We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet dinner at The Vine Restaurant”
Review of Vine

Vine
Ranked #45 of 861 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $40 - $115
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Vine is a welcoming space, where guests can savor an atmosphere of tranquility whilst enjoying specialties that are celebrated world over. Throughout the day, sunlight filters in through elegant high-arched windows, reflecting off the white marbled interior to illuminate the whole space with vibrant hues. Prepared fresh and live at designated cooking stations, Vine offers a vast international buffet featuring a selection of gastronomic delights to satisfy every palate giving both breakfast and lunch a relaxed and comfortable experience. The Friday Brunch experience at Vine is simply magnificent. It is where friends and families get together to celebrate life and enjoy sweeping views of the Arabian Gulf from the terrace, funky live music and delectable dishes to satisfy every possible craving. Each day, Vine comes alive with a cheerfulness that is unique to Doha. With a setting that manages to feel both cool and warm, Vine is far more than simply the most satisfying restaurant in Doha. It is a place where cuisines, cultures and conversations are celebrated every day
Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Buffet dinner at The Vine Restaurant”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Wonderful location for dinner, good price at 180 riyals (see note below) and not an overwhelming buffet, which is a treat here in Doha. On the one hand Doha is full of fabulous food prepared in magnificent ways but on the other hand if you want to eat a more normal sized meal at a buffet, it can be a challenge. This was their first dinner buffet at the Vine and the selections were delicious. We have dined there before for dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both so this was a new experience as a dinner buffet. Soups were mushroom and celeriac, both tasty. Salad bar was fresh with selections for Caesar and typical tossed salad items. Speciality salads were at the side in beautiful yet tiny portions so you could try a few of them. The meats were prepared perfectly from turkey to prime rib to lamb. Root vegetables had an incredible homemade flavor, very rich and intense. Wish there was traditional stuffing and cranberry sauce but they did their own twists on these items.
This hotel has been open for less than a year so some of their very international staff are still struggling with the English language - when asking for white meat (turkey), the staff struggled to understand, even when indicating breast meat but that is a minor detail.
Desserts were spectacular - delicious English cake, warm and tasty apple tart...
The only real negative is the cost of additional items - even juice, coffee, water was not included in the buffet so the dinner still gets to the same price as the Ritz-Carlton (which offers a much larger buffet for 240 riyals including soft beverages) when you add those items. So that is a caution if you go there - see what is included in the price as the total can easily add up to the same as the more vast buffets in town.
Fine service and very attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    63
    27
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
229 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Brunch at the Vine”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been to the brunch twice now. The first time I was disappointed with the waiting staff. We had a party of 12 people. We were constantly having to ask for things like a knife and fork, a glass, more water. The food I must say though was excellent. They have an outdoor barbeque here and very frequently a waiter would bring around a plate of food to your table fresh from the barbeque whether it be mini burgers or lamb chops. There was an excellent variety of dishes. Indian food was cooked to order and most of our party commented on how good it was. My husband highly recommends the sushi. However I must say that as it was one of our party members birthday he was given a little cake as a birthday treat which was a very nice touch.

We decided to have a second visit just for the food alone but just as a couple and it was alot better and the service was considerably more reliable.

I am putting the first visit down to early teething problems with the hotel not been open for long and our big party of friends.

Price is about 295QAR with alcohol and I think around 225QAR without which is reasonable for a brunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

food was delicious, and the service was excellent. We ordered the Sea Food platter and the grilled fish, both were delicious

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Saad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Compliments for Service, Disappointing Otherwise”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I wanted to give this restaurant a higher rating based on the good service and personal attention we received. (It was our wedding anniversary--which I advised them of in advance--and we were greeted by name, served complimentary champagne, and a nicely-presented little cake with a candle for dessert.)

However, we chose Vine because of its description on the St. Regis Doha website, and it didn't really meet our expectations, ie, to quote: "The Vine concept takes inspiration from the heart of California’s Napa Valley, where an eclectic mix of wonderful restaurants gives a new take on cuisine from all around the world. At Vine, as in the Napa Valley, the virtues of traditional Mediterranean-style recipes are enhanced by the flavors and textures of organic, artisan produce grown especially for The St. Regis Doha....Superb wine is, of course, a vital ingredient in the Vine experience and several of the wines on our list spring from the Peju Vineyards, some of the best terroir for wine grapes in the whole of the Napa Valley..." etc. etc. etc.

The wine list was disappointing and expensive, given that we were expecting a more extensive selection of Napa Valley wines; and unless I missed something, there was no mention of Peju Vineyards. I ended up choosing a Chilean Carmenere (+/- USD 18/glass) and my husband had a La Crema Pino Noir (+/- USD 30/glass).

The food was "ok", but not exceptional or particularly unique. I started with mushroom cappuccino (pretty standard fare at many restaurants), and my husband had a scallop and shrimp appetizer (fresh, and good quality). For mains, we chose lamp cutlets (+/- USD 42) and the pan-seared Angus beef (+/- USD 70). Again, nothing really special, particularly considering the price.

The bill for the evening was more than USD 200. Am I being unreasonable in thinking that is a lot to pay for a meal which included only one glass of wine each and dessert was free?

The restaurant is very big (probably to accommodate a large Friday brunch crowd). There were only a couple of other tables occupied when we were there, however, and it felt a bit cavernous and austere. We had a nice table near the windows with a nighttime bayside/skyline view. The background music was quiet, classy jazz.

We'll go back to the St. Regis Doha to try some of their other restaurants (such as the just-opened Astor Grill and the more established Gordon Ramsey), but I don't think we'll eat at Vine again.

Compliments on the service, but disappointing otherwise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Model of Personal Service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We returned for our second brunch, with very discerning diners. This place is just the best; great atmosphere, setting, variety and quality of food, along with 1st class presentation. But what stands out is the service; we have had memorable brunches each visit, thanks to Milan and Altouz as our waiters; nothing is too much trouble, with sangrias blended to personal taste. The waiters are attentive, patient and welcoming in a way that is second to none. The Executive Chef, Brendan McGowan personally served appetizers to the table and was eager for feedback on our experience. Zlatko continued to serve all sorts of delights to our table; we barely had to glance at the buffets. These guys really care about your dining experience and knock themselves out to deliver the best hospitality. We already feel like family....Can't wait to visit the newly opened Astor Grill, which promises to deliver the same attention to detail, as well as the Lincoln Jazz Centre, which I've been told opens on September 24th. The St Regis sets itself apart from all other hotels with its consistency and generous hospitality. If you haven't been, what are you waiting for!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gnorris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing