We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but.... beware.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel but.... beware.”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Well located hotel. Rooms and lobby tastefully decorated. Nice beach.
The swimming pool, sauna, showers and loockers in the changin area are very old. Needs a total renovation.
The staff at the entrance of the hotel is not at all friendly or helpful.
Beware with the free shuttle to the city center and the souk. Is three times a day for free, but I'll charge you saying you've used a taxi-prestige.
The day of check-out, almost lost the flight because the staff of the hotel entrance does not call by phone to a taxi-meter to force you take a taxi-limousine from the hotel.
I had to go 200 meters outside the hotel and catch a taxi-meter myself.
The Club-lounge staff is very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us!

Please accept our apologizes for the unfortunate incident with our doorman as it certainly not indicative of the fine quality of service we are known for and try to maintain. Our vehicles are always available to take you to City Centre Mall at any time complimentary. We are certainly investigating to see why this did not happen when you requested this service.

I also wish to inform you that our entire 75 acres of landscape gardens will be going under renovations in a few months. We certainly recognized the need to upgrade this area and we are pleased that it will be happening very soon. The Sheraton Doha has been the premier property in Doha with the best location for years and we will soon be there again after our renovation.

Please let me know if you travels return you to Doha so that I can provide to you my personal attention for your reservation.

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    249
    85
    30
    35
See reviews for
133
161
77
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I returned to the Sheraton Doha after about 3 years and stayed on the Executive floor. The hotel is planning a refurbishment and the addition of another pool. The interior of the hotel was as good as it has always been but the current pool area is tired. The hotel could benefit from telling you what the executive room includes, rather than make it up as they go and then get into a debate when checking out. There is no wireless Internet in the room - you connect by cable and pay. Wireless is free in the rest of the hotel. The rooms are lovely and I like the step down area with seating and desk. The room is well set up for working. It was too hot to use the balcony but would be lovely and private in cooler months. I also like the big window which gives light while protecting your privacy. The hotel is well located for doing business in Doha

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBoultbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again!

Yes, it is an exciting time for the Sheraton Doha as it plans to renovate its 75 acre landscape garden beginning in late 2011 and finishing up in late 2012. In addition, wireless in all guest rooms will also soon be available by the end of the year. We are listening!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback and returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha! You Belong at Sheraton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is unique - it functions brilliantly in all aspects and is a total pleasure to stay at. Home from home - Bryson Nelson

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brydon_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Mr. Nelson,

Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback and returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!

You Belong at Sheraton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you spend a day on the beach, you will feel that yoiu are in heavens.
The exotic see view, the three different beach locations arranged for guests will give you wide variety. Whether you want to swim, sun tan, or read and neditate looking at the gulf sea. All is there in Sheraton Doha.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanoushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us in September and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly welcome your comments in order that we can continually improve each day.

Have you heard of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program (SPG)? You should consider becoming a member as it is especially beneficial for future stays at Starwood Hotels Worldwide!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback. Our hotel does its best to provide a social place for people to come together and share both business and leisure experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

When you look to the north, south, east and west and there is water all around you, I consider this a great hotel. The Sheraton in Doha has earned its repuation as best hotel
by the Brits for several years in a row and I certainly would give it this rating. Built by an
Indian architect, the pyramid shaped hotel has spectacular views of the waterfront and
cityscape. The rooms are large, clean and the beds are comfortable with soft clean linen.
There is no mini bar but an alcholohic beverage can be delivered to the room. Outside
in a well palmed tree garden are a bar, small jogging area and play area for the kids. The
beach has one formal outside restaurant as well as table service by all deck chairs. Even
though the city is opposite hotel, the waterfront dispells the traffic. Very friendly staff
with an international tourist atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HofCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Have you heard of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program? You should consider becoming a member as it is especially beneficial for future stays at Starwood Hotels Worldwide!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Sheraton in Doha is conveniently located for business and not too far from the very interesting shopping mall that is the replica of Bellagio in Las Vegas. The rooms are modest sized and well appointed though details like very expensive water and snacks in the refrigerator as well as the charge for internet make me feel like it is something of a shakedown. I recognize this is a standard at many hotels, so take it with a grain of salt.
That being said, the breakfast buffet is phenomenal. It is loaded with the famous grains and nuts of the middle east as well as a selection of meats and other items. The cost is a bit high, so if you are a light eater you may want to grab a bite elsewhere, but if you are a big breakfast person, don't miss it. All in all, I will likely be staying here again as the value and location and quality are the best combination I have found there thus far. If you are staying for an extended period or traveling a great distance as I was, you will find the convenience of the spa next door very nice. I had a wonderful massage, steam bath, and a light workout at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsorww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Have you heard of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program? You should be a member as it is especially beneficial for future stays at Starwood Hotels Worldwide!

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Sheraton Doha was a very welcoming hotel. At check in you are greeted by friendly staff and served refreshing cool drinks.(much needed in August heat) Balcony room over looking the water was amazing to wake up to every morning and the bed slept wonderfully especially after 26 hour flight. Wi-fi and internet service in room is pricey 80 QAR for 24hrs (roughly 20USD). There is a free access business center in the lobby. Breakfast and lunch buffet served in restaurant was very good. Came in handy for a stay during Ramadan. Iftar meal in the evening was also nice. Take advantage of the massage! for guest the price is 120-130 QAR for a number of 90 minute services. Laundry service was a bit overpriced as they charge by the piece. Adds up over a week stay. All and all had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skalczynski, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us in March and your kind comments about the Sheraton Doha Resort & Convention Hotel! I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us!

We truly welcome your comments in order that we can continually improve each day.

Regarding your comments on the cost of internet, all of our public areas are wireless and complimentary . We are in the process of evaluating this benefit in 2012 for our Starwood Preferred Guests (SPG).

On behalf of all of our associates, I thank you again for your feedback. Our hotel does its best to provide a social place for people to come together and share experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.8 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
2.2 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 135 in Doha
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
0.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,776 reviews
6.7 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel
Address: Al Corniche Street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Spa Hotel in Doha
#8 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#8 Business Hotel in Doha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel stands majestically amidst 70 acres of landscaped gardens. Our five-star Doha hotel is just a few minutes drive from the lively city center where the cultural heritage and modern lifestyle meet. Well-known throughout the Middle East as the "Pyramid of the Gulf," our comfortable hotel offers excellent service - from a wide range of meetings rooms with state-of-the-art facilities to restaurants with an array of sumptuous cuisine, and bars which are frequently visited by business travelers and young professionals. We can arrange airport pickup from one of our vehicles and also entry visitor's visas prior to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Doha Resort And Convention Hotel
Sheraton Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing