We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more then 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Riviera Hotel
Ranked #72 of 134 Hotels in Doha
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more then 5 stars”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel start of June and would recommend it ti everyone.
They offer WIFI for free!!!!!!!
The Reception team is friendly and very helpful, was never to busy to assist with any request.
Thank you Ana & Mounira for your hospitality.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The view of the islamic museum and west bay amazing by night.
Will return back in August!

Room Tip: All Executive Rooms has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    38
    12
    15
See reviews for
14
27
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Likes: Been to different hotels.
I like the fact that the hotel is NEW. New and modern style yet not unique. Otherwise the overall athmosphere is good. But not something we expect for a 4-star hotel.
It is clean. And houskeeping staffs are polite and does a very good job.

Dislikes: Had problem with the booking process with the hotel RESERVATION MANAGER (I currently live in USA). We booked for 6 days, 5 night accomodation. I contacted them in advance to make sure the checking-in will be smooth upon our arrival. I contact them through emails, phone (tried multiple numbers) ; I did not get a response for almost 24 hours. Really a 4-star hotel?! Even the booking dot com tried to contact the front desk and nobody was answering. Take note, this hotel is not a 4-star hotel. I've been to different hotels and I couldn't quite say this is a 4-star.MAybe 3.5 star.

Why?

The hotel staff alone with my personal interactions with the reservation manager - AMINE did not go very well. First of all they were not honest. The told booking.com that I contacted them only once when I sent them multiple emails. When I confronted him about it, he suddenly say I am sorry and will upgrade us to a executive room which is backed up by our email. Eventhough we checked-in late, we had to wait for a quite while for room availability.(What's the sense of booking in advance). That is fine. But it is disappointing when the promised room wasn't given to us, they gave us a delux room.When we call the front desk they said there is nothing noted on our reservation and they gave me AMINE's (reservation manager) personal celphone number so I can contact him myself. (Isn't it supposed to be hotel staff's job?) So I did talk to Amine on the phone and he apologized and told us to stay on our current room for the night and said "This is my word,tommorow I will move you to an EXECUTIVE SUITE. That's is my word. I promise." I clarified it to him with "Did you say executive suite? (cz i'm only expecting executive room (actually the sea view room is the only thing I requested). You said EXECUTIVE SUITE? Tommorow? And that is your word? And you promised?" And he said "Yes that is my word. I promise. I will call them (hotel) right now." So I was like okay. Thank you. I hope this is the last time that you'll disappoint us.

The very next day, we were not moved to a different room. We tried to call the the front desk, and they said nothing was noted on our reservation. And they tried to contact AMINE and he is not picking up his phone. I personally tried to contact his celphone number and he did not picked up either. The hotel staff said "THERE IS NO MANAGER ON DUTY TODAY."
Like really?! A self-claimed 4-star hotel NO MANAGER ON DUTY?!
So we did not pushed the issue.

We are tired of the "[--]". If the manager is like that then what can you expect to the other staff.
"DISHONESTY" isn't the worst characted of a leader.
And a man who are unable to fulfill his promise. Kept giving us dispppointment.
On our third night, they moved us to a executive room with a 2 double beds (when we are a couple). We accepted it, since we like the partial sea view.

But the executive suite that was just a word.

On the room itself - There is NO PHONE DIRECTORY. NO HOTEL GUIDE BOOK. This is very unusual for the hotels. I thought it was just our room. Apparently not.

AMENITIES:
Swimming pool: It is a regular size. I'm kinda hoping for a nicer pool. But it doesn't matter. During our stay, during daytime it is too hot. During night time: It is too windy with sandstorm.

Gym: Is good. With new equipment.

Breakfast buffet: THere is no much variation. On our 4th morning. We decided to order outside. But the food in general is good.

Housekeeping: Is great. They are polite. And they did a very good job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettykhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Doha hotels

jeddah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

a wonderful stay at Royal Rivera , made the vacation better with the pleasant front office service especially Mr.Waled for his wonderful costumer service and Mr. Nour the bell boy very helpful and pleasant as well. the room was clean and tidy housekeeping services were efficient , but the minibar was empty to my disappointment. the decor was fine, a warm and comfortable environment in the room just like home ambiance. the private car services arranged by the hotel was good and efficient driver, Mr. Yousef was very pleasant and polite. The breakfast buffet was ok could be improved better on the menu, the swimming is definitely very small, as well as the gym of the hotel. the spa services must be established as soon as possible. the location is acceptable in between airport and the city, the porch and the entrance area of the hotel must be reconstructed to look better, in the future we hope to see more better quality improvements as we do understand the hotel is still in the process of setting up. we hope the quality services will be maintained and improvised for our future visits to be a more memorable stay. the 5 nights stay was very worthwhile and pleasant with The Royal Rivera Hotel group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetgira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

more three start than four. I stayed here for 24 hours on my way out of Qatar. It was brand new ( open only one month). the rooms were clean and modern and comfortable. the staff were was helpful and courteous but there were some bugs: the sink and bathtub will over flow on full strength of the tap, and I ended up flooding my hotel room bathroom from both two times. Wait times for service for maintenance and hotel staff can take well over one hour and will take re-calling to remind them to come to your room. Room service comes from a sister hotel and they will charge you local call fees to transfer to the hotel to order and room service can take over an hour as they keep saying "their driver is busy". Hopefully these issues will be solved as the hotel grows. the hotel decor is a little gaudy and makes the hotel look older strangely and the hotel staff SHOULD not be wearing jeans( denim) with their uniforms, it's unprofessional and furthermore they have only two phone lines in the hotel so trying to the call the front desk will often times result in a busy tone. It's close to the airport and not to far from downtown and the price does make it worth it but in walking distance there's not too much around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivyleaguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This new hotel is great, a driver picked us up at the airport which I would recommend as it's so new some taxi drivers may not know it yet, sometimes easier to give the name of the hotel next door as a reference. We arrived really early and our room wasn't ready so we went for a wander along the corniche which is only 2 min away then onto the souq wakif which is a real experience. by this time we had literally started to melt so we returned to check out the roof top pool which has great views of the city. Breakfast wasn't amazing but was adequate as it's included in the price. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for the old town and sights. If you are in Doha for business you should stay on the other side of the corniche.

Room Tip: Go high for the best view and request a sea view as the skyline of the business district is stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A brand new hotel which already stands for service and politeness.
Close to the airport and easy to locate.
The restaurant and the pool are going to open, just ask to the reveption in advance in case you need them.
The have a smart and fare limousine service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco83g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked this hotel for my parents, I live in Doha and they were visiting for the first time. When I requested a sea view room, I was told that the grade I had booked didn't have sea views and that they would upgrade my parents instead, a great start!
The hotel is slightly back from the cornice but provides amazing views from the higher floors. It is surrounded with construction, but show me somewhere in Doha that isn't! Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and check-in was relatively quick.
I didn't stay there but I saw the room my parents had, it was a good size with all the amenities you would expect and a great sized bathroom. The room was cleaned daily with tea, coffee and water replaced. The breakfast was good with a choice of hot or cold, served in a buffet style. If anything, Mum said the staff were too keen as sometimes a half drank cup of tea was whisked away whilst she was getting her toast!
The Concierge was very helpful in providing my parents with information and provided a number for a recommended driver. Unless you know where you are going, taxis in Doha are not a good idea, as they often get lost! Most trips around Doha, with a private driver will cost around 5-10 British Pounds. They didn't use the pool as it is surrounded by glass and were worried it would get quite hot inside, instead they visited a local beach club and paid 40qr per day (about 7 British Pounds)
My Dad's personal highlight, the fresh dates in the lobby!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#46 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#42 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#49 of 134 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Doha
Best Western Plus Doha
#97 of 134 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#66 of 134 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#70 of 134 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Riviera Hotel

Property: The Royal Riviera Hotel
Address: Al-Saflya Street, Old Salateh Corniche Road, Doha 29444, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of luxury and exclusivity, The Royal Riviera Hotel is unique in service, location and style. Ten minutes away from Doha International Airport, this 5 star hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of the skyline and the Arabian Gulf, The Royal Riviera Hotel is located in one of the most exclusive areas in Doha along the Corniche, overlooking the Museum of Islamic Arts & steps away from the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing