We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Gulf Horizon Hotel

Gulf Horizon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is value for money, Its old hotel but its basic and clean room.
Toilt is clean.
there is wireless broadband and free breakfast.
Overall recommended for 2 or 3 day business stay, if you are going to
use the room for sleeping.
There are nearby hotels , drive to the airport takes about 10 minutes.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank AjiKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Gulf Horizon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2009

Gulf Horizon is a decent hotel in a crowded area of doha. good and humble staff, nice food.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ashish143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I usually book with cheaper hotels, and I found this one to be in the better area. It is right in the middle of a souk(market place/busy area), so expect a bit noisy morning. The room is incredibly huge for the price. But the room is not as clean as I expected, the room service are cleaning the room. But stain-wise it is not that clean. The guys are doing more of rearranging than cleaning (It is like an old place feeling).. The hall way is always full of left over foods from the room next to me. I am not sure if it is not collected timely, or the one next to me just eats too much. I see different number of plates each time I go out of my room though..

Most of the staff are Indians, I never see any other race but indians(or maybe bangladesh, sri lanka, or pakistan etc) so if you are an indian traveller, you might feel at home here. Well whatever race you are, the staff are very helpful, I the keys of my luggage and they are so willing to attend to my needs like, metal saw etc. Still I cant open my luggage, until a guy came to help me out.. And they have standard breakfast meal not indian meals. Average, staff are kind and helpful

Wireless internet is quite fast.. And did I mention that there is a free pick up/drop off to and from the airport? In case you are getting a cab, most of the taxi drivers know this place.. Theres a Bar on th uppermost floor, but if you are a female, dont even think of going up. Female visitors in the club is very rare, I only see female waitresses and all this male guests who just want to unwind..

Id recommend this to anyone on a budget who would like to go ona budget, in a center of a souq, near the corniche and to have a drink.

SOLO MALE TRAVELLER CANT HAVE A FEMALE VISITOR! I DONT KNOW IF IT APPLIES TO FEMALE AS WELL.. THIS IS STILL A MUSLIM COUNTRY, RESPECT THEIR NORMS.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamandagcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

An interesting hotel. It is located a short walk from Souq Waqif, the Corniche and museums. The room was large, clean and airy, although it was a little 'tired' looking. Breakfast was good, and the staff were attentive and helpful.
The foyer was almost permanently busy, probably because there is a bar upstairs. A bar which we decided not to frequent as it was dark and smokey, and not particularly inviting to two female tourists.
However, in a city where accommodation is not cheap, this hotel is a good option, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S-zinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed here a few years ago. The location is great; right beside the markets and easy to walk to the sea shore. The room was simple and clean. There was a good buffet breakfast every morning. The staff were wonderful.

There is a "bar" upstairs and an amusing "nod nod, wink wink" ceremony with the security guards outside. The bar is dark and smoky, but Doha is a dry town so you might be grateful for it :)

No problems at the Gulf Horizon, I recommend it for anyone looking for a nice basic place to say.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GaryGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apetr0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninaSandefjord_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#51 of 136 in Doha
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Bustan Hotel
Al Bustan Hotel
#110 of 136 in Doha
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#54 of 136 in Doha
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Doha
Best Western Plus Doha
#95 of 136 in Doha
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#80 of 136 in Doha
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Horizon Hotel

Address: PO Box 22182, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $59 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gulf Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing