We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prime Steakhouse

Prime Steakhouse
Ranked #25 of 849 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Prime is a bold, timeless meat destination that promises the finest selection of cuts consistently cooked to perfection in a warm, comfortable and memorable setting.Prime promotes flexible dining, where guests may choose to experience a live grill show kitchen, interactive dining area or a cosy private dining space.A place for people passionate about meat and considered Doha's No.1 Steakhouse by Time Out Magazine 2013.
1 review
“Excellent food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We shared the Chateaubriand and it was excellent. Very tender, full of flavour and perfectly cooked. I had the crab cake starter, which was very good. My husband had the prawns which he devoured. I always admire a restaurant t that has good bread. In this case, the bread was homemade and served with 3 different spreads, all excellent. Our waiter was cheerful and attentive, obviously enjoying his job. I loved the deep rich colours of the decor: contemporary-meets-old-world steakhouse. Very comfy! We look forward to coming again with a big group to sit around those lovely round tables!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueroller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Blueroller!
looking forward to many happy returns... whether with a group of friends, business partners or just to indulge in private! Happily passed on your positive feedback to the team!
C U Soon!
Your Prime Steakhouse Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    65
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very expensive and needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I visited Prime twice. The service is good but the place doesn't have much atmosphere, and there isn't much on the menu if you're not a meat-eater like my wife, who really struggled. The first time, my foie gras appetizer was very good and the USDA steak also good. My wife raved about the mushroom salad. This time the menu had changed a bit - a different foie gras dish, and the mushroom salad was off the menu as the season had changed. I thought I would splash out and ordered a wagu striploin, which was very expensive (QR370 is over $100!) and it was disappointing - very thin and lacking taste. Steaks should be at least one inch thick. My mash potato was dreadful - the consistency of custard. The waiter brought a second serving, which was better but still lacked seasoning. I'll give it one more try but stick to the USDA and chips next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Scott,
thank you for posting your comments. We appreciate that you were disappointed in the menu choice in Strata with 5 seasonal starters and 5 mains (which at the same evening you have rated with with 1 star despite not eating there and the team offering you any dish from any outlet at the hotel - which makes it 5 outlet menus) and originally did not want to eat at Prime.
We are glad to learn that your starters and one main fully satisfied your taste buds. Japanese style steaks are usually not as thick as their New Zealand, Austrialian or US counterparts due to the high content of fat this would be a little too much (you might want to check this also online www-dot-chefsarmoury-dot-com/how-to-cook-wagyu/info_53-dot-html). We have informed our team to be better prepared to answer questions and advise accordingly. We hope to be able to be more convincing next time you might give us a chance to show you true InterContinental hospitality.
Best regards,
Your Prime Steakhouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best piece of meat that i have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

great ambience but hostess was not in welcoming mood. I started with pensfold and foiegras. great way to start. I have tasted some of finest steak all over the world. some because of quality of meat, few because of best cooking style. but here in prime chef has done something magically. I had a nice piece of meat cooked to perfection. steak was seasoned perfectly and side was good as well. finally that chef visit my table to make sure that standards met which is was surprise and not a usual in this country. price is really worth for the great meal definitely will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharow j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sharow,
this review will even make the hostess on a bad day smile! She surely didn't mean it and will work on the Perfect10 experience which the chef and waiters celebrated for you on a plate.
Please come back for more soon! A great experience and a cheerful team await you!
Your Prime Steakhouse Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Wakrah, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Filet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The steak was great... however, I thought I was ordering a 12year old single malt until I got the bill. 18yr... :0

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kenton,
thank you for your praise and recommendation! The chef will be delighted to have made you happy. Will follow up on the "aging" and make sure it is as transparent as it can be to avoid disappointment!
See you back for more soon?
Your Prime Steakhouse Team @ the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place for special occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a nice round table with comfy sofa for the 5 of us. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great.

We have all ordered steak for our main course, unfortunately 2 steaks were not cooked to the way we would have liked them so we had to send them back. Luckily they got it perfectly the second time round. The steak are very nice, the service was good too. It was a first time experience for us all to choose the knife that we would like to use for our meal!

As the night went on, think it was around 9pm/ 10pm, the joining door with the bar next door was opened and so the loud dancing music were coming through to the restaurant. It wasn’t the best as we were sat in this posh restaurant chatting away and was hit by loud trashy music! Perhaps they should look to keep that door shut for the whole evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Swan Peach!
thank you for your great and balanced feedback. Fantastic to hear that you had a great time and thank you for your understanding that with a natural product like meat there can be minor deviations which we are more than happy to fix. The door opening & closing has since been adjusted and we would be delighted to welcome you back for more in the future!
Your Prime Streakhouse Team

PS: Dont miss the Australian Truffles promotion in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing