We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for football fans”
Review of Plaza Inn Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Inn Doha
Ranked #65 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I happened to have a layover at this hotel, during the FifaWC2014. The channel broadcasting the WC is not available in the TV in the rooms.
If this wasn't bad enough, they have the channel connection in the TV placed at the reception, but you have to pay 50 bucks for a seat on the sofa at the reception (they call it promotion zone).even for in house guests. Ridiculous. I have never come across anything like this. Very disappointing .
So, if you thought you'd like to watch the matches after a hard day's work, go elsewhere.

Otherwise, rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The lunch buffet has a good spread.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Anupam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Inn Doha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel name changed from Best Western to Plaza Inn Doha.I visited the restaurant with a big number of friends. It's typical Indian food. Nice hotel with warm welcome. They have nice soup. I feel the price is too much for the service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abu_Firas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Len T, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn Doha, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding a recent dining experience at Bollywood Lounge and Restaurant which is located at Plaza Inn Doha.

I am glad that you enjoyed our finest Indian cuisines as well as the hospitality of our staff. You may also be interested to know that we offer a variety of alternatives to suit your budget. Should you require another gathering venue, please don’t hesitate to get in touch through the email listed below.

We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,


Len Tan
Marketing and PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have to stay over after we missed our flight. Very nice hotel. Very clean and the service in the restaurant is excellent as well as the food. The rooms is very clean and we enjoy our stay. Can recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Marie580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a 2 night layover in Doha and booked a Suite for the family. We arrived late in the evening and were swiftly up to our 10th floor suite. However, almost as soon as we put the kids to sleep the live music started from the ballroom directly above the suite. It was so loud that the windows were rattling and bass reverberated down the corridors. This went on till midnight. We were offered another room when we complained, but that would have meant waking the children up again. This is the first time I have had to use ear plugs. So only an average rating for the check-in staff to put us in a room when they knew there was a party.

Otherwise the hotel location, the breakfast buffet and other staff were good.

Room Tip: Ask if there is an event during your stay before accepting a room on the 10th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arunmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in April in a suite. The first room was terrible with no outside view, just looking at an inside walkway, very dull and had a bad musty smell. Next day moved to room 709 which had been newly painted and was much brighter.
The whole hotel needs a fresh coat of paint and the bathrooms need to be totally renovated as they are dirty and full of mold. The swimming pool also needs updating as it has missing tiles and the metal overflow grates stick up and you can catch your feet on them (be warned).
Also i do not understand why they have a ladies only day on Saturday, which totally stops any family using the pool over the weekend when you want to spend time with your family???
To finish on a good point the staff are very good on reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a outside window view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTWESTERNHotelDoha, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn Doha, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding a recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Doha. I am pleased to know that you appreciate the hospitality of our staff.

Your comments were addressed with the concerned department heads. You may also be interested to know that we will be starting a full refurbishment of the hotel soon to deliver a superior service for you and other guests in the future. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment so that you can experience the hotel as it was meant to be.


Sincerely,

Len Tan
Marketing and PR Manager
Email: len@bestwesterndoha.com
bestwesterndoha.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a very welcoming hotel, the service is quick and very friendly. The single rooms are pretty small, but the double rooms are massive.
The food is pretty good, quite a lot of options for breakfast.
Big problem with wifi though, doesn't reach the top floors and when you do manage to connect the connection speed is very slow.
The location is very nice if you want to see the main attractions, the Museum of Islamic arts, the Souq and the Corniche, but it is pretty fair away from all the malls.

Room Tip: If you are going to need to use wifi then you should choose a room in the lower floors
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karimeldib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTWESTERNHotelDoha, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn Doha, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding a recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Doha. I am pleased to know that you appreciate our strategic location, quick service, well appointed rooms, elaborate breakfast buffet as well as the hospitality of our staff.

I also value your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi; our IT department is already in the process of upgrading the system to deliver a superior service for you and other guests in the future.

We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Len Tan
Marketing and PR Manager
Email: len@bestwesterndoha.com
bestwesterndoha.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are a foreign visitor on a short visit the hotel is well located. 10-15 min taxi ride from the airport, a 10-15 min walk to the Museum of Islamic Art, Corniche, Souq Waqif and National Museum (when it reopens 2015). Given Doha's bad traffic the location won't be as good for others. The Doha Hop On/Off bus stops at both MOIA and the Souq. The area surrounding the hotel is not salubrious: roadworks, car parks and construction sites. My room on the 9th floor (it seemed to be a non-smoking floor) wasn't bad: decent size room and bathroom, air con, room safe, kettle with tea and coffee, flat screen tv with international channels, mineral water, robe and slippers, fridge, expected toiletries, bath and separate shower. The decor was a bit shabby and the carpet needed a good hoover. I slept badly because of noisy and inconsiderate neighbours. Breakfast was a buffet with an egg/omlette station, pretty unremarkable save that when busy the room is too small and the waiter served tea and coffee is impossible to get. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. What the hotel really neeeds to do for a foreign visitor is provide information: a good city map, accurate information about local events and attractions, opening times etc. All sorely lacking. The excursion brochure I was shown was unimpressive (a 4 hour walking tour of the souks down the road for over £100!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTWESTERNHotelDoha, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn Doha, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding a recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to know that you appreciate our location, room amenities, as well as the hospitality of our employees.

Regarding the numerous road works and constructions, I’m afraid the situation will remain the same for a few years. This is due to Qatar’s goal of completing the much needed facilities in time for the World Cup 2022.

As for the brochure, I would like to clarify that the packages are being offered by various tour operators which are all available at the Concierge. We are just happy to assist our guests for any tour assistance they may require. I apologize if we were unable to discuss comprehensively the tour package you mentioned. The 4-hour exclusive walking tour to Souqs namely Souq Waqif, Gold Souq, Souq Jaber, Deira, Asiri and Faleh costs £ 91 if the tour will be conducted for one person including refreshments. The rate can go as low as £ 24 per person for group of 5. I will also look into our city maps and events to device an action plan to address your concern.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance of providing you with a superior service.

Sincerely,

Len Tan
Marketing and PR Manager
Email: len@bestwesterndoha.com
bestwesterndoha.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#40 of 136 in Doha
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#48 of 136 in Doha
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#67 of 136 in Doha
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#55 of 136 in Doha
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#28 of 136 in Doha
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#49 of 136 in Doha
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Doha

Address: Old Salata Street | Al Meena St, Doha 22920, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: $36 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Inn Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated, comfortable, budget-friendly and perfectly placed... Plaza Inn is everything that today's business traveler needs. Just a short walk away from the stunning Corniche, the monumental Museum of Islamic Art and the bustling Souq Waqif, the hotel's strategic location puts you in close proximity to business districts, government offices, banks and the international airport. It is also minutes away from numerous shopping and leisure facilities. Plaza Inn is just the perfect place to be, work time or downtime. Comfortable rooms that make business sense The hotel features 120 business suites amongst its 180 rooms. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, each is thoughtfully designed to allow the crucial work-life balance business executive needs. From free Wi-Fi connectivity and open space work areas that feature a large desk, scanner, copier and printer, to comfortable beds, flat-screen TV and a contemporary bathroom, there's everything you will need to breeze through your day in comfort. Other amenities include coffee and tea making facilities and a mini bar. A choice of international flavors Plaza Inn offers some of Doha's finest dining experiences. Enjoy a choice of global cuisines, including Middle Eastern, Indian and Continental. Expect fast service, innovative menus, affordable pricing and free Wi-Fi connectivity, from breakfast to dinner and beyond. For those on the go, there's the option of an express business meal or quick bites. The Lobby Lounge offers an eclectic selection of coffee, tea and specialty beverages; perfect accompaniments for a business meeting or a relaxed afternoon. A perfect business setting With flexible meeting spaces and conference rooms, equipped with the cutting-edge technology, Plaza Inn has everything you will need for a successful business event; be it a high profile meeting, product launch, conference or a celebration. Our professional event planner will ensure that your event is customized to the last detail and executed in absolute style. Relax. Recharge. Be it to stay fit or refresh yourself, Plaza Inn has just what you will need. Kick-start your day at the state-of-the-art health club and gymnasium, with the latest cardio and fitness equipment or head to the roof-top swimming pool to unwind after a long day, soaking in spectacular views of the West Bay skyline. Services and Facilities  24-hour Reception and Concierge  24-hour Security  24-hour Room Service  Express Dining  Conference and Meeting Facilities  Parking Facility  Executive Floors and Lounge  Business Center  Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services  Health Club, Gymnasium  Rooftop Swimming Pool  Foreign Exchange  Limousine Transfers  Travel and Tours Services  Airport Transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Inn Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doha Seef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing