We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice location, some minor negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice location, some minor negatives”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were staying at the Intercontinental for 3 nights. The hotel building is rather old and not very modern, especially if you compare to the much bigger building behind the hotel. From the beach in front of the hotel you have a great view of the city center with quite an outstanding skyline. Unfortunately most of the rooms do not have this view. We were staying in a presidential suite with access to the club lounge. While the room was huge in size, it seemed to be a little outdated and in need for a renovation. The bed was very comfortable, but really annoying is the smoke detector that continuously flashes with a bright light, right over the bed.
The service is very good in general. We were annoyed a little by the transfer service person from the airport to the hotel, as he complained that he had too wait too long for us (not our fault given the immigration hassle). Not a very good start. Elsewhere the service was excellent, especially also in the club lounge. The breakfast served in the club lounge was great.
Outstanding food in the Coral Restaurant! The quality and size of the dinner buffet is hard to beat.
The pool and garden is very nice, but there is one big minus. The pool is either not heated at all or was just too cold. Even our two kids did not manage to be more than 10 minutes in the pool.
All in all a nice stay, but we would probably go to a more modern hotel in Doha next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTravellerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Swiss Travellerone,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are glad to hear that all in all, you had a nice stay with us mentioning about the outstanding food in the Coral All Day Dining, the pool and the very good service that you received from our team members.
We sincerely apologize if we haven’t met your expectations regarding the hotel design and the room. As we strive to improve our services and offer our guest more modern hotel and accommodation, we are currently working on our extension project and hopefully you can try them once it is completed. We also regret that your arrival experience wasn’t good due to the limousine driver who picked you up at the airport and surely this not what we expect from the team. We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by the blinking light from our smoke detector as well as the swimming pool temperature. We’ll assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and we’ll work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Please also contact us at icdoha@ihg.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again we regret that this has impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you’ll give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    242
    81
    22
    26
See reviews for
188
175
65
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I must admit I expected more. I was glad this hotel had a beach but the restaurant left me wanting. The food tasted fresh out of a can. You're better off eating at a restaurant in the city. the beach facilities were nice but bring strong sunglasses. This place seemed brighter than the sun! The rooms were great though.

Room Tip: If you want to look at something from your room get a view of the Pearl to the north east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ed M,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time to write about your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha. Our hotel does review and address situations very carefully. Please contact me at icdoha@ihg.com so I may obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Arrived at the Intercontinental Doha last night for seven days day. Great reception, fast and efficient. This morning's breakfast buffet was wonderful - more options than I could ever choose. The only thing that this keeps this review from five stars is the view out my room. I asked when I checked in for an upgrade but received a room with a view that is terrible. Room 425 should be avoided if a view is important to you.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room high up and one that doesn't overlook the construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear edcccdfean,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha.

I am very delighted to know about your comments on our Front Office Team that they were fast and efficient and the wonderful breakfast buffet that provides you variety of choices. Our team will be very excited to know about your comments.

I would like to apologize if we haven't provided you your preferred room with a better view. Your comments regarding this matte will be addressed by our Front Office Manager to ensure that your preference will be noted accordingly for your future stay with us. Please also contact us at icdoha@ihg.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a room with a better view on your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoas, RS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good price, nice room, clean, big and safety... and new hotel !!! The location is near public market and old city. One problem once was hard to understating indian's people in hotel service. good swimming pool and salna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubensoleinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for finding time writing a review regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are so thrilled to received your five star review along with the positive feedback regarding our rooms, cleanliness, safety , location, the pool, sauna and the price.

Regarding your comments on the services that was provided by some of our team member, I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. You may send us a direct message regarding this experience so we'll learn more about it and improve them in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back the property very soon.


Sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anfeh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, because it is clean and has a spacious room. The staff are friendly and helpful whenever you ask for directions. I liked the location of the hotel, it is near Katara Village (by the sea) and Souq Waqif (Old Market). They have a delicious breakfast buffet which has a lot of variety. The pool is nice as well and clean, in general the atmosphere is excellent.
I do recommend this hotel for business stops, couples and family vacations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Gaby A,

We cannot thank you enough for your stunning comment!

It is a real satisfaction for us to receive such feedback, thank you for praising our staff.

We hope you have a lovely 2014 and come to visit us again.


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. Upgraded to use the executive lounge privileges which include breakfast, afternoon tea, evening canapes with bubbly. The room was clean and we were greeted with a bowl of fresh fruit. The bathroom was sizeable and had separate shower and bath tub. The grounds are well maintained, the pool was clean and the beach was relaxing to sit by. Also had dinner at Paloma's - the food was good but would have been better if i wasn't breathing in smoke since people are allowed to smoke in the restaurant. Be careful where you are given a room as on weekend nights the music from the bar can be quite distracting if you are an early to bed person. Depending on your reason for visiting, it is a short cab ride from the city centre and not an ideal location for the business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are so thrilled to read about your excellent feedback about our hotel and the 5 star rating that you have given.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fantastic stay!


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As the Qatari economy continues to boom and attract foreign investment and interest Doha is more in demand and the place for doing business is the Intercontinental.
It is not a new hotel (it is actually one of the oldest 5 star hotels in Doha) but it has been renovated, has great rooms and club floor as well as an excellent collection of restaurants (from fish market to a famous Greek named Mykonos and a very cosy Belgian cafe). For lovers of Mexican food but also the best steaks in Doha try the Paloma. I did during my last stay and found it incredible.
This is a very well managed and run hotel with very friendly and passionate to serve staff. The lobby area is very inviting and an excellent place to have business meetings.
Many new hotels have been built in Doha but this particular one continues to shine and outperform most of the newcomers and the reason is that it constantly improves and keeps its customers happy. There is no complacency here!

Room Tip: The suites are excellent. Ambassador membership gets you an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear MichaelLimassol,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Doha and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are very grateful for you comments regarding the service you received from our staff . We are pleased that you took the opportunity to try our variety of restaurants and highly recommended the steaks at the Paloma TE-Mex Restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#13 of 134 in Doha
1,256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 134 in Doha
1,796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
2.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 134 in Doha
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Property: InterContinental Doha
Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#15 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing