We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again with some preservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doha Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
LEBANON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“would stay again with some preservations”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

liked the mariott but as said in other reviews it' too close to the airport which may have some advantages and disadvantages,planes taking off is hell any time of the day,also you feel far from everywhere in the city ...it's like ur dead or something.
the good part however is that everyone is nice here althaugh almost everyone is from asian ethnic background,and you's feel strange being an arab speaking person in a arab country...almost felt like i was in china.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAINTIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    275
    145
    33
    29
See reviews for
120
95
85
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Stayed 10 nights at Marriott Doha November 2008 and enjoyed my stay. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. With access to the executive lounge for breakfast and at night, it was great having a place to meet colleagues. The food was excellent. The view of Doha bay is amazing from the 7th floor terrace.

The hotel is very close to the airport and may cause some noise. It feels a little far away from the city, but as you need a car or taxi to move around any place in Doha it really doesn't matter. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My first impression was good -- friendly staff, effieient service, marble-clad lobby, comfortable room with soft pillow and heavenly mattress. However my sleep was hell. Being located half a mile from the airport runway, I was woken up at least 5 times by planes taking off in the middle of the night. My 7th floor room offered a great city and sea views but unfortunately the hotel generator on the ground floor (above the gym) also generated loud whirring noise throughtout the night causing much disturbance.

Food was expensive here -- I guess this applies to all 5 star hotels in the Middle East due to high cost of living. A hamburger, a clubsandwich, a beer and water cost £40. Dinner with spring rolls, lemon chicken, steamed veg and rice cost £80. Despite the price, food quality was mediocre -- my beefburger was tasteless, fried rice overdone, chicken tired and coffee lukewarm -- a very disappointing dining experience.

The beach was small, directly facing the mariner with polluted water (I have not seen anyone swim here). The spa was of average standard as expected of a business hotel -- no wow factor here. The whirlpool was big enough to accommodate only 2 persons, Turkish bath not functioning. Massage treatments quite good though.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Overall place is very nice and staff are welcoming. Definetly not a 5 star. Rooms large - 2 towers and one has wireless, other wired and each can use wireless in public areas. Location great for airport but not for town - Doha poor for taxis, way too far to walk in, and hotel limos crazy expensive. Food servings are huge but should be as prices are just way too high - $10 coffee, $25 burger, $100 steak - come on guys, why the rip off. With some effort get the cab, go to Souq Waqif restaurant alley, have great meal and sights and come home. Much better. Pool out till April on mega reno but looks very big. Has mini-beach. If you do eat here the Mex restaurant is good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights the end of February. Would not describe this hotel as "luxurious" or 5 star. Communication prior to arrival was definitely lacking. Had used Marriott's virtual concierge to request airport transportation and tour information. Never received a reply. Called hotel directly, given an email address to "at your service." Received a reply asking me to confirm my reservation before any airport/tour information could be provided. (all information including conf.# was included in my email request) Sent information again, never received a reply. This property had now received 3 requests. Upon arrival in DOH after a 14 hr. flt, , no transportation had been arranged. Marriott desk in airport was able to accomodate us and got us a driver ($22 USD). The drive was barely 5 minutes. Hotel was not located in city center as stated on website. We could almost see faces of passengers looking out windows onboard taxiing aircraft, that's how close we were to the airport. Checkin was fine. One room was located in Executive tower, other in "normal" tower. Executive room was newly renovated, flat screen tv, nice shower, but had a strong mildew smell which housekeeping could not rid. Smell was pervasive throughout. Minimal amenities. Normal room was larger but definitely showing age. Executive lounge has great offerings for breakfast, made to order eggs, etc. Complimentary evening happy hour (not unlimited however, as guests in the next table were presented a very large bill) had great hors d'oevres, with 3 hot dishes, cheese crackers, dips, desserts. No complimentary internet, even in the lounge. ($30 USD charge for 24 hours). No complimentary laundry/pressing as most International executive level privileges entail. Room housekeeping was sporadic. Some days rooms thoroughly cleaned, other days not - trash not always emptied, towels not always replaced, not always turn down service. Pool was still under construction as was the road to the hotel, making it impossible to walk the Corniche. Regency Tours in lobby is a scam.. They will tell you all tours need minimum 3 persons, and no one else registered (in all of Doha) and that you will have to pay for the 3rd person. Very expensive. North Qatar tour was a waste, not very informative, and basically a drive through. Taxis to downtown area were not readily available. Hotel will tell you they have own transportation for 80 riyals (22 USD). After some insistence, they did call us a taxi which arrived after 30 minutes (only 16 riyals including 4 riyal hotel collection charge). Staff was friendly and we were always addressed by surname throughout our stay, always remembered .guests from each interaction. Okay property but hardly 5 stars as they claim. Still trying to resolve a billing problem. For whatever reason, hotel thinks I am still there and unbeknownst to me have modified my reservation to reflect 4 additional nights (even after I have checked out as per my booking and am back in my country). I discovered this while on Marriott's website which showed a stay in progress in my profile. Marriott customer care is trying to rectify this.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The hotel was absolutely wonderful, very clean and luxurious, staff were superb, always smiling and extremely helpful. They really made me feel at home. Amenities in room very extensive and of high quality. Only one slight problem, the room service food items are way too expensive 22$ for a burger! Regardless of which, i would definitely stay here again on my next visit. Good job Mariott.

  • Liked — The high level of luxury
  • Disliked — Overpriced food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moustafa_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed 12 days at the Marriott Doha in December 2008. Very nice and clean hotel. Helpful and polite staff. Good food, but somewhat expensive. 64 Riyals (22$ for a burger) is too much! Not to mention the Friday brunch at 278 Riyals...

The hotel is located near the airport, so expect some airplane noise as the airport never closes. Personnaly, I got used to it, but you should bring earplugs if this is a problem for you. Also, they are building a new airport in Doha that will open around 2011 so there is a lot of construction on the roads around the hotel.

There is a private beach, though the pool was closed for repairs during my stay. The main attractions in Doha are the Corniche and the markets, which are not within walking distance. Only 5-10 minutes drive tough.

I would recommend this hotel. But if you want a better location, look at the Sheraton or Movenpick. And remember, everything is under construction in Doha these days!

  • Liked — Nice clean hotel, good service
  • Disliked — Location, slow internet in rooms (that you have to pay 30$/day for)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank branvan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#11 of 135 in Doha
2,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
3.4 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#26 of 135 in Doha
775 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 135 in Doha
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doha Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doha Marriott Hotel

Property: Doha Marriott Hotel
Address: Ras Abou Aboud Street | Building 2, Street 920, Zone 28, P.O. Box, Doha 1191, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Doha
#27 Business Hotel in Doha
#31 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doha Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes away from Hamand International Airport, on the business area's beach motif, the Doha Marriott Hotel offers impeccably appointed rooms and suites of the utmost elegance. Business and leisure travelers appreciate your room and executive's rooms spacious work area with enhanced amenities, along with a full service spa and onsite restaurants. Our hotel also boasts a private beach, allowing you to enjoy the beauty of the Gulf Bay in total tranquility while inviting travelers to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doha Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Doha
Doha Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing