We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doha Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I would like to make people aware if booking the a room at the excecutive club that unlike the standard rooms and although you are paying premium rates , that there is no bathtub only shower,

During the ramadan. the services and facilites on the excecutive floor are very limited.No alcohol is served and even in the evening cocktail they only serve you one free single alcoholic drink.

Yours truly
JJB.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    275
    145
    33
    29
See reviews for
120
95
85
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pichincha, Quito
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Fortunately enough I did not have to pay for this marvelous hotel, but if I had to I would of certainly would have. Amazing since the moment you first check in, the Marriott Doha welcomes you with attention to detail and exquisite comfort.

After traveling about 48 hours 36 of which sitting on a plane, my jetlag zombie self cried out in excitement as I saw the bed. My God, what a bed, it was simply wonderful. Comfy, puffy, soft, lovely, silk and satin sheets, I was in heaven.

The usual cookie, caramel, at night next to an equal comfy pillow, and a huge plasma TV with free cable. You have to pay for your wireless, I didn't use it much but a friend had some issues.

On the other hand the view wasn't as great as the room, but the bay and pool made up for it. Beautiful bay, with a private beach, with cristalline shores.

The food was great, the buffet in mornings had more than enough, great beverages and others. I had fun. The staff was friendly in all manners, when we requested something about the internet they did not fail to arrive countless times.

Truly amazing service, luxury, Orchids as roses and the feeling of actually meeting another culture inside the hotel.

Avoid the tourist souvenir shop, the salesman was freaky, and overly expensive, you can get better prices at the souk (market). Great hotel

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the charge for the wireless
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nenagrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

I'm in room 839 right now as I write this review. It seems there are mixed reviews about the Marriott in Doha, with the more carefully written reviews being more positive. While I'm the first in line to criticize any hotel that doesn't fair well, I'm hard pressed to find fault with the Doha Marriott... it's simply stunning here.
The atmosphere is extremely welcoming, the upkeep of the facilities is first class.... to the point that even the gym is a first class gym - a often claimed, rarely delivered on promise for hotels.
The rooms are spacious, thoughtfully arranged and comfortable. You can, as I have, use your room as a surrogate office. The views from the upper floors are great.

I noticed one of the reviewers complaining about the Internet speed... well I'm writing this review using the Marriott's Internet connection right now and can attest to how excellent the connection is... it's better and faster than any other hotel I've visited in the GCC region, and doesn't attempt to monitor, shape or block any particular traffic.

The food and restaurants are all good... none of them will knock your socks off, but they're also pretty hard to fault. The Salsa cafe has live Mexican music in the evenings - delivered tastefully enough to be agreeable even for us fuss-pots who don't like Mexican song.

Good rooms, Good vibe, Impeccable service.
By my book, this place is a winner!

PS:- There are two wings to the Marriott Doha. I’m in the newer one, and can’t vouch for the older wing.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maranite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

This is a pretty standard hotel if you're in Doha on hotel - the pool is nice and the gym reasonably well equiped.

Rooms are of a good nice (typically with two double beds), although the bathroom was a bit of disappointment as there's no bath, only a shower.

The hotel also has an executive club on the top floor and one of Doha's nightclubs (the only one?!) tucked away at the back.

On the whole, the Marriott is a comfortable place to stay and avoids the excessive and wasteful oppulence of other similar hotels in Doha.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Stayed here on biz in november for 8 days. The hotel is really close to the airport but far from the center - and by far I mean time wise especially with all the crazy traffic congestion.

The hotel has a gorgeous lobby. The rooms are very well appointed and I loved the bathroom.

Problems for me were

* finding parking for my rental. Sometimes the que for valet parking was long...
* expired key card - twice
* expensive in-room internet connection (did not try wireless in lobby)
* expensive breakfast buffet $33USD!!!
* distance to the various traffic rings and traffic congestion. I think staying at the ramada would cut 15minutes of my daily commute to work.
* useless business service receptionist - I needed to make an airline ticket change and asked her for her help. Ended up going to my office and doing it my self online....

  • Liked — quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — distance to city center, problems with keys, high cost
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ViDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We have been staying at this hotel 4 times yearly for the last 2-3 years. It is located conveniently close to the airport; the staff are friendly, accommodating, polite & efficient; the hotel itself is not new but is well maintained, and we've yet to find more blissfully comfortable beds in any other hotel. The spa facilities are superb (try the Turkish bath Indulgence for a really special treat- there's nothing like it after a long-haul flight). The gym is well equipt and never overcrowded.
For business travelers, if decide to upgrade to an executive room, to use the business facilities, be warned- the executive lounge has recently become more like a creche. We counted 14 children under 10 at breakfast at our most recent visit, and most annoyingly, some parents happily leave their brood with au pairs while they disappear to the smokers' lounge for some peace & quiet! We also found unaccompanied children in the lounge later in the day. This rather undermines the concept of a business facility. On all other counts, however the hotel is excellent and we highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
37 Thank Deshi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I stayed at the Doha Marriott for five nights in May, 2007. Overall, this is a good business hotel with quality rooms and decent service. I tried the Italian, Indian, Asian, and Japanese restuarant offerings during the stay, and all were acceptable although the Indian restaurant was the best. The gym was OK, but the spa area (sauna, steam room) were dated and uncomfortable.

The club room service and food/beverage offerings was superb, and definately worth the extra cost for access to this room. Location of the hotel is very convenient to the airport, but a bit far from everything else in Doha. Fortunately, taxis are cheap and usually plentiful.

Recommended business accomodation in Doha.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
57 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#11 of 135 in Doha
2,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
3.4 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#26 of 135 in Doha
775 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 135 in Doha
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doha Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doha Marriott Hotel

Property: Doha Marriott Hotel
Address: Ras Abou Aboud Street | Building 2, Street 920, Zone 28, P.O. Box, Doha 1191, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Doha
#27 Business Hotel in Doha
#31 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doha Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes away from Hamand International Airport, on the business area's beach motif, the Doha Marriott Hotel offers impeccably appointed rooms and suites of the utmost elegance. Business and leisure travelers appreciate your room and executive's rooms spacious work area with enhanced amenities, along with a full service spa and onsite restaurants. Our hotel also boasts a private beach, allowing you to enjoy the beauty of the Gulf Bay in total tranquility while inviting travelers to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doha Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Doha
Doha Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing