic boutique hotel in the heart of old Damascus. Situated on a busy street, but once inside an oasis of calm! Lovely central courtyard with fountain in the middle. Bedrooms beautifully furnished in traditional style, very comfy bed & spotlessly clean. Plentiful breakfasts with good choice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to Damascus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

beautiful and historic -great staff- beautiful room

Room Tip: all rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60cyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

I love to stay in boutique hotels and Beit Rumman is one of the BEST! The hotel is gorgeous. There's a courtyard with a fountain, a wine bar downstairs, and a rooftop deck - so many places to relax with a glass of wine or a cup of tea. The rooms (we stayed in 3 different ones during our time in Syria/Lebanon) were darling. Perfectly appointed, very clean, and cozy (in a good way). The breakfast served every morning was delicious! So delicious that we didn't need lunch! And the staff. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful they were from arranging drivers for us to giving us dinner recommendations to arranging for me to watch how their chef makes mahalabia. Our stay in Syria was fantastic and I can't wait to go back. We will definitely stay at Beit Rumman on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClariceC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

To date I have stayed at this hotel three times and if I return to Damascus again I shall not hesitate to book a room here. It truly feels like a home away from home. I am exceptionally meticulous about cleanliness and a rather luxurious bed and the Beit Rumman does not disappoint. Without any hesitation I give this hotel five stars across the board. On other occasions when I have been unable to book a room here I have stayed at other Beit's in the Old City and I could not but help compare other hotels to this one and wish that rooms had not been fully booked. The location is simply exceptional and the breakfast marvelous!

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteElizabeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

I can only repeat and emphasise all that KeaMorecambe said on 21 March. We stayed twice during March 2011 - for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip in a suite, and then for the last night in a standard room. Arriving that evening after a long coach ride from Aleppo was like coming home without the thought of all the jobs to do!
In addition I have to confess that I used the services of Ibrahim while planning our trip round Syria and he was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful in equal measure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonQueensPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Beit Rumman was a charming old merchants house just a few minutes from Straight Strret in Old Damascus.Good 4 course breakfast with friendly service The rooms were situated around a delightful courtyard with a fountain.There was a roof terrace at the top of the house offering peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mal10075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Rumman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Rumman Hotel

Property: Beit Rumman Hotel
Address: 72 Qishleh St, John the Baptist intersection | next to the Syriac Orthodox Church - main road of Bab Toma, Damascus 31115, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Rumman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Rumman is one of the best boutique hotels in Syria. Its staff and owners welcome and invite every guest who has the desire to visit Syria from all over the world. Beit Rumman is your second home, and where you feel like you belong. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beit Rumman Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing