We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location & View but old rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed there for one night the location is really smart very close to the business offices and the shopping mal (city center) facilities are good a huge swimming pool and jacuzi but rooms are really old and need renovation ** urgent **
Service and staff are too good, prices are acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Peter E,

thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. I truly appreciate you took the time to let us know about your experience and we are very happy to hear that it was overall a good one. You will be pleased to know that we are planning a major hotel renovation in 2014 and that the rooms, public areas and our resort will all be changed. Please let me know if you would like to receive updates on these renovation plans. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a Club Room, was a very nice room, full view of the sea. Quite sure I seen a shark in the lagoon area.The club room facilities were very good aswell, Came with breakfast, and snacks throughout the day and evening, free happy hour between 6pm and 8pm.

The only downside was that room service brought us a lovely cake on our second day, we didnt eat it, so I covered it over to keep it from going dry. We popped out for a couple of hours, and room service had taken it away, was quite annoyed to be honest.

We never used the pool as its too warm now, we both are not sun worshippers, we dined in two of the restaurants, will make separate reviews on them.

A very pleasant stay.

Only negative point, the pillows were uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was 651, complete sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindylouDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear SindylouDubai,

thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and belated congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! I am very sorry that we misunderstood your covering up the cake and removed it from your room – I will review our internal procedures to ensure that such a mishap does not recur again in the future. I have also noticed that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us and since you are not staying too far away from us, perhaps you are planning another visit to Doha – if you do, please let me know and we will make amends for the cake! We look forward to welcome you back and I hope that I can meet you personally then! Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

one of the best hotels in Doha. if you are looking for luxury this is the place to be in Doha. Its almost royal.

The staff is extremely friendly. The service is excellent. They had complementary shoe shine service which was great.

The room is huge with two flat screen TVs. I had a sea facing room on 4th floor and it was breathtaking, especially in the morning. Wifi in the room is free for the first 4 hours but the lobby had free at all times.

The breakfast has a huge variety. It had almost everything you can imagine at a breakfast buffet.

I will definitely come back and highly recommend to stay atleast once.

Getting a taxi can be a challenge, but I faced this problem everywhere in the city. Book your cab in advance or rent a car.

Room Tip: Get a ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear jzeb,

thank you for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! Wonderful to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services at our hotel matched your expectations and that you are planning to return to our hotel soon – we look very much forward to having you stay with us again and I do hope that we will have an opportunity to meet personally. Until then I remain with best regards,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As we enter our room, we were amazed by the design. The room has a living room connected with a few steps then balcony. From the balcony, you can see a lot of trees, you can also see the blue sea with a breath of fresh air.

We ordered fresh coconut juice near the sea, so relaxing. The staff were all friendly, and the place is so clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaI4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Marial4u,

thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am happy that you enjoyed the design of our room and that the views from your balcony were exceeding your expectations. I agree that the design of our rooms, with the two levels of living space, is very unique and makes our rooms very special and comfortable. Coupled with the beautiful views onto the private hotel gardens and the sea surrounding our hotel, we are indeed fortunate to have the best location in Doha. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Please be wary of the The Harp Irish Bar downstairs, there is a criminal ring frequenting the place who will steal your bag, and as a victim of this crime, it is apparently a frequent occurrence. What makes matters worse is that you will need your passport to get into the bar, which is a Doha regulation, so everything will be stolen.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Aureliakeziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear ruthbuckley,

thank you very much for your review of our Irish Harp on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn that your bag was taken during your visit to the Irish Harp and of course, I can well imagine the inconvenience you must have endured because the loss of your bag. However, your assumption that a “criminal ring” is operating at the Irish Harp and that occurrences of this nature are frequent is incorrect. We have, as a matter of fact, security personnel inside the Irish Harp and given the popularity of the venue and the high number of patrons who visit the Irish Harp on a daily basis, it is unfortunate to learn that one of our patrons may have used an opportunity to fetch your belongings when they were unattended. Again, I am sorry that such an incident occurred at our hotel and you have my assurance that we will review your complaint and our security measures at this particular venue.

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were told about the Friday buffet and tried it for ourselves and it turned out to be better than we thought. A very good selection of foods for all tastes and the freshness was good in that they kept replenishing the plates. Very good.

Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in Sheraton Doha with my wife for our wedding anniversary. Check in process was fast and front desk was really helpful. During reservation i told the guy about our anniversary and to Our surprise room was decorated with fresh rose petals, bouquet of fresh flowers and a cake for our wedding anniversary & most importantly it was from hotel not on our pocket. So its really a personal touch from Sheraton and i would like to thank you for this.
Regarding our room , we were in Junior Suite and it is fantastic, very roomy, nice furniture, spotlessly clean and views from the rooms were incredible. Club lounge access is free for junior suite occupant. Room service was efficient and food served in the room was nice.
Nice swimming pool, beach area and garden.
I will definitely coming back to Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0ve-t0-TravL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDohaManager, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Love-t0-Travl,

thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to learn that we were able to make your wedding anniversary special and that your wife and you enjoyed your special day with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon again and if there is anything I can do to assist you in the meantime, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.8 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 137 in Doha
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 137 in Doha
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
4.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel

Address: Al Corniche Street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#5 Spa Hotel in Doha
#8 Business Hotel in Doha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#8 Romantic Hotel in Doha
Price Range: $183 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel stands majestically amidst 70 acres of landscaped gardens. Our five-star Doha hotel is just a few minutes drive from the lively city center where the cultural heritage and modern lifestyle meet. Well-known throughout the Middle East as the "Pyramid of the Gulf," our comfortable hotel offers excellent service - from a wide range of meetings rooms with state-of-the-art facilities to restaurants with an array of sumptuous cuisine, and bars which are frequently visited by business travelers and young professionals. We can arrange airport pickup from one of our vehicles and also entry visitor's visas prior to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Doha Hotel Doha
Sheraton Doha Resort And Convention Hotel
Doha Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing