We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tangia

Tangia
Ranked #317 of 849 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The food does not live up to all the hype around thus restaurant.
The food maybe authentic Moroccan. The service is quick.
The dishes are certainly a let down. I had two meals and was disappointed with both.
The starters were good and edible. Main courses were uniformly bad - cooked without finesse, not much taste, large portions that are difficult to finish - some cooked so that they are inedible lamb shoulder was undercooked, still had the fat layer on and smelled of a lamb!!
The live music does not help.
What a pity!!

Helpful?
2 Thank thesensuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    5
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The salmon and soup are amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I moved out of Doha a few months ago, and one of the things I miss most is the salmon and lobster soup from Tangia! I highly recommend those two items as well as the Moroccan tea!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pindeelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“worst food ever tasted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The decor in this restaurant was the only positive. Staff were friendly but very basic English. There was an initial problem sitting a group of 9 of us, but on suggestion by ourselves of moving tables together, they could accommodate us.
The starter was a bowl of lentil soup which was ok. There was no other choice. This was followed by cold doughy two day old bread on the table. Ramadan drinks were diluted vimto. This was appalling. Main courses, three choices, boiled chicken fish or mutton. Overly sweet, bland, mutton was cheap cut, grissly, very little flavour. And everything else was steamed rice or couscous. Very little choice. Dessert plate of small Moroccan sweets which again no choice. We were a group of 9 people, so we were sorely disappointed by food & ambience. I would not recommend this restaurant at all. Terrible value for Ramadan iftar, worst meal we have ever had. We do try out lots of different cuisines & love foreign food but there was nothing positive to say. Even the service was poor. 3 times we asked for water & drinks. Very sad that this was such a bad experience as the hotel is indeed a very grand hotel and the decor was beautiful. Food terrible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holly74limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Expecting the spices of Morocco we were very disappointed as the food lacked taste, flat and overcooked. Servings very big, two would have been more than enough for four people. Would have liked some guidance from our servant. Really a disappointing evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Valhildur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not the Tangine you expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ordered the Lamb Tangine and Fish. The fish was good bu the Tangine dissapoints. Lamb was not sas oft and tender as expected and lacking the flavors. Dessert of various Moroccan breads/pastires was dull. Almost think that the ones served were bought from outside shops and not created in the rstaurant at all. Place was too dark.

The only saving grace was the live music which was not obtrusive and gave you the Moroccan atmosphere. Wouldn't come back here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangia also viewed

 

Been to Tangia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing