We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in the middle east”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doha Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Doha
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find in the middle east”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the easy location to the airport and downtown Doha, Qatar you could not beat this place. I was there on business for 74 days and the service and comfort was top notch. This hotel had it all. Beach front on the gulf, spa, pool, 5 restaurants and superb staff eager to please you wether you are their for pleasure or business. I really loved the executive lounge on the top floor for those who are gold members of the Mariott brand. Breakfast was phenomenal with quite a selection from the eggs made to order and homemade wafflles.If there is a negative it is the parking. Late night parking is difficult on Wednesday or Thursday after 7 PM until 1 AM due the club at the hotel. Also, when going to your car during daylight it is extrmely hot as there is nothing but a canvas covered area to keep the vehicle cool from the desert sun.

Room Tip: Corner Ocean side rooms are the best and biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecommish46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    272
    144
    33
    29
See reviews for
117
94
85
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had an executive suite at €360 a night approximately $475 a night. The suites furniture is dated. The lamp shades were falling apart. Instead of cleaning our room properly they just tidied,for this money I was not impressed. Pool staff slow and seriously lacking in customer service skills. Beach is bottom line. VIP lounge nothing special and again staff lacking in high end service skills. I left there to go to the Sheraton, it's older but customer service is much better.
The suites are huge, but lacking in cleanliness. Carpets need cleaning. No wifi in suites which is a joke for a five star at $475 a night!!! I wouldn't return personally.
Flights landing and taking off every few minutes. Incredibly loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skusderci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall the Doha Marriott is pretty much what you would expect. Located less than five minutes drive from airport arrivals it is also reasonably convenient for getting into Doha itself. Parking is free if you have a hire car but be aware if you arrive Wednesday and Thursday evening after 1900 it can be difficult to get a parking space due to Hotel functions.
The Lobby is spacious and elegant with plenty of space to sit and relax. Check in is efficient and the staff from housekeeping to restaurant managers are very helpful. The hotel has 5 different restaurants which all provide reasonably good quality food but it is fairly expensive. The steak house is particularly good but be prepared to pay £50 for a steak and £40 for a bottle of wine. The hotel has two classes of room and I was in the executive tower. The rooms are a good size and well furnished, there is wired and wireless Internet, although I am led to believe the standard rooms only have wired Internet. The Internet is £70 for a week but you should be able to negotiate on that. The pool area is excellent with plenty of loungers and areas to sit. Try and get a room overlooking the pool as the car park side is close to a construction site at the moment and they start early. If you don't want to eat in a restaurant the room service is very good, fast and has a range of food from most of the restaurants situated in the Hotel.
In general a pleasant base to work from, I have stayed on 3 occasions this year and really no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Marriott Doha is starting to show its age, the hotel is two buildings that share one lobby. The lobby is very nice and good place to meet people.

The parking to can be tough, just use the valet. The hotel has several popular clubs parking on Wednesday and Thursday night is tough. Parking appears to be free I was never charged, anyway.

The entire staff is very helpful and most speak various levels of English.

The restaurants are OK, but over priced, you can dine in the city for cheaper. Expect to spend about 150 QAR and 300 QAR for meal with drinks(about $100 USD). The Mexican restaurant, is the best and cheapest, the have live music and the food is good.

The rooms are OK, I stayed in room 423. The layout is OK, although the desk is a little small for working. I had two issues with the rooms, The ventilation system picked up some odds smells once and awhile, not sure if was sewer gas or just moldy/musty air. The other issue the WiFi is spotty in the room, worked great in the bathroom, but not at all in other parts of the room. Beds where fine, there was only one sheet, so ask for fresh covers as well as sheets.

This hotel is close to the airport, so its good people who need to fly out the next day. If you are working in the city there must be better options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Close to the airport, with the biggest pool I have ever seen, the Marriot also has a view of the Persian Gulf. The rooms are very spacious and beds are perfect. A huge bonus to this hotel- they allowed early check-in… at 7 in the morning! After a long flight that is service seldom offered by hotels today. The hotel has a fabulous Gym, a number of restaurants (had a brilliant, albeit quite expensive, Thai meal and steakhouse was excellent) and a spa. However the décor was definately looking old and worn especially around the pool- for a five star hotel- they should be refurbishing it! Service was excellent except around the pool- probably as it was so spread out.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room overlooking the gulf and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Marriott Doha is starting to show its age, the hotel is two buildings that share one lobby. The lobby is very nice and good place to meet people.

The parking to can be tough, just use the valet. The hotel has several popular clubs parking on Wednesday and Thursday night is tough. Parking appears to be free I was never charged, anyway.

The entire staff is very helpful and most speak various levels of English.

The restaurants are OK, but over priced, you can dine in the city for cheaper. Expect to spend about 150 QAR and 300 QAR for meal with drinks(about $100 USD). The Mexican restaurant, is the best and cheapest, the have live music and the food is good.

The rooms are OK, I stayed in room 423. The layout is OK, although the desk is a little small for working. I had two issues with the rooms, The ventilation system picked up some odds smells once and awhile, not sure if was sewer gas or just moldy/musty air. The other issue the WiFi is spotty in the room, worked great in the bathroom, but not at all in other parts of the room. Beds where fine, there was only one sheet, so ask for fresh covers as well as sheets.

This hotel is close to the airport, so its good people who need to fly out the next day. If you are working in the city there must be better options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would typically spend a few days there either coming or going from a location much further east. The hotel has nice with many resturants but the buffet was the best I have seen in the Middle East. The pool was nice but the female religious police would harrass the women in two piece bathing suits, very poor form. Other than that the staff was accomodating and friendly. Very close to the airport which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-RM09TPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#11 of 133 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#27 of 133 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 133 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#10 of 133 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doha Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doha Marriott Hotel

Property: Doha Marriott Hotel
Address: Ras Abou Aboud Street | Building 2, Street 920, Zone 28, P.O. Box, Doha 1191, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Doha
#27 Business Hotel in Doha
#31 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doha Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes away from Hamand International Airport, on the business area's beach motif, the Doha Marriott Hotel offers impeccably appointed rooms and suites of the utmost elegance. Business and leisure travelers appreciate your room and executive's rooms spacious work area with enhanced amenities, along with a full service spa and onsite restaurants. Our hotel also boasts a private beach, allowing you to enjoy the beauty of the Gulf Bay in total tranquility while inviting travelers to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doha Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Doha
Doha Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing