We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ritz? Really?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ritz? Really?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I thought the Ritz was supposed to be uber posh? I was left very unimpressed by the service at this hotel. The food was pretty unremarkable too, to be quite frank. The only pluses to this hotel is that they serve draft guinness from the tap, and their marina club, although pretty poor in service and food, has a nice view of the water and the yachts. Overall, it was very disappointing. I don't think I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadsoul1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    167
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
98
132
41
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

First and last time I would ever go to this horrible hotel. The food is terrible. The bar smells. We went to brunch and got extremely sick. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It's just very sad the place has the Ritz Carlton name. My wife used the spa and hated it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked a king room with "club access" online. Upon arrival, as a married couple, we were upgraded to an Amari suite. It was gorgeous and huge. But, as we discovered; access to the Club Level was not part of the deal (regardless of our reservation details). Apparently all rooms at that level had been sold to the Tour de Qatar and Women's Tennis Open clients. Asked twice to have this rectified; no one had the authorization to do so. So no Club Level benefits despite reservation status.

The Lagoon food service was absolutely atrocious. Expensive. Dried out. No flavor whatsover - they are trying to do too much and nothing well. And, as we sat to enjoy our mid-morning meal on Sunday, we were hurried away because "Family Time" was soon to begin. Tried again for a lunch at around 1 PM few days later only to discover that I was subject to a $180QR "buffet" charge. Very frustrating. And, again, the food was not even reasonably good.

As to our suite; three phone requests to get a few extra hangers. Two requests for a working coffee maker. Filthy (and I mean sticky filthy) kitchen floor. A/C unpredictable at best. Wifi completely unreliable. Dead spots all over. And, as reported by previous guests, you will have to sign in again and again. Front end staff not well versed in providing tourist information when needed. Cloying atmosphere that I found a major turnoff.

Saving graces? The catering staff that pulled off the meetings in conference rooms we needed to have be successful. That worked exceptionally well. The pool staff that always had a smile and bottles of chilled water to enjoy. The poolside lunches at Flamingo (especially the bartender who suggested his own blend of a coconut-based mojito) and the burgers/drinks at the Admiral's club. The Pilipino driver who has a birthday on 2.19 (personal conversation. He was super).

Finally, our Marriott points not applied to our account. Have filed a missing points report, but that shouldn't be a detail I should have to attend to?

When we go back I think we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrashoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

As a regular guest at The Ritz-Carlton Doha, I feel compelled to write about my most recent experiences while there? Something has gone wrong! Some time around September 2012, I began to notice a number of " little issues " First there was the food, not in keeping with today's healthy life styles. Nothing new that was plant based and imaginative on the menu. The gym, had too many "temporarily out of service" signs on equipment and " what oh what happened to the towels and bath robes in the spa?" I am a patient sort and was told theses matters were being addressed. It is now February and whenever I find myself in Doha, in the Ritz I encounter the same. The food and the service at the pool is unpredictable and generally poor. The facilities are tired and in need of repair and replacement. Shame on ritz Carlton!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MapleLeafontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent the worst days in my life. Not a day went by without a problem. The first morning I was jolted from my sleep, before 6 am, by banging noises from the cleaning crew. It took the hotel staff quite a while to fix this!
The WiFi didn't work in the room and they were not able to fix this problem. It worked only in the lobby. As soon as I moved somewhere else in the hotel I got disconnected. They couldn't fix this either.
The rooms were cleaned quite late and mosty after calling them. And then it wasn't done well. The towels were smelly.
The breakfast was boring and tasteless. The staff uncaring and unprofessional.
The hotel is far from most city atttractions and they don't provide a shuttle bus. Their drivers are not familiar with the places and I was dropped off at the wrong place.
When I requested a rental car they supplied me with the most unprofessional rental companies. After a long wait, the guy showed up with no official papers. On the day of returning the rental car the guy didn't show up even though we had arrranged for a specific timing. Our taxi to the airport was already at the hotel, and only when we expressed our dissatisfaction did the hotel intervene. Their argument was that they are not responsible for the rental company even though they provide them.
In short, this hotel is a disaster. The entire staff is unfriendly; in the lobby, reception, concierge and even management. I couldn't w

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Concerned_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited Doha in January, 2013, and went to this hotel for a meeting in the lobby, loved the place, very luxurious, service is great, and it is too big, so you will not be bothered by other people talking. so you can have a nice business meeting there,
I liked it so much, so went there again in the evening, as I am one of those, a smoker, and had a cigar. It is still allowed to smoke in hotel lobbies in Doha, so enjoy it while it lasts.
Sorry but can't comment on the rooms as I didn't sleep there this time, but was staying in a furnished apartment building.

Room Tip: I heard that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was invited of a family friend for this christmas tree lighting night. I was empressed with the christmasdecor all over the hotel especially in a lobby. Food was so excellent! Thumbs Up!
Hotel Staff was so helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliss E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
3.6 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
3.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
2.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
1.1 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Doha

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Address: West Bay Lagoon | PO Box 23400, Doha 23400, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Doha
#12 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#14 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#17 Family Hotel in Doha
#19 Business Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyage to an exclusive island resort, nestled on the shores of the sparkling blue waters. Grand, yet inviting, The Ritz-Carlton, Doha is an exceptional Qatar hotel that combines extravagant elegance with the warmth of a traditional Arabian welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Doha Hotel Doha
Ritz Doha
Doha Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing