We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst travel experiences...”
Review of Ezdan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ezdan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the worst travel experiences...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My company had arranged for me to stay at Ezdan for 2 months from January till March 2013. It was truly one of the worst experiences I have ever had in a hotel. Looking past the ancient and filthy decor, the "many services" the hotel provided were terrible. The staff was extremely rude for no reason, and every time I wanted to simply order food to my room, it would take over an hour for someone to answer the phone from either the restaurant or the over-priced supermarket. When they did answer, they would also be rude over the phone and they would deliver almost an hour later or more.

Now when it comes to the food, you'd think paying 50 riyals for a serving of pasta would mean that it is good quality food. On the contrary, it was nauseating and might as well have been made out of cardboard. The presentations of the various foods I had ordered during my stay were also appetite-killers. I did not enjoy any of the meals I had, and I tried many of them.

As for the supermarket, the prices are ridiculous.

My 2nd week into this stay, I realized that cleanliness was not a term that anyone used in the hotel. As I was staying in the hotel apartment, walking around the small kitchen, I saw rust everywhere, broken marble, some unexplainable large patches of dirt that would not come off. Whenever room service came to clean the room, they would merely vacuum and change the towels and wipe the bathroom floor. Totally skipping over the layers and layers of dust floating around the room, that had probably never been cleaned. And other dirty areas of the room that I could not bring myself to clean, not wanting to find out what the dirt was.

And I have to mention that my A/C broke down 3 weeks in and no matter how many times I asked for maintenance to fix it, they never did. So I had to purchase a mini fan to be able to survive the hotter days.

Almost 2 months in, I could not stay in that hotel anymore, I was disgusted, miserable, and more than willing to pay for my own stay in any other hotel to avoid this horrible experience.

When I found out how much my company was paying for my room in Ezdan, I was shocked and later managed to make them move me to a 5-star hotel that charged the same amount!

Overall, I would highly recommend that people steer clear of this place to avoid going through this TERRIBLE experience. I would never stay at this hotel again, even if I was paid thousands to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    783
    243
    98
    167
See reviews for
331
94
471
1,274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Staff are rude, windows dirty, hallways dark and smell. The shower, well it's just a shower and you don't to hang about. Rooms are well over priced!

Bringing female friend back at 11pm, security guard starts shooting as if we are involved in some major crime. ID, ID - excuse me Madame but can you please register at front desk would have been better.

Ok for 1 month, no longer!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMichael2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed there for a month, service sucks employees are unprofessional and they are unorganized big time. I had to buy my own cable to be able to use the Internet as well as the security deposit I paid, it took them over 20 days to pay it back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WRagheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here for a long term stay arranged by my company - first impression, it was just awful. Stayed here for 6 months and the worst place I havent lived in my whole entire life and I have been to many places. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment for QR11000 per month. The room looks tired with 60's like furniture. Kitchen smell and the safety looks horrid and scary. All i have to do later is just to find a new apartment... Check others and way better that Ezdan...really really awful place to say, i just cant find one nice word to say about this place!

Please dont stay here at all... you live to REGRET IT!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Nothing at all - just change the whole area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Thank God that i didn't stay there, i just visited a friend over there...
i couldn't help my anger after the visit so i had to share it with everyone so they can know how horrible this place is.

This is a residential hotel, means ppl stay there for weeks if not months.

i went to visit my friend who is staying there with few other friends we though we can have some dinner at his place and then hit the road.

at the reception we were stopped by a security guard, he was speaking to us as if we are doing a crime !, he asked us for IDs! all of us even who don't have IDs they had to bring IDs from the car, when we asked to speak to his supervisor because of his extremely rude , his supervisor came and was even worse! he didn't allow us because we had a girl among our friends, saying that girls are not allowed to visit! we spoiled our day and wasted time an energy with ppl who don't listen and not even sure about their rules and regulations.

this place is horrible, extremely disrespectful and staff are unbelievably rude.
if you want to stay there, you have to be anti social or so have no other place to stay in in whole Qatar!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MohamedElgallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is so rundown it is a joke! I booked for a month but left after two weeks, because it is just bad and complaints are dealed with in the most snotty and high handed manner you think it is a lie. To book for a month you have not only to pay in advance for the overnight stay, but they also ask you a full month lease as deposit. You cant get any refund if you leave earlier!
The room I got was filthy, towel rail broken and smelled badly of cigarette smoke, although I requested non-smoking room. The pool is under repair (February 2013-???? At least for 3months they said) so you cant use it, but no discount for that. Whole pool area is a construction side!
You will meet unhappy and angry customers on a daily base at the reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedersen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The property location is nice but maintenance is obviously poor. Personnel needs training from front offcie to housekeeping. Food is awful and tent venue of Cherry Blossom needs serious refurbishment.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify your requirement and ask for offcial reconfirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebetkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
2.4 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#24 of 135 in Doha
507 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#40 of 135 in Doha
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Centro Capital Doha
Centro Capital Doha
#21 of 135 in Doha
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Warwick Doha Hotel
Warwick Doha Hotel
#16 of 135 in Doha
355 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
2.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#74 of 135 in Doha
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezdan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezdan Hotel

Property: Ezdan Hotel
Address: | West Bay Al Dafna, Doha 23488, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Doha
#28 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#34 Business Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ezdan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezdan Hotel, West Bay is not just a place that provides affordable accommodation; it is a community of people from around the globe. Accommodation ranging from a single room for a single night to apartments with three bedrooms can be your place to stay or let it be your home for years to come. While it is the largest hotel in Qatar, our staff is passionate about providing individualized service to our guests. Our guests often remember our staff members and actually ask for them by their first names. Our Atrium boasts amenities that would serve guests from all walks of life. Olympic size swimming pool, kids’ playground, game room, sports cafe, international restaurants, pool-side food-stand and much more… Our guests are able to spend extended period of time without even going out of the building. Ample parking inside takes the burden away of securing your vehicle overlooking the Arabian Sea is certainly a view that creates memories. Taking a stroll around the Corniche which hugs the shore-line is an added benefit to those who like to walk or run with a breathtaking view. Our Ezdan Community enjoys the following: • 3,000 rooms of unparalleled luxury units and hotel rooms • Olympic size swimming pool • Health club with all equipment • International restaurants • A supermarket for your convenience • Fully equipped conference center with a wedding venue • Within walking distance to the largest shopping mall in the city • 25 minutes to Hamad International Airport Ezdan Hotel and Apartments invite you to indulge in an exclusive lifestyle of comfort and convenience in the heart of Doha city. Ezdan Hotel and Apartments bring together a combination of spectacular views, a vibrant community and a premium location in a comfortable setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ezdan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezdan Hotel And Suites
Ezdan Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing