We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow but worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Damasca

Damasca
Ranked #76 of 847 Restaurants in Doha
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow but worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived and were seated upstairs we ordered and enjoyed some excellent starters (the lambs tongue was very good, and the eggplant smoky and delicious... we then waited almost an hour for our main dishes. After three reminders and some very creative excuses from our waiter, we finally gave up and went to leave. The manager caught us, insisted we return where he served us our main courses without charge, and then a complimentary platter of fruit to finish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Prawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    161
    50
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

First we were seated upstairs, however we had to walk through the kitchen to be seated. Service was a little slow. Food was ok, but not worth the money, you can find much better food for the cost somewhere else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LN_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Syrian Food in Doha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

There is everything I like from Fatte to Kebbe, everything has a great taste.
I love this place only that its a bit expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is truly Syrian restaurant outside Syria. Hummos, Salads and grill were very good. Also kubba and farika. Never miss the view with apple shisha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KusaiSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant experience in the heart of Doha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited with one of our friends - 777 Captain with Qatar Airways, based on his previous visits to this restaurant.

Sit upstairs if poss, awesome atmosphere and views of the flat rooftops. Shisha available at every table!! Good mix of people.

The hummous was definitely the best I have ever had. Babaganoush and tabbouleh also good. Freek lamb very tasty and the chicken tawoosh likewise.

Summary- good food, about $25 per person sharing the mixed dishes. Atmosphere excellent. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_Ferguson-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing