We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below expectations/ disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Below expectations/ disappointing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When you say Movenpick, usually you expect much from an hotel. After visiting this hotel during a business trip, I can simple describe the experience as disappointing. Old building, needs severe maintenance, average rooms, poor service, very small lobby - caused trouble in meeting people, so we had to use another place for that. While the disaster of all is the laundry, which is done outside the hotel and needs two days to be given back. I left Qatar without most of my clothes which are still in the hotel waiting my next trip to Doha!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback and please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. As we take all our guest feedback very seriously, we tried to locate your bookings through the details in your profile, however we were unable to do so. Kindly send us the details of your stay on hotel.doha@moevenpick.com.

As with regards to the laundry, kindly note that it is not an unusual practise in many hotels for the laundry to be done off premises. Furthermore, the terms for pick up and delivery are listed on the laundry form as follows: "Laundry received before 10 am will be returned after 6 pm. Laundry received after 10 am will be returned the next day".

We hope to hear from you and welcome you back on your next visit to Qatar.

Best regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    299
    88
    23
    19
See reviews for
101
82
86
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel, I am assuming it is a bit older than many as it was relatively small and of an older design. But the decor was fresh and quite acceptable. beds comfy.the service was impeccable, friendly and helpful. Everyone smiled, said hello, and bent over backwards to help.
I booked well in advance so got a pretty good room rate for three nights.
The breakfast was generous, with plenty of variety - the croissants were as good or better than any I have had in Paris or Europe.
Easy walking distance to the Corniche, the Islamic Museum and the Souk Watif
The pool is relatively small, but unless your into swimming laps it was perfect at the end of a hot day, Jacuzzi was relaxing
Free wi- Fi, very reasonably priced transfers to the airport were all a nice bonus

Room Tip: There are two floors for non smokers, and I didn't get a whiff of smoke in my room. I was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96fuad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon for more ice cream and croissants.

Best regards,

Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just stayed for an overnight visit, but still felt all the care and detail. Doha is a busy city, so do expect some construction work. If preferred, you may still walk up to the corniche to have the grand view. Also, don't miss the museum of Islamic art nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments and favourable review. I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you visit us again for an extended visit to truly discover Qatar.

Best regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is small and quiet. The service level is very good, staff really helpful. Bathroom wasn't super clean, I had to tell them about it twice. Gym is ok but not a wide choice of machine and pool is also small.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visioncoach001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback, we are happy to learn that you have found our team and service to your liking. Please accept my apologizes for the inconvenience you have encountered with Housekeeping. With regards to the gym I am pleased to inform you that we will be replacing the machines in the near future.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Real bad experience not expected from movenpick brand in GCC! Construction all around and bad toilette smell during night , which might be from near by corniche but!!!!!
Poor meeting rooms and louzy bar

Room Tip: Better to go for 2 stars hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmadin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback.

We are sorry to hear you have encountered some issues and we would like to investigative the matter further, please send us more details about your stay as we were unable to locate your booking through the information provided. Kindly email to: hotel.doha@moevenpick.com

Thank you and regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I literally had 8 hours between flights for a meeting and my pa picked this place. It's 10 mins from the airport but on the Corniche (sea wall walk) so I was still able to squeeze in an hour of wandering about before my meeting in their business suite (which they kindly offered gratis). Great location, kind people and just what I needed. Enough said!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not a bad hotel really, but location is terrible.......subject to aircraft noise, as it is right by the flight path out of Doha Airport (the 'old' one) and the airport is busiest at night, and then there is building work going on all around too, some of this goes on through the night too, as I observed from my hotel bedroom (room 402). Additionally, there is the traffic noise from the Corniche, so all in all not good if you are a light sleeper like me :(
Food in the restaurant is OK - a la carte menu is limited, and needs a bit of variety, especially if you are staying long term (I was there for 6 weeks)...similarly,the themed nights are good but expensive, the choice of food is good on each night, but it's exactly the same each subsequent weeknight. Again, needs some more variety please.
Rooms are comfortable..just a shame about the noise which stops you sleeping. And beware of the mosque on the Corniche side..I think first prayers in the summer are about 0320 (it was around 0500 when I stayed there in February)

Room Tip: Try and get a quiet room away from the Corniche, flight path and mosque id you want some peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick D, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Doha, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback.

The hotel enjoys a strategic location in the heart of the thriving city of Doha and there has been some recent construction work in the vicinity of the hotel however, I am happy to report that the construction has now been completed. We have also taking note of your comments concerning the food and beverage services.

We hope you will welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Fabien Chesnais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
2.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.1 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#42 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#12 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraser Suites Doha
Fraser Suites Doha
#45 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Doha

Property: Movenpick Hotel Doha
Address: Corniche Road, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Doha
#27 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true essence of Qatar at the Mövenpick Hotel Doha. Boasting a unique location in the heart of the city, centrally located on the Corniche road, only three Kilometres from the Doha International Airport as well as the city’s business district and touristic attractions. The spacious newly renovated 154 rooms and suites are fitted with the highest standards of comfort, while showcasing mesmerizing views of the city skyline and the Corniche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doha Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing