We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”
Review of La Cigale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cigale Hotel
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is the 3rd 5* hotel I check into in Doha (InterCon+GrandHyatt) and by far the best! I am really surprised.

Although the rooms are relatively small but they are made to perfection! with lots of storage space. Also with free wifi which is very nice gesture. The food is nice and most of the staff are courteous. Breakfast is my least favourite but still very decent. I have extended my stay three times already. They even wash your car for you for a mere 50 QR. They have more than 150 channels from all over the world. The room is equipped with latest technologies and is sound proof.

The only thing you need to lookout for is the delay in valet parking. Really that is the only bad thing I can come up with.

Note: Evident presence of Lebanese and locals at the lobby and cafe.

To anyone's standard this hotel is the closest to perfection.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qataris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    107
    38
    7
    24
See reviews for
22
43
33
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

If you are familiar with the other 5 star hotels in Doha then you will understand that the La Cigale doesn't even compare - it's in a much lower league than the likes of the Ritz, the W, the Intercontinental, the Four Seasons, even the Sheraton and the Ramada.

The rooms are far too complicated – far too many wall switches and far too much technology. The AC is also very loud - although I found out later that this was to mask the booming music from the nightclub. The furnishing is adequate although seems slightly cheap.

I have read on here a number of complaints regarding the level of noise from the nightclub and I can only agree!!!!!! If you have to stay in this hotel ask for a room on a low level. I was on level 7 and nearly went crazy from the booming dance music!!!!! I requested to change rooms and the receptionist not impressed - I had to wait 30 minutes for them to bring me a new key and collect my luggage. Even in the new room I could still hear the nightclub (although now at a much more muted level) but by this time it was past midnight and I was tired and grumpy so just decided to sleep with the TV on to drown the noise out. The hotel has 2 nightclubs (or bars?) and it seems that you can’t get away from the throbbing beat – I could hear it in the lobby, the elevator, the hallway and in my room.

I travel to Doha frequently for work and won’t be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm not usually one who revels in the whole 5 star service thang but must admit La Cigale was faultless.

Food was out of this world and room was excellent. Lebanese influence noted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beardflares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, on the second night I had settled down for the night about 23:30 as I had an important meeting in the morrning. Bang the music from the 11th floor bar started, the same thump thump over and over again, I suffered it for 1 hr then called reception asking when it would stop, i was told at 2:30 am, the reception told me they would request the vollume turned down, i am still waiting. Never again, when back in Doha it will be the Marriot or
Four seasons

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dreghorn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I just need to share my gratitude for the employees of this hotel; they are well educated & professionals. I enjoyed their food especially at the italian restaurant & Ramadan tent.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

As far as hotels go, La Cigale in Doha is all about presentation and very little about performance. The hotel staff was haughty and often uncivil from the moment of check in to the time I left. Although the hotel mistakenly booked my room under the wrong category (this was later verified), I had to fight with various levels of staff, all the way up to a manager, to get the problem fixed. I was very displeased to find the arrogant attitude pervasive in the hotel, from the restaurants (where I was served old seafood) to the spa (which I chose to no longer attend due to frustrations with the upper-level staff). Problems similarly arose during our meeting, something the hotel failed to rectify. The rooms were adequate, but for the money paid should have been far more accommodating and far less noisy. If you're set to travel in the Middle East, one must be prepared for a certain level of arrogance and distrust from hotel staff (the customer is certainly NOT always right in the Gulf!!). That being said, there are many areas wherein one can experience true Arab hospitality. La Cigale in Doha, however, is a unique example of what travelers would hope to avoid--in the Middle East, or elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moniquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I have been to this hotel previously for a business lunch and was impressed by their food presentation, variety and quality, so I decided to try and stay there. I spent two nights and it was truly a great experience.
From the reservation stage, I was offered an airport pick up and the welcoming employee at the airport was very efficient. The welcome at the reception was even more dedicated and from the time I checked in, I was consistantly recognized and addressed by my name. It surely made a great impact.
The restaurant was my favorite place again. I believe the concept they have created caters for all tastes, a real international buffet with a huge variety of dishes. I made sure I entertain my business contacts in the hotel restaurant at all occasions.

I recommend this hotel and will be coming back on my next trip to La Cigale.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisionHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Doha
Millennium Hotel Doha
#37 of 135 in Doha
411 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Regency Doha
2.3 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#49 of 135 in Doha
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centro Capital Doha
Centro Capital Doha
#21 of 135 in Doha
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cigale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cigale Hotel

Property: La Cigale Hotel
Address: Suhaim Bin Hamad Street | Al Sadd Area, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cigale Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, La Cigale Hotel is a 5-star accommodation nestled in the heart of the dynamic center of Doha city, approximately 20 minutes away from Hamad International Airport. It is observed as a landmark for business and leisure travelers due to its attractive location from main business and touristic districts such as the Museum of Islamic Art, Doha Bay, Old Souks, shopping malls & Aspire Sports city. The property has 225 luxurious rooms and suites; 11 dining and entertainment outlets with outdoor seating options; two state-of-the-art ballrooms; a 490 Sq.m gymnasium; a 20 meter long daylight indoor swimming pool and a deluxe spa. The simple exterior provides a stark contrast to the stylish interior teemed with a touch of opulence and indulgence including tableaux by Carlos Cruiz-Diez, Edra Tatlin sofas infused with Swarovski crystals, Murano chandeliers, custom-made seats by Poltrona Frau and Fendi and crystal Baccarat tables designed by Philippe Starck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cigale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing