We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want Arabic charm without 5* Pretence, Charming Staff, Great Food, really roomy Suites at great prices.....”
Review of Al Liwan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Liwan Suites
Ranked #59 of 134 Hotels in Doha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“If you want Arabic charm without 5* Pretence, Charming Staff, Great Food, really roomy Suites at great prices.....”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I happened to find this hotel by chance during my last visit to Doha. I had been used to staying in much bigger, plusher hotels and staying atAl Liwan was the best choice I made!
I have to admit that the area its located in is not very nice as there are lots of nearby construction vehicles and it's not a wealthy area, hence being a bit "rough looking" but I felt 100% safe staying there on my own and as soon as you enter the hotel, it becomes apparent that you are very welcome and it's very authentic style is lovely!

The staff are all such hard workers and go out of their way to assist you. The security guys are such nice lads, who often offered to carry bags, call taxi's and run out to get me phone card top up's!

The suite was basic with regards to toiletries, bathroom and decor, but when you consider the rate per night, the space, the service etc and the overall charm, I loved it!

The suite was huge, with a little kitchen area AND WASHING MACHINE, whichis lovely to have access to. I loved the huge fridge/freezer and could make my own ice!!
The lounge was a lovely airy space with red seating, arabic style,along with a table and chairs. The bathroom was a little worn, but had a powerful shower in the bath and great lighting to do my make up! There could have been more towels and they were small the housekeeping were more than happy to bring me more.

The bedroom had HUGE wardrobe space and full length mirrors with a bed that was the biggest I have had in a hotel! There was an aircon unit on the wall in the bedroom, and one in the lounge area. I love my aircon andwas worried about the un-modern units but they were very adequate.

The room service was excellent with NO TRAY CHARGE!
Other hotels take note!
The kitchen were always happy to make variations to the menu which is also rare these days. The set lunch buffet was great value and delicious. I love the small restaurant with the traditional Arabic seating at the rear. The Restaurant Manager and it's staff were all efficient and polite.

The pool is on the top floor and an out door one!! I loved it. It was very small and the surrounding area was a little tired and in need of new poolside furniture but it was very private and the cafe had a nice range of drinks/snacks.

All in all, I loved my stay here and will definately return.
I have recommended it to family and friends too, which I dont often do.

Thank you Al Liwan x

Room Tip: View te suite first, when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlliwanSuites, Reservations Manager at Al Liwan Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Al Liwan Suites Hotel
for your stay in Doha.

Kindly be informed that we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay & our services matching your expectations.

Thanks to post your valuable review.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Alliwan Suites.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
11
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here due to a delayed flight, as it seems most others on here have done. Huge rooms decorated nicely. Kitchenette is a bit odd--particularly the water kettle with a plug that did not match the wall socket. The restaurant staff were very friendly and the food selection was nice for breakfast and lunch.

The area around the hotel is a bit depressed and not what most tourists would probably choose. Neat pool on the roof. We stayed during they day and the front of the hotel is under construction, so the noise was a bit annoying for sleep though I imagine that is not a problem at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Transfer accommodation booked by Qatar Airways during an overnight transfer. Even for a very short night (less than five hours), we got a very large suite. Rate included a very nice buffet for both dinner and breakfast. No real advice on location as it was dark while arriving and leaving, a short 10 minutes drive from international airport.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durbanville,south africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This was the most disgusting place we have ever stayed in and we do travel a lot, all over the world. We had a stopover from the Maldives and Qatar Airlines allocated us to this dump. The bedding smelled, the towels were grey and torn,( when we received it at last.) There were guests making a racket the whole night and reception did nothing to stop it! They actually gave the noisy people our room number and what happened? They phoned our room every few minutes and as soon as we answered, replaced the receiver. We had no sleep during that night and the staff ignored our kind requests to do something about it. I must add that we are not moaners in general and are very accommodating. This was just the most awful experience we have ever encountered. The restaurant (if you can call it that) is very small and reminds one of a dining room in a school hostel. The food was average. If Qatar ever send you there, refuse!

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nerina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We had an overnight at Al Liwan as a part of our trip to Tanzania. Rooms are huge and very nice. Food? Excellent with many choices of salads. They don't provide mineral water in the rooms, but you can ask at the dinner for water and they give you a bottle of 1,5 litres for free, so no problem! I wish we had stayed one more night!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgyroAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

As I had an 8 hour stopover in Doha en route from Bangkok to New York, I booked and paid for a stopover with Qatar Airways, for USD125.00. Qatar Airways selected the hotel, I was not offered any choice. Al Liwan Suites is an unpleasant residence-style hotel, rooms have kitchenettes (but no mini-bar, in fact not even drinking water is provided). My room was sparsely furnished, the bathroom was dirty and smelled unpleasant. Possibly acceptible for an overnight stay but for the price I paid, I expected a name-brand 4 or 5 star hotel, not this hole-in-the-wall. The only saving grace was that it was only 5 minutes from the airport. I am sure Qatar Airways have excellent negotiated rates with much nicer hotels (after all, nobody stops in Doha, practically all passengers are in transit).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed overnight on our way to The Maldives. The staff were so polite and helpful.
The rooms were huge, with an enormous bed, lounge and kitchen area. Spotless and moroccan style.

There was noise from something that sounded like a generator at night. I am sensitive to sound, but it didn't bother my husband or child at all.

It is near a mosque and there was audible singing at the crack of dawn. We only stayed one night and despite the sounds, I was very happy overall and we enjoyed our brief stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileypawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
Corp Executive Hotel Doha Suites
0.7 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#55 of 134 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#54 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Doha
Copthorne Hotel Doha
#43 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#45 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Suites
Imperial Suites
#79 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Liwan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Liwan Suites

Property: Al Liwan Suites
Address: 27 Um Ghawlina st, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Liwan Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute drive from Doha Airport will take you to a refuge of elegance and comfort.Inspired by traditional Qatari hospitality, Al Liwan Suites Hotel in Doha is a dream destination for both business travelers and tourists. The exquisitely decorated hotel welcomes travelers for a luxurious stay. The hotel is strategically situated and is just a short drive from East Doha, Souq Wakef, West Old Souk, Doha Courniche, Dasman Mall, West Aspire Sports Academy, Villagio Mall, Khalifa Stadium, City Centre Mega Mall and the Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Liwan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Liwan Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing