We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Ranked #51 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“to be renovated”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

noise in the rooms, not good location, bad food and beverage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    129
    124
    65
    35
See reviews for
30
48
92
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solingen
Level Contributor
312 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Since I staid there approx. 1.1/2 years ago, the hotel is in even more need of a renovation. Half the rooms cannot be used as they are facing a huge worksite for a new shoppping center, which is active day and night.
Although my room was clean, it was quite small and everything was just old.
As far as I know, the hotzel is planning a renovation - let´s see when this finally happens.
Service is generally good, especially from the reception staff. The service in the stakhouse restaurant, however, was practically nonexistent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasperSolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here for ten days during the UNCTAD conference in April, and had an enjoyable time. The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice view of the city and really no complaints. The hotel is more affordable than many in Doha, with all the comforts you might need. Staff were super-professional and helpful. The Mediterranean top-floor restaurant had a nice menu and wine list and a fantastic view of Doha - although mainly overlooking a giant hole in the ground where something new is being constructed; spectacular in itself. Room service had a good selection and came quickly; generous portions of chips (french fries) with the sandwich and omelette I ordered.
Extra bonus points to Mercure for lending me an iron and ironing board before my meetings started!
The hotel is situated 2 blocks from the shopping and restaurants at Souk Waqif, close to the Islamic Art Museum and ten minutes' drive from the airport. The glitzy 'new centre' is on the other side of the bay, ten-30 minutes' drive away depending on traffic. Mercure is in an area with 'real life' shops and restaurants catering mostly to the guest workers from all over Asia. This means you can get food at normal (as opposed to expensive hotel) prices: Sri Lankan, Indonesian cuisine etc etc, and if you need a pharmacy there's one in the next block. There's a 'juice bar' cafe literally around the corner if you prefer a simple and good value breakfast instead of paying $22 for the hotel buffet.
Stepping out from the hotel world makes a lot of sense: you pay a lot less for food and transport. You can get a taxi around the corner instead of paying for a hotel 'limousine'.
My only complaint about Mercure (also known as 'Sofitel' to taxi drivers) was that the gym and pool are only open from 8 to 8 which meant my training gear stayed untouched after the long working days.

Room Tip: Floor 9 is the 'non-smoking floor'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Put there by Qatar airways!
The room is not very clean, the bathroom is just fine
The hotel seems old (noisy elevator, room with old keys -no cards-) and there is a huge construction behind, so very noisy and dirty balcony
Food had good actually !
Helpful stuff.

Room Tip: If you have no choice, it's just ok !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imed_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our quick stay during a long layover went off like clockwork. The staff is very experienced in getting people fed, slept and back to the airport to make their flight. The buffet was convenient and the bed was comfortable. The shower and bathroom were great. We did hear construction but it was not very loud or distracting. We were able to sleep through the white noise easily. Overall, clean hotel and pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

On a brief 20 hour stop-over on Qatar Airways I was put up in Grand Mercure. Last time I travelled with Qatar Airways I was put up in Rotana Hotel which is much closer to the airport and much more new.

The hotel is in a rundown part of the city with major construction work that goes on through the night. The hotel is really old and probably on its last legs

There were some good points.

1. The internet was free and good.
2. The in- room safe was really big and can easily accommodate your back pack!

Otherwise there was nothing good to write about. To reach the carpark you have to change two lifts. The check in is smooth. The breakfast buffet was reasonable.

Overall I liked the Rotana and if I have a choice next time I will insist on Rotana rather than come to Grand Mercure.

Room Tip: The hotel is in front of a massive construction site and most of the work on the site is done at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubbin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Had visited a friend living there and found the room very clean and tidy. Staff were very polite and hospitable. Souq Waqif is very near to it. The Corniche area, the most beautiful area of Doha, is very close. The view of downtown Doha can be easily viewed. The massive construction projects are in full swing but yet the hospitality offered by the hotel is amazing and awesome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrgauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#38 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#69 of 134 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#46 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#27 of 134 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.8 mi away
K108 Hotel
K108 Hotel
#34 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#48 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing