We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Hour a definite improvement!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ranked #49 of 847 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Bar, International, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Happy Hour a definite improvement!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

After my last review pointing out the high cost of drinks and lack of happy hour, I felt that it was only fair to leave another review following the introduction of happy hour! Around 16 of us found ourselves in Vic's last week (due in no small part to wanting to test out the happy hour). The bar was surprisingly quiet for a Thursday night, and we were some of the only customers in for drinks until - I don't know whether this was a one-off or due to the lack of advertising about the happy hour. The happy hour deal is good - lasts from 5-8pm, with wine/beer for qr25, and 25% off cocktails - the cocktails being excellent as always (and don't appear to be watered down or smaller, as is normally the case with happy hour cocktails in certain unnamed bars in Doha *ahem*). Service was prompt and efficient, and the waiting staff kept us constantly supplied with drinks despite having to deal with such a large group. Overall, very impressed - will definitely be heading back for happy hour again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias M, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear Scottish CN,

thank you for your feedback. We hope you had the chance to come back to our Happy Hour, which is now from 4pm to 7pm Daily!

We look forward to welcoming you back!
All the best,
The Trader Vic's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    248
    116
    38
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
146 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrible lunch and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

After having a rather good dinner here recently, we returned to try the lunchtime menu. I now know why they don't start serving dinner till 7pm - that must be the time the head chef arrives, because the team that put this food together were terrible, and the service awful. My chow mein arrived cold. When I pointed this out to the waiter, he took it away, warmed it, and returned it in silence without a word of apology. The dish was awful - very little meat or seafood and not at all fresh - it looked like the leftovers from the previous night's dinner service. My wife's stir fry with passion fruit was also not good. When we finished, we sat for almost 10 minutes until I gave up waiting and literally shouted for the waiter to clear the plates and bring the check. We will not be back here for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Scott197,

Thank You for your comments. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory service and food quality and rest assured that we will utilize your feedback to improve our Guest Satisfaction.

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical vic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nice location at the back of the Hilton. Usual Trader vic selection and service. Lunch times are quiet. Nice terrace at the back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LythamMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear LythamMart

Thank you for your kind feedback and I am delighted to hear that you liked our services and atmosphere. On behalf of the Trader Vic’s team I would like to welcome you back soon at our restaurant

Kind Regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Poor food selection at a very high prices for what is offered. Good point that smoking inside is not allowed.
Alcohol prices are also extremely high.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Giovanni A,

Thank you for your feedback, which we will use to improve our Guest Satisfaction and Expectations and on behalf of the whole team I would like to welcome you back soon at our Trader Vic's restaurant

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic's Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a welcome change from some of my regular only food places I visit in Doha.
The general atmosphere is just great but then add a lived band and the place is very lively - the Cuban band in particular is really good and the polite thing to say is that the female vocalists are very attractive. Wow! But they can sing too..
Good range of alcohol and soft drinks and a nice snacks menu from the bar area and a better menu for the sit down restaurant.
Great place to go particularly to people watch sometimes it is hilarious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Jimbo732

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback which I have sheared with my team . I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the services
Looking forward to welcome you back soon in our Trader Vic’s restaurant

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing