We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doha Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The grand rooms were definitely worth the stay there but what really caught my fancy were the scrumptious buffets...

The choicest of meditarranean fruits, pastas like never before and youghurts that were to die for...

The bathrooms were a pleasure and had i not gone on a business trip I think I might have spent more time in the shower than anywhere else...

Doha was beautiful, but I think I was happiest when I was in my hotel room...

Definitely a no brainer - should stay here when in Doha...

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MumbaiFreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Doha Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 780 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

I generally liked it. I had trouble with their noisy room which they changed it for me. Also their swimming pool was not working whih was not mentioned on their website as far as I saw.

Other than that everything was fine. Location is kind of far from downtown but close to airport.

Not sure if their regular price is worth it but I enjoyed the hotel overall.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodolympian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Good hotel near the Doha Airport. Excellent facilities. Good choice of restaurants ... the Sushi Bar was great. They have a fantastic brunch on weekends for QR 225.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SantoshVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

A good hotel with nice rooms and very close to the airport. The only negative comments I have are with the restaurant charging an unbelievable high price for a mediocre lunch buffet, and the fact you can not get a city taxi. The hotel wants you to spend double for using its fleet of hotel cars. At the very least, you can walk up to the roundabout and flag down a city cab. Very uncomfortable in 40C – 50C weather!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pharo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights on Marriott Rewards and in that sense, it is a bargain, due to the (strange) fact that the hotel is in a rather low rewards category, thus you get good value for your points.

As others have pointed out, the hotel is in a awkward location for visiting the main tourist areas of Doha - adding to this; there was (are) major road and land construction around the hotel, so the hotel is a bit "cut off" from circling traffic and thus taxis are not circling the area. We did not have any problems getting taxis around Doha, but only at the Marriott this seemed to be a problem. The staff will constantly try to get you to use their limo service (very expensive) and seem reluctant to get a taxi for you.

Stand firm and they will call individual taxi drivers and bypass the dispatch service. When you find a good taxi, get the drivers phone number (tip him generously) and call him 20-25 minutes in advance and you will get a taxi.

The hotel is close to the airport and almost in line of the runway, but we did not find this to be a major problem, our room was completely sound prof, but on the "beach" you will hear them, but not a problem for us.

The hotel is actually very nice, clean, comfortable and seems like a very visited spot for local expats etc.. There is no "wow" factor to the hotel (like the W or Four Seasons) - it is a bit dated but still elegant - rooms are very large, clean and excellent housekeeping / turn down service etc..

The "beach" area however is a joke, it is in the marina area (literally) and looks very tired and scruffy. Beach is dirty, lounge chairs are old and uncomfortable, and there seems to have been some outlets that are closed down, this is adding to the general "ghost town" feel of the area. Although not a very picturesque setting; a bit of cleaning, paint, arabic decor and some new lounge chars and umbrellas could do wonders.

The pool was opened the last day we where there, still with construction going on, it looks nice - but why anyone would choose a simple square pool instead of some fancy free form pool in different levels is a mystery.

The restaurant alley is a nice touch, good selection, friendly staff, good food an nice ambiance, especially the tex-mex is very good, huge portions and good value - breakfast was excellent and fast service.

Although this is not a leisure / resort hotel, we enjoyed staying at the Marriott, and did not find the location / lack of taxis to be a major problem, but would probably choose a hotel closer to the corniche next time.

Make sure to visit the Museum of Islamic Art when in Doha.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Excellent stay. The guests can feel proud to be with amongst celebrities from around the globe.

Very very clean surrounding and co-operative staff. Though the rates are a bit on higher side the stay is very memorable.

Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
Thank Trivedi-KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

The Marriott is a 10 min drive from the airport and 20 mins from the business district but at times the proximity to the airport can be a pain as its located close to the flight path. There is nothing around the hotel (in terms of local restaurants, grocery stores etc) but the hotel more than compensates with its 5 restaurants. The food, especially Indian is great but can be pricey. The other facilities - business centre, pool, gym etc are excellent. Would keep away from the MAriott if visiting on holiday but a decent business hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#12 of 136 in Doha
2,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
3.4 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#24 of 136 in Doha
1,851 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doha Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doha Marriott Hotel

Address: Ras Abou Aboud Street | Building 2, Street 920, Zone 28, P.O. Box, Doha 1191, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Doha
#27 Business Hotel in Doha
#33 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: $118 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Doha Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes away from Hamand International Airport, on the business area's beach motif, the Doha Marriott Hotel offers impeccably appointed rooms and suites of the utmost elegance. Business and leisure travelers appreciate your room and executive's rooms spacious work area with enhanced amenities, along with a full service spa and onsite restaurants. Our hotel also boasts a private beach, allowing you to enjoy the beauty of the Gulf Bay in total tranquility while inviting travelers to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doha Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Doha
Doha Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing