We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor West Bay Suites And Residence
Ranked #107 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed October 10, 2012

3-nights Stay in October 2012.
The stay started very badly when the front desk charged me ten times the amount of the room to my credit card and was not able to void the transaction. It took them 3 days to send the cancellation form to the bank to refund the money and the money is still not on my account.
Then the hotel is very new and the staff is clueless. The room smells like plaster and are very cheaply furnished. The breakfast is very limited in choice and they charged it 70 QAR, about 14 EUR. Some of the staff wear 4 seasons hotel uniform! That's very cheap.
They don't call taxis for the guest, they give you a so called limousine, just a normal car but they charge you like hell: 4 min trip to the exhibition center is 30 QAR, it is basically stealing.
Overall a very bad experience, I travel a lot to Doha, I never had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

It was pleasant stay , the stuff are friendly and very helpful .. The housekeeping clean everyday even when we put "don't disturp" paper :p .. The hotel still new and quite ..well, I and my family really enjoyed our stay at that hotel ..

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haifa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank crisproven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank abdulltam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangament, Manager at Governor West Bay Suites And Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Salehalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangament, Manager at Governor West Bay Suites And Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Erwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louay M, Manager at Governor West Bay Suites And Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Het is goedkoper te boeken via een site dan rechtstreeks bij het hotel te boeken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdegraaf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louay M, Manager at Governor West Bay Suites And Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Somerset West Bay
Somerset West Bay
#61 of 137 in Doha
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
0.5 mi away
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
#40 of 137 in Doha
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Al Safa Royal Suites Luxury Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor West Bay Suites And Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor West Bay Suites And Residence

Address: Diplomatic Street, West Bay, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $129 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governor West Bay Suites And Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming for a short or long stay Governor West Bay Suites & Residences, Doha combines the luxurious and comfortable atmosphere to enjoy every day. It is located in the prestigious district of West Bay, close to all the companies, embassies and government entities, just 2 minutes walking distance to City Center Shopping Mall and 20 minutes from Doha International Airport.The five stars hotel has 191 spacious serviced apartments over 36 floors ranging between 2 and 3 bedrooms along with 6 penthouses and considered among the largest in Doha, fully furnished and equipped with the latest technological equipment and modern furniture.Its dining options are many from the lavish breakfast buffet at "The Fusion Restaurant" to the relaxing cup of coffee in the afternoon at "The Terrace" and not to forget the room service and take away options to the banqueting facilities that can accommodate up to 300 persons.Stay in shape and visit the Health Club and Wellness Spa and enjoy our indoor swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and indulge your senses with our Spa Treatments.Governor West Bay Suites & Residences Doha has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governor West Bay Suites And Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing