We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Iftar Dinndr”
Review of Flying Carpet

Flying Carpet
Ranked #240 of 872 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great Iftar Dinndr”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The flying carpet does a great buffet. Wonderful Arab food. Great service and being the Torch being in the building adds to the experience. No alcohol service in the hotel, so no glass of wine. Gets a four not a five as the variety is very much limited to Arab food compared to the buffets at other five star hotels in Doha. However for us it was a great meal. Living very close by, we will be back. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisey29226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesaieed, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Ifthar buffet”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

By far, the best arabic buffet i've had in doha.... great atmosphere with carpets flying above.... it seems the whole restaurant is floating in mid air... The staff were dressed in traditional attire and were really good.... the food was really gr8... especially the kharoof....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zabeelshafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family brunch or lunch”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The place is amazing. Decor is original. Food is so good and of great variety. Staff are nice and professional. In summer might be warm as the sun diffused directly to the place. Kids will love the clown and corner made up especially for them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wh0208674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Have only eaten breakfast in this property, and as far as buffets go and especially buffets in hotels this is by far the best. Only comment would be that when visiting teams are staying at Aspire, maybe get your times right to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L4-Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesandrews789
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located on the second floor of the 'Torch' building in Doha, the decor is modern and fairly stylish but comfortable and welcoming. The staff were very good; attentive and addressed us by name and going to lengths to ensure we had what we wanted. Perhaps the most impressive thing is the presentation of the food. It is fantastically laid out in small portions, all perfectly formed and extremely appetising. We went (party of 14) on the Mexican buffet night; I was retiscent as I am not a huge fan of Mexican food but there was more than enough non-Mex for me to really enjoy. The selection is extremely impressive and many dishes cooked fresh in front of you.

The quality and taste of food is very good but perhaps a little below the standard if the presentation; certainly not a criticism - it was still most enjoyable. Puddings are the best (imo!) the best bit; if you go, the glass pot of chocolate mousse is really one not to be missed. There are also some very impressive chocolate sculptures on display. Although expensive at 230QR pp, I was very glad we went and had the opportunity to look round the buliding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Carpet also viewed

 

Been to Flying Carpet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing