We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, but safe choice”

Gulf Paradise Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulf Paradise Hotel
Ranked #85 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Easy check in, great rate, but just a bit sad now. This hotel was obviously nice at its peak, but now just looks shabby and sad. The staff are nice and helpful. The rooms very basic,but you do get tea and coffee in room. Bottled water supplied free of charge. Bed was hard, but better than super soft I suppose. Bathroom was awful. Just too small and very old and stained. The hot water tap was installed in reverse, so cold shower until we figured this out. Toilet backed up a bit, gross! Getting to the toilet involved backing up between shower cubicle and vanity. Not easy or very nice. Seriously there are better choices for the same value, so shop around. However if you want a good back up hotel, then this is OK for that odd night when you are just wanting a shower and bed. Breakfast was fine, not wonderful but good choice and inclusive. Let them copy your passport, but get it back. Ours was lost for around 15mins on checkout and this is very stressful and unnecessary.

Room Tip: Forgot to ask if there was a non smoking floor, so there was that constant ashtray smell throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel during my long transit in Doha during mid-Nov. I was picked up by English speaking driver though I had to wait for 20-30 minute for another guest to come. Being Monday, there was special dinner with seafood, unfortunately which I do not eat. I was wondering what to do but the nice restaurant attendant served me special food (dhal and bhat) according to my taste. So, the overall service in the hotel was excellent with very nice staffs.

The room is good enough for transit hotel. The water, tea and coffee in the room is complimentary, which I do not find in luxury hotels. Bathroom and bathroom supplies are good, Aircon was excellent (though weather was not that hot), did not use TV so cannot comment.

I was dropped to airport by again English speaking driver to airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanchan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I'll quickly just run through a few main points on the hotel that will hopefully help you get an idea of things:

Location: On foot there isn't anything to see or do nearby. I mean, there are some small shops and stores, but that's about it. If you have a car (or hop in a cab), obviously the location doesn't matter a whole lot. In short the location is plenty safe and plenty boring.

Staff: So far they have been nothing but friendly to me. I don't really ask much of them, but they are nice and polite morning in and morning out.

Hotel: It's very clean and functional. Don't get me wrong, the room has a fridge and is spacious, but I wouldn't call it plush. The hotel has a gym, but no pool. The room decor is pretty bland, but at least it is well taken care of (and not falling apart). The lobby decor looks pretty nice. So, if you need a bed and internet (free wireless!), this is your place. If you are hoping to impress your girlfriend or wife, look elsewhere.

Alcohol: None allowed or served on the premises. Sneak it in or get it elsewhere. The hotel has no club like other (fancier) hotels in the area.

Food: I haven't tried the room service, but the lunch, breakfast and dinner buffets are decent. Nothing to write home about, but at least you don't have to guess if it's edible or not. Seriously though, the food is okay-- not a huge selection, but they seem to make pretty safe (maybe a bit bland) choices with regards to selection. Nothing to complain too much about, but nothing to rave about either.

Internet: Fairly decent speeds and it's free. I had trouble connecting this afternoon so I wandered out, unplugged the router and plugged it back in. Regardless, once you're on, the speeds are pretty good. I've been downloading music all day without any major issues. Also, I don't believe that there are physical jacks/plug-ins inside the room. It's wireless only (which is fine with me).

Room/bathroom: Pretty spacious and functional. Not really fancy by any means, but it does what it is supposed to. My room is clean, no noticeable paint peeling, mold or anything. Like I said, it does it's job but 2 weeks after I leave I doubt I'll remember much about it. The beds are pretty decent. Not soft but not like a sheet of plywood either. The pillows are a little "bouncy" for my tastes, but that's just personal preference.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Schruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Welcome: The greeting and staff were very accommodating and on first arrival, we felt very welcome.
The Room: The room was very dirty. Floors were filthy, the walls were grimy and marked. The furniture fabric was grubby, dirty and marked. On top of the dirt, the toilets, door locks, lights and accessories were broken. There was no hairdryer in the rooms and in all rooms (apart from the Penthouse) there were no tea and coffee facilities. We were moved to the Penthouse which was no better - however, they did have coffee facilties that were not replenished after the first day.
Breakfast: The table cloths were dirty. The food was left out to dry out and for the flies to feed off.
Not withstanding the above, the staff were amazing. They were courteous and kind and thoughtfull. The were very child friendly and could not have made us feel more welcome. The staff would be better suited to a much cleaner and nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed here from 16th Jan to 23rd Jan. Had a fantastic time, the hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and kept that way. The hotel food is good, especially recommend the Sri Lankan and Moroccan nights (I did not try the other themed days). The hotel honestly couldn't do enough to help us, both with organising trips and showing us around the city itself.

Couldn't recommend the hotel enough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ViceroyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Was booked in for 2 weeks on business, but tolerated 1 night.
First impressions were not too bad. BUT.
No sleep due to noisey ticking aircon in every room of the apartment, white stains on sofa, broken dinning chair.
Wi-Fi is so slow you are better off sending a letter by post.
Asked reception if we could purchase some bottled water and was just told 'NO', (very unhelpfull).
IT may be cheap but there is a reason for this!!
DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE WEBSITE FOR THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

After having flown via Doha xx times I finally decided to have a one-night stopover in Qatar. The best thing about my stay was this hotel and its personnel. The location could certainly be better: the area seems to be under construction and I didn’t find anything worth seeing within walking distance.
I arrived early in the morning and the receptionist said I could freely go and have a breakfast. No matter what your religion or diet is, you’ll be happy with the breakfast at Gulf Paradise! The restaurant is very beautiful and so are all premises at the hotel. The restaurant functions 24 /7 and they have an evening buffet with a different theme every day. Didn’t try it though, as it was Indian theme that night and I was just coming from India and wanted something Arabic for a chance.
The room was very comfortable and the appliances seemed new. It was extremely clean everywhere. But please note that this hotel is very Islamic- alcohol is not served or allowed in its premises, nor are men and women allowed to visit each others’ rooms unless they are related. There are separated gyms for men and women and there is a dress code at the gym: no sleeveless tops or shorts over the knee allowed! On TV there were only Arabic channels + BBC news. However, I must say that the gym, though small, had very modern equipment and everything was functioning.
The staff was very polite and smart. In the evening the room service delivered complimentary strawberries + a piece of confectionary to all guests. The only minus I can say is probably the poor soundproofing: at night there was some occasion at the hotel and loud Arabic music disturbed until 11 pm.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Suites Hotel - Doha
0.8 mi away
Zubarah Hotel
Zubarah Hotel
#31 of 138 in Doha
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Al Sadd Suites
Al Sadd Suites
#119 of 138 in Doha
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#35 of 138 in Doha
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#30 of 138 in Doha
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Palace Hotel
La Villa Palace Hotel
#91 of 138 in Doha
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Paradise Hotel

Address: AL Khalej Street | P.O. Box. 12954, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $46 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gulf Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing