We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Liwan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Liwan Suites
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay for 2 nights at Al-Liwan suites on the way back to Australia from Turkey.When I booked this hotel I was looking for something cheap and cheerful. This Hotel was fabulous and far exceeded my expectations. We stayed in room 604 which had a separate bedroom, huge lounge along with a small kitchette including a washing machine. Toiletries, slippers and gowns were supplied. This hotel had such a welcoming feel from the moment we arrived and the foyer was amazing. The staff at Al-Liwan were so polite and were always checking if they could do anything for us. While this hotel is about a 1km walk to The Corniche it was not an issue at all. It was very close to the airport and had many convenience stores and a laundry located just outside the hotel. This hotel was a highlight of our trip after a month in Turkey is was lovely to relax and be waited on. I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Doha.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
10
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Carlos, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I only stayed for one night, but it was a very nice experience. The staff was very gentle, and the dinner, just amazing. I was able to try the best of the Arabic food and, when I was leaving next morning, received a gentle "Good travel back to Brazil" and a bag with a good snack. It's located near the airport and I recommend this hotel. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenobretas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were booked at Al Liwan Suites for a one night stopover. The staff are friendly and helpful; the complimentary airport shuffle was very reliable. Our room was spacious, but without natural light, and we couldn't wait to get out. The front desk kindly arranged a very good limousine tour of Doha, at our expense. The Suites are managed according to Muslim principles so no alcohol is available in the restaurant, which is very basic. The rooftop terrace advertised in their brochure closed months ago. Breakfast is available at an additional cost, and there is a very small pool.On our experience, Al Liwan Suites might be a good option for the business traveller, but as leisure travellers, we will certainly look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMeg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Complimentary airport shuttle bus depending schedule. Rooms are big and clean. beds are comfortable. more like a service apartment than hotel. foods are tasty and good. Location wise not suitable for holiday. Stopover is OK! theres are few small mini marts, restaurants and laundry shop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salinaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Al Liwan Suites can be a convenient place, for its proximity to the airport. In my case, I had to go to a meeting at a walking distance from the hotel, so it was even more advantageous. The rooms are big, and clean enough (but not perfect). The condition of the facilities,in general, is normal or even below average. The decoration pretends to convey arabic-touareg style, is certainly kitsch. The service is good, staff is attentive. The breakfast is really poor: low variety and quality, and unsatisfactory service. In conclusion, I would recommend it for location, convenience and price if you need to spend a short time in Doha, but not if you are looking for something better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lluis-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here with my wife during our first move to Qatar. Free airport pick-up & drop-off, excellent service is a norm at Al-Liwan. The room service is good with free tea-coffee fil-up everyday. Rooms are clean in a traditional arabic setup and all the bed linen is new. Minutes from the airport, very good for a stopover. The biggest dwaback is the location of the hotel which is in an old area of Doha.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangy_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I had a 9 hour transit wait on my trip to Thailand, so I decided to check in and get a good nights sleep, the hotel is situated 5 minutes from airport and they offer pickup service which made it very convenient.
The location of the hotel is not ideal if you are going to use it for vacation, but for one or two nights it doesn't matter.
The room was large with living room, bed room and bathroom and a little kitchenette. The furnitures are outdated but all was clean and well presented, they even had organised a little welcome snack and water.
Next morning I had a small but sufficient breakfast with only the most commons like bread and egg.
Then I was driven back to the airport, so really good service there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TegnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#60 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corp Executive Hotel Doha Suites
0.7 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#58 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#50 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Doha
Copthorne Hotel Doha
#43 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Doha - The Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Liwan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Liwan Suites

Property: Al Liwan Suites
Address: 27 Um Ghawlina st, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Liwan Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute drive from Doha Airport will take you to a refuge of elegance and comfort.Inspired by traditional Qatari hospitality, Al Liwan Suites Hotel in Doha is a dream destination for both business travelers and tourists. The exquisitely decorated hotel welcomes travelers for a luxurious stay. The hotel is strategically situated and is just a short drive from East Doha, Souq Wakef, West Old Souk, Doha Courniche, Dasman Mall, West Aspire Sports Academy, Villagio Mall, Khalifa Stadium, City Centre Mega Mall and the Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Liwan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Liwan Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing