We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great options” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yee Hwa Restaurant

Yee Hwa Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 839 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Japanese and Korean cuisine offering ALL you can eat sushi on Sundays and ALL you can eat Korean BBQ every Mondays and Wednesdays.The most extensive sushi rolls menu available.Korean BBQ grill on each table.
doha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

the menu offers superb options of maki, new creative mixture of ingredients and served in enticing presentation...just for the maki. the price is affordable, though the service is average. also their steamed prawn dumpling is just the frozen dumpling sold in the supermarkets which we can just eat at home. they should have their own resto-made dumplings. in peak hours, you have to wait for at least 30 mins in a queue of people also waiting to be seated, so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gavdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear gavdrew,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about Yee Hwa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the creativity of our sushi rolls as we take great pride in it.

As for the dumplings may I suggest you try the Korean steamed or fried dumplings next time as these are 100% homemade.

Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    87
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Japanese restaurant, quality and price-wise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've searched high and low for good Japanese restaurants here in Qatar and finally settled for Yee Hwa. Most of the Japanese restaurants here are either on the pop-fast food type orcan be found on those hideously expensive locations. Not Yee Hwa, it may be more than your usual prices but for the food quality and ambience, it is great. They have the Sushi Buffet every Sunday and the Korean BBQ buffet every Mon-Wed plus a Friday Brunch Buffet which compromises of both the formers and more. My friend and I frequent this place especially for the sushi buffet and will come out weighing 10 pounds more. The food is that good. I also like their policy of "penalizing" customers for every wasted piece of food which makes the customer conscious of the amount of their food that they eat. Waste not, want not.

Great food, great price, great place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QatarEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Rachelle M,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about us on this website.

We are delighted that you frequent our restaurant and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daebak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

New here in Doha -- looking for Kor/Jap restaurants and stumbled here in Yee Hwa! The sushi is just superb as well as the side dishes. Neomu masisseoyo!! Will definitely be back soon to try the KBBQ that everyone's boasting about.. :)

Tto bwayo!

Helpful?
1 Thank Aubrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Aubrey M,

Thank you for visiting us at Yee Hwa and we are delighted that you found us!

Thank you for your generous review and we hope you drop in soon to try our Korean BBQ.

Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Not advisable
Worse service ever , bad quality of sushi , extremely expensive ,
The staff are really bad and not helpful at all .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Chacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul Chakar,

As a owner/manager of a business it is very disappointing to get such a negative review from our customers.

I have personally investigated as to what went wrong on Saturday when you visited us. Please do not consider this as an excuse for our short comings as I would simply like to apologize and explain after I spoke to your server that day.

At the time (3pm) that you visited us on Saturday we were not expecting the restaurant to be full house as it was after lunch hours for most. Therefore, the number of servers present during that time was not sufficient to cover all tables. Also it seems that the sushi was rushed by the chefs as they were overloaded.

This doesn't take away the fact that we have an unsatisfied customer and I sincerely apologize. I have now consulted with the restaurant manager and hall supervisor to make necessary changes to ensure that enough servers will be present even after the usual lunch hours.

With regards to the price we do agree that our prices are at the higher end and this is due to the fact that we import almost all of our ingredients directly from Japan in order to keep our menu authentic. Also whenever possible our fish (Salmon, Tuna, Hamour etc.) are bought fresh instead of frozen on a daily basis.

All of us here at Yee Hwa will learn from your review and we will work to get better.

Thank you once again for taking time to write your review.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We live aroubd the corner and go regularly and the foid is excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We are regular visitors to this restaurant. The atmosphere is good.
Especially sunday nights all-you-can-eat-Sushi is great, but expect some waiting time uf you haven't reserved a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Mirco M,

It is always a pleasure to have you at Yee Hwa. We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about us on this site.

We hope to continue to serve you good food and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yee Hwa Restaurant also viewed

 
Doha, Qatar
 

Been to Yee Hwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing