We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the hotel, but the music is poor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Sewanee, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel, but the music is poor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2006

I stayed at Ritz Carlton for 10 days. The hotel's service is excellent, the hotel is really 5 star. The complain I have is their Internet connection charge is too,too much, it is 150 Qr for 2 hours, that is about $50 for 2 hours. In America, if you stay at a nice hotel, the internet connection is free!
The lounge music played by 3 European girls were very amateur. I wish they could hire some more professional musicians, play some more sophisticated music like good Jazz. Overall, I enjoyed my stay there. Pepople were very polite.

Helpful?
34 Thank Ren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    170
    55
    20
    16
See reviews for
99
135
42
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2005

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Doha immediately after Ramadan. From the moment we checked in we had the best service and attention. The room was beautiful with an excellent spacious bathroom and the room service excellent. Do not go to Doha if you want a wild time or an activity holiday.This hotel is the perfect place if you need to re-charge your batteries in gauranteed sunshine, good, attentive service and good food. We will definately always use this as a short break on our way to or from the far east. Read the guide books before you go so that those are likely to complain know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank heewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2005

We had a great time in the Ritz, from the quality of the room to the service at dinner. A special place to go. PS make sure you visit the town.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
36 Thank nalbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ritz for my birthday. We live in Doha so we frequent the Ritz regularly. The room was very comfortable and the bed to die for with the feather mattress and down duvet. The service we received was amazing we had dinner at La mer which was one of the most delicious dining experiences I've ever experienced. The food presentation was gorgeous and the wait staff amazing. We had drinks downstairs at Habaneros where the Gin martini is the best I've ever tasted, even my husband who hates Gin was ordering them!! The snacks serviced while sipping your beverage are scrumptious. If you are in the mood for Italian the Porcini has a new head chef and the food has only gotten better because of his influence. The Ritz’s pool area far surpasses any of the other luxury hotels in the area. The wait staff at the pool does offer courteous service though it may be slow coming at times. And last but not least of the Ritz services the spa…oh how I love thee. I have gotten a couple different massages from the ladies at the spa. Both were exquisite the room temperate and music contribute to the ambiance of the massage room as well as the candles and aromatic oils. The overall effect is seductively soothing. The massage staff seems medically competent and well trained in their services. The wait room for the women is comfortable with sauna, steam room, and shower as well as a sitting area with reading material beverages and fruit provided. When my masseuse found out it was my birthday she brought me a large beautiful flower bouquet after my massage as a way of saying happy birthday from the spa staff. Overall our experience at the Ritz is great we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank kimeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2005

Stayed for 12 nights in 2004 An excellent hotel with first class facilities & restaurants ( even a cool night club / disco if you feel like dancing) Close to the golf course which is of championship quality. Service in hotel & standard of food etc 5 star (similar to Dubai 5 star). Excellent pool & general sports / spa areas & a classic cigar bar with a good range of whiskeys, brandys etc. We are in our mid thirtys & early forties & we had an good fun holiday - golf, sun excellent food & lively feel to hotel

Helpful?
42 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2004

I can only re-emphasise what has been written elsewhere, do not go to Qatar during Ramadam and expect Dubai levels of tolerance for Western tourists. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights from 3rd November 2004 and we were virtual prisoners.
Ritz-Carlton do not state on their web site the impact of Ramadam on visitors, so you don't expect to have the imposition of a) not being able to drink alcohol on holiday - unless in the confines of your bedroom, b) not being able to eat in public in daylight hours, c) the hotel's best restaurant and nightclub being closed. In fairness we ate at Porcini (the Italian restaurant) on two nights and the food and service was excellent, however where's the pleasure in a nice Italian meal without a glass of wine.
To top this, the head Sheikh of the United Arab Emirates died on our day of arrival and an official mourning period of three days was imposed with all music and entertainment in the hotel cancelled. I understand that there are cultural differences, but if Qatar wants to become a serious rival to Dubai then it cannot impose it's own rigorous culture on visitors.
One evening we decided to take a stroll around the Marina after dinner and we were confronted by hotel security who turned us back and told us that we should not be outside of the hotel after dark, due to increased security risk caused by the US Presidential election - we really were a captive audience.
This is not a fun, relaxing destination - no soul, no character, we were relieved to come home. We have been to the Ritz Carlton in Dubai and can thoroughly recommend it as first class Middle Eastern resort hotel, we won't be going back to Qatar!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
60 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2004

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from 22nd October 2004. We were due to stay for 5 nights but came home early because we were so bored.

The hotel itself is nice, clean and the staff were friendly but there is little to do outside the hotel. The problem we had was staying there during Ramadam. We really hadn't anticipated the restrictions that would be put upon us. Only 2 of the hotels' restaurants were open and all the others were closed because of Ramadam. In their place there was a Ramadam Tent in the courtyard which served a daily buffet from 8pm. Although we were told we were welcome to go along, we felt uneasy and out of place. We went to Porcini one night and had a nice Italian meal. The next night we went to The Lagoon for a Lebanese buffet which was horrible. The food was cold and the service was mediocre. The following night we had room service (that's how bad the dining choices were) and after that we'd had enough and changed our flights to go home a day early.

We had hoped to go on a couple of tours to get acquainted with the city but when we tried to book we were told none of the tours were running because of Ramadam. We were prisoners in the hotel! We did take taxi's to the City Centre Mall and the Landmark Mall and both were nice, although all the eating and drinking places were closed (you guessed it, Ramadam again...). When we were out and about we were looked at suspiciously and whilst no-one actually said anything, it was clear that we weren't welcome in the city. The customs officers at Doha airport were very rude.

If anyone is looking to go to Doha as an alternative to Dubai, don't bother. Doha is nothing like Dubai - the people aren't friendly and there is little to do. Doha is fast-growing and a lot of hotels are being built but I feel they are best-suited to business travellers rather than tourists. I felt particularly sorry for the Westerners staying at the hotel who had kids - the kids were bored stiff. I'm sure it would be different if it wasn't Ramadam but it's still not a fun place to go and definitely not for families.

All in all, the hotel itself was new, clean and nice but what it really lacked was atmosphere and character. The staff were friendly but not over-helpful. If you want to go to the Middle East for a wonderful holiday in a fantastic hotel give Doha a miss and go to The Royal Mirage Palace in Dubai.

Helpful?
53 Thank Jupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
3.5 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
2.0 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Doha

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Address: West Bay Lagoon | PO Box 23400, Doha 23400, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Doha
#10 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#13 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#17 Family Hotel in Doha
#19 Business Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyage to an exclusive island resort, nestled on the shores of the sparkling blue waters. Grand, yet inviting, The Ritz-Carlton, Doha is an exceptional Qatar hotel that combines extravagant elegance with the warmth of a traditional Arabian welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Doha Hotel Doha
Ritz Doha
Doha Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing