We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over”
Review of Hotel Regency

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Regency
Ranked #96 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“stop over”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is located in a good place for easy acess to most places, The hotel premises are a little tired but for the price paid in comparison to the big names not bad. Staff pleasant and welcoming
also helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaikwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Regency Hotel has changed name to "Al Nakheel Hotel" Located beside Iranian Souq or also known as Souq Wakaf beside the mosque. Taxi drivers have no problems locating hotel when mentioned the same. Easy to buy local mobile sim (do not forget to have passport) at the souq beside the hotel. Nice restaurant beside the hotel (Indian, Chinese & BBQ) and cheap South Indian thali cafes close by. Most of old township nearby hotel has been demolished to make way to new high rise to prepare for World Soccer Cup. Since my last stay 2 years ago, the hotel is looking much better. Recently, the lobby has been given a face-lift and looks much better. Standard room is small with no desk or chair. Has old box TV with satellite TV (BBC, CNN, movie channels). Room is cleaner than my last stay 2 years ago. According to Reservation manager, they have refurbished the higher category rooms. There is a computer with free internet for room guest on level 1 (same floor as restaurant). Breakfast caters to Arabic / Indian clients with toast, cereals & egg counter (chef on request to prepare your choice of egg dish). Decent hotel value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Looking a bit tired these days. This small hotel has a pleasant little lobby, but the rooms are very small with no desk or chair. Airconditioning is very noisy. Modest breakfast buffet aimed the tastebuds of guests who are mainly Indian and Arab commercial travellers.
Close to the old souk, but a difficult area to get taxis and single women travellers may feel uncomfortable.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noisy airconditioning in tiny rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
58 Thank mrken22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Doha hotels

Plymouth England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Stayed there overnight. Staff friendly. Room was ok to sleep in for a night, but was dissapointed. Very shabby and the air conditioning unit above the bed kept you awake most of the night. Not the smartest hotel i've stayed in or the cleanest.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
57 Thank inneedofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

I was in Doha at the same time as the PGA tournament and a big bike race - I was lucky to get a room at this hotel in the first place. I am not sure what this city will do when the Asian Games come in December. There is a serious hotel shortage!

My room was extremely small but, oddly, the bathroom was huge and modern. The rooms are clean and have all the basic ammenities. There was supposably free wireless internet in the restaurant and lobby but I could never get it to work and there is nobody at the hotel who can help troubleshoot.

The location is not bad but, not in the newest part of town and you have to take a taxi to get to any good restuarants or shops. Fortunately, the taxis are good about using the meter and are very cheap.

Overall the hotel is adequate if you just need a place to sleep. If you want lots of fancy ammenities or need a place to be able to do business stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
63 Thank lolabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.5 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#104 of 134 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gulf Paradise Hotel
Gulf Paradise Hotel
#74 of 134 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#63 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#69 of 134 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musherib Hotel
Musherib Hotel
#97 of 134 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regency

Property: Hotel Regency
Address: 10 Al-Asmakh, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Doha
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing