We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooooo much to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Riviera Hotel
Ranked #72 of 131 Hotels in Doha
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sooooo much to do”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I've recently stayed here for 2 weeks on business with 2 colleagues (who also have the same opinion) that if we hadn't been staying here through work, we would have had to relocate.
The rooms are substantial in size, clean and tidy and they get cleaned every day. I actually got upgraded to a suite on arrival as they didn't have any regular rooms which I was more than happy to oblige. The wifi is free and very fast and works all over the hotel including at the pool which is why this hotel gets a star! Sadly that's where the good stuff ends......
Many of my room plug sockets did not work. The room service, you can guarantee will take ages and more than likely wrong. The phones do not work properly when you try to select any of the corresponding departments so always having to deal with equally unhelpful people at reception.
The 2 times I had dinner in the restaurant I was the only person dining so the atmosphere wasn't so welcoming. With news for ambience, no alcahol being served and non speaking English waiters it made for quite a painful experience all in all. Needless to say we ate out nearly every night. The local souk serves much more variety of food for a fraction of the price and is a lot more of an enjoyable experience. There's is not much else around the hotel other than the Museum of Islamic Art which is great so you will have to get a taxi everywhere which are not expensive if you want to go out drinking/eating or sight seeing. Getting home however will be a challenge however as not a single taxi knows where this hotel is! Thank god we had practise at describing the location!
The breakfast is pretty basic but at least you can help yourself to a buffet. The lunch buffet is somewhat disappointing on the roof 'terrace'.
The pool is very small and disappointing after seeing glamorous pictures if it online and it's absolutely freezing with little care or attention paid to the sun loungers or the surrounding areas. The gym is basic and small and with one of the 2 treadmills not working, made for little choice and the 'spa' is merely a locked door saying 'massage room', which I can't imagine many people ventured.
This is not a hotel for holiday makers, you will be totally disappointed. If you are coming here on business you will not be disappointed with the wifi network however if you need answers, services and things generally working well, quick and efficiently, do not stay here.
I do not stay in particularly posh or expensive hotels but it's just all a bit below average and can't understand the high rating of stars for this hotel! There are plenty of others that are much better to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavenAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    38
    12
    15
See reviews for
14
27
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Really very nice hotel,great staff.amazing view from rooms.near souk wagef,corniche,
The roof top restaurant with te Arabic shisha is really amazing.
The Arabic food was more than tasty.
We'll trained staff.
It's more than good.

Room Tip: 606 had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alharthinadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at The Royal Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. Nadine,

Greetings from The Royal Riviera Hotel!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such complimentary comments as yours.

We are indeed very centrally located on the Corniche close to the Islamic Museum, National Museum, Souq Waqif, and 10 minutes from International Airport.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to The Royal Riviera Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kacapor Munira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been to the royal riviera for a whole month during Feb-2014. My stay has been quite pleasureful. The hotel is far from being considered luxurious (gym is too small, spaces are just acceptable, rooms are not so spacious). They used to fill the tray with creamer, Nescafé, sugar & red & green team, which is a small gesture I appreciated.. Staff is quite friendly as well.
The only problem I've had during my stay is related to the design of the shower cabin: it's impossible to take a shower without having to flood the whole bathroom, cabin does not close completely as it has no door, they leave you a space where you enter & exit the cabin but can't close it. That's why I used to use the towels to absorb the flooding water everyday.
Other than that my stay has been warm & I'd return to the same hotel again.

Room Tip: Check out bathrooms shower cabins & make sure it gets closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at The Royal Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Royal Riviera Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

The guest experience is something we take very seriously and we very much appreciate you being our guest.
While we are delighted with your very positive comments about the room amenities and truly appreciate the comments about our team, we are most disappointed that some service aspects did not live up to your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered and rest assured, your feedback has enabled us to review the standard within the departments involved.
Furthermore I am delighted to inform you that relocation of the gym to a more spacious place is in process.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back at The Royal Riviera Hotel.
Please feel free to call me directly so that I may personally oversee your stay.

Best Regards,

Kacapor Munira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at the Royal Riviera Hotel for one night over the weekend, the stay was amazing. Definitely one of the best hotels in Qatar, excellent rooms, dining at roof top restaurant was amazing, and really enjoyed the shisha, staff are super friendly! Highly recommended.
Walking distance to souk waghef and near Islamic museum art , as also the Cornish.

Room Tip: Most of rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undisput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very nice hotel.,the location is great,not far from the airport Amazing view,Near souk Waghef ,Islamic Museum art ,I was more than comfortable, the stuff was so helpful and friendly ,well done for all the team..

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank R0ger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I don't know how they got a 5 star rating because it is more like a 3.5 star hotel. The staff at reception were bickering with each other which was unprofessional. Issues with the room include: scuff marks on the wall, dirty windows, rusty bathroom drain, no slippers or robe, nothing in the fridge and the tv channels were fuzzy (but the rooms were clean). Breakfast was also of 3.5 star standards. On the other hand, the location was good. It was disappointing to realise that I could have paid a bit extra for a real 5 star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my acomedation there , it was really nice place I enjoyed my time in qater the only problem is to get a taxi but any way its near the airport and its very close to islamic museum and the town

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank noorasuroor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 131 in Doha
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#41 of 131 in Doha
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Doha
BEST WESTERN PLUS Doha
#110 of 131 in Doha
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#49 of 131 in Doha
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#67 of 131 in Doha
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#64 of 131 in Doha
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Riviera Hotel

Property: The Royal Riviera Hotel
Address: Al-Saflya Street, Old Salateh Corniche Road, Doha 29444, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of luxury and exclusivity, The Royal Riviera Hotel is unique in service, location and style. Ten minutes away from Doha International Airport, this 5 star hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of the skyline and the Arabian Gulf, The Royal Riviera Hotel is located in one of the most exclusive areas in Doha along the Corniche, overlooking the Museum of Islamic Arts & steps away from the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing