We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
Review of Casa Paco

Casa Paco
Ranked #759 of 857 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Against my better judgement we decided to give this restaurant another go. We visited on a Saturday and they were serving a buffet. The starters were nearly all salad based but ok. The mains however were very poor and cold. The calamari was like rubber. When the waitress asked if the food was ok I told her that it was all cold. She then asked if I would like to have some of it warmed up. I said I didn't think this was possible with calamari as it was already like rubber. Anyway they tossed it in some butter and garlic and brought it back out. Now it was like leather! The chef then explained that they cook like this because that is how customers like it in Qatar. She said that she was from France and even overlooks rice and pasta because that is the taste for this country! If you like a plate full of mushy cold food then I would recommend it otherwise avoid the place. The worst food I have had in over two years here in Qatar. The other problem was that the restaurant was full of flies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SJWJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    7
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Trying hard”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The interior space is well-decorated and inviting. There is an outside seating area, but like other outside eating areas at the Pearl, the flies are ever-present and annoying. The menu offers a reasonable choice. Prices are expensive...20QR for a soft drink and 40QR+ for dessert seems a little excessive. Our meal was enjoyable (rib steak and paella), but because the Pearl has become a 'dry' area, the enjoyment of a leisurely meal out is diluted...Lots of promise, but could deliver more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanaadaAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel like home”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I went there with a friend and that was a very good experiance,food so delicious and frech...
The spanich music was an other flavour for the place and the decoration and the terrace view was so cool.
Looking to go back soon

Helpful?
1 Thank Mourad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Too expensive...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Expecting a restaurant with spanish specialities, don't go to Casa Paco! Paella, good size, but only average quality, fish also only average, sangria quite tasty, but 29QAR for a little more than 0,1l is simply too much. Ambiente inside about zero. A bill of more than 650 QAR for four people, three of them left the restaurant still hungry. A one time experience only!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank freundlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy to see a good Spanish restaurant in Qatar. Because there is no good Spanish food in Doha. I went there with my children and
My wife, she come from Spain and she said that it was as good as in her country. I took a very good paella and some starters called tapas.
My children ate everything,but they normally don't eat a lot.
Thank you very much for this good moment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yanis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Paco also viewed

 

Been to Casa Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing