We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, because it is clean and has a spacious room. The staff are friendly and helpful whenever you ask for directions. I liked the location of the hotel, it is near Katara Village (by the sea) and Souq Waqif (Old Market). They have a delicious breakfast buffet which has a lot of variety. The pool is nice as well and clean, in general the atmosphere is excellent.
I do recommend this hotel for business stops, couples and family vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Gaby A,

We cannot thank you enough for your stunning comment!

It is a real satisfaction for us to receive such feedback, thank you for praising our staff.

We hope you have a lovely 2014 and come to visit us again.


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. Upgraded to use the executive lounge privileges which include breakfast, afternoon tea, evening canapes with bubbly. The room was clean and we were greeted with a bowl of fresh fruit. The bathroom was sizeable and had separate shower and bath tub. The grounds are well maintained, the pool was clean and the beach was relaxing to sit by. Also had dinner at Paloma's - the food was good but would have been better if i wasn't breathing in smoke since people are allowed to smoke in the restaurant. Be careful where you are given a room as on weekend nights the music from the bar can be quite distracting if you are an early to bed person. Depending on your reason for visiting, it is a short cab ride from the city centre and not an ideal location for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are so thrilled to read about your excellent feedback about our hotel and the 5 star rating that you have given.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fantastic stay!


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As the Qatari economy continues to boom and attract foreign investment and interest Doha is more in demand and the place for doing business is the Intercontinental.
It is not a new hotel (it is actually one of the oldest 5 star hotels in Doha) but it has been renovated, has great rooms and club floor as well as an excellent collection of restaurants (from fish market to a famous Greek named Mykonos and a very cosy Belgian cafe). For lovers of Mexican food but also the best steaks in Doha try the Paloma. I did during my last stay and found it incredible.
This is a very well managed and run hotel with very friendly and passionate to serve staff. The lobby area is very inviting and an excellent place to have business meetings.
Many new hotels have been built in Doha but this particular one continues to shine and outperform most of the newcomers and the reason is that it constantly improves and keeps its customers happy. There is no complacency here!

Room Tip: The suites are excellent. Ambassador membership gets you an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear MichaelLimassol,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Doha and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are very grateful for you comments regarding the service you received from our staff . We are pleased that you took the opportunity to try our variety of restaurants and highly recommended the steaks at the Paloma TE-Mex Restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

So I should lead with the bad, right? The only reason that I took a star was because the service staff were CONSTANTLY ringing my doorbell. A few occasions because I requested something, but then they'd come back because they forgot something...or because they got my room service order wrong, or what-have-you. All the while my do not disturb light was on...So I would mention to the management to please tighten up on that. I won't mention names as it's not my style to throw someone under the bus but at least you can make it standard across the board.

My other gripe is to IHG corporate...what gives on the 2000 pt cap per stay outside the US, regardless of nights stayed? I spent three nights here, spent over $1000USD and I only get 2000 points, as though I spent only $200USD?! That's completely ridiculous, and will cause me to not stay in an InterCon outside the US again...sheesh...

Okay...now the good parts.

People complain about transportation, but that's not an issue for me, using Uber (I HIGHLY RECOMMEND SIGNING UP FOR UBER IF YOU HAVE A SMART PHONE...) If Uber isn't your style, the hotel has their own driver positioned at the exit of the Doha airport, which costs 140 riyals from the airport to the hotel. I used this as I didn't feel like waiting 10 minutes for Uber, and was taken in a private ride (Lexus sedan) to the hotel. No stinky taxi, no death wish driver. I live in Dubai, so this is always good to avoid, as the public transportation are almost the same. Also, to the complaints about taxi availability, they had taxis lining up to get to the hotel...how did you find it difficult?! There seemed to always be at least two on standby just waiting.

As with any luxury brand, any services the hotel offers are expensive (90 riyals for dry cleaning one shirt and one pair slacks, roughly $20USD). Breakfast hovered around 140 riyals per day (per person, roughly $40USD), but was pretty filling and extensive...The American breakfast came with two eggs, sausage, bacon, hashbrowns, juice, a full bread basket, etc etc...maybe not $40 worth, but they definitely try to make up for it. The Mykonos bar had expensive drinks, as is commonplace for Gulf countries...expect around 80 riyals ($20USD) per drink. The hotel almost gave my wallet a break in the Belgian, a popular bar in Qatar and the UAE. With a nice happy hour, we were able to have three drinks each for under 200 riyals ($54 USD)....and then I got a cigar...silly me for not asking the price of the cigar, a whopping 175 riyals ($48USD with free matches) for a Cohiba. One thing to point out about the Belgian: We were "guests" of the hotel, but were asked to limit our time in the Belgian to 1 hour due to reservations. We meandered down to the Tex-Mex restaurant Paloma which was our best meal of the stay. Very authentic food, with a great little two piece band and some pretty stiff drinks. I can't comment on price, as the girlfriend picked up this tab and wouldn't let me peep the bill, but I estimate that we were right around 400 riyals ($109 USD). Expensive...yes...but it IS an InterCon AND it IS in the Gulf region. I think the only other costs I incurred were a dinner room-service (a small wrap and fries with two coronas for like 200 riyals or 50 bucks) and stupid Jelly Belly beans for 55 riyals (yes...15 bucks for stupid jelly beans...I despise mini bars and their temptation). As you can see, that's above 2000 riyals ($550 USD) once you include multiple drinks to the mix...plus the cost of the room for three nights and I'm well over $1200. I don't take issue with spending the money, I take issue with the menial points assigned to my stay. But I digress.

Onto the room. WONDERFUL!!!!!!! The bed was super comfortable, with a lightly lit decorative piece above the leather headboard that set off the room. I got a deluxe room with view, and was rewarded with a great view and lots of room. Because I booked the trip with a flight for one (my girlfriend works for the airline and flew on her own travel) the hotel showed my reservation as for only one person, so while she and I were out on the first day, they snuck in and made little swans out of our towels and sprinkled rose petals about. Kind of a neat nod of appreciation from the hotel, and definitely appreciated by her! The TV channels are limited, and it's a bit of a pain to navigate the InterCon's TV system, but I didn't stay here for the TV. Plus, with the extra speaker in the bathroom, it helps to have the news on while getting ready and not have to stop paying attention because I leave the room. The shower was nice, very clean and a walk-in marble bit of awesome. The tub was so big that I had to take a nice long bath even though I wouldn't normally...so nice. I believe it's the little things that make a hotel awesome, like the fact that while we were gone the second day, housekeeping placed all of our toiletries neatly on a small towel...brownie points for that. The room had issues keeping cool for some reason (set to 68F and hovered around 73F) but I didn't raise the issue to the staff so I really can't complain, but maybe you should take a look at that (room 416), management. All in all, the room was amazing.

Staff were nothing short of awesome, save for the folks that kept ringing my bell. Everyone we encountered were friendly, smiling and always eager to take care of any issues that could have come up. I didn't get a chance to get names, as I was in a rush to check out and get to the airport, but I mainly saw the daytime staff from Friday to Sunday.

Location of the hotel was great, if you like a little seclusion. It'll take you 30 minutes to get to the airport. Bear in mind that Doha is not huge, and it won't take more than 20 minutes to get from point A to point B, barring any traffic. The Islamic Art Museum took about 10 minutes to reach via car, and it took 15 to get back to the hotel from Souk Waqif. It was a bit chilly, but the grounds of the hotel are AWESOME! The pool is unique, with palm trees all around and a lot of chair space, and the private beach makes it even better...just wish the weather had been a bit warmer to take a dip in the gulf. I didn't have a chance to check out the spa. The only bad part of the location is the fact that you'll have to travel to get any corner store type things...although I'm not sure if the concierge would help with that, I didn't have much interaction with him.

The skinny? IHG reward points outside the USA are terrible..plain and simple
The room was great
Location was great, if you don't mind a bit of seclusion from the hustle and bustle
Food was divine, breakfast was great
Staff - warm and cordial and eager to help

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the view. It's STUNNING! Pay a bit more to have breakfast included if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixstringsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

WOW! That was a very detailed review and thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time writing such review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

First of all, we would like to apologize regarding the point system on our IHG Rewards Program. We'll surely communicate this matter to our corporate office so they can review the current system for our IHG Rewards Club Members staying at the InterContinental brand outside the United States.

On the other hand, we are so thrilled to read the comprehensive comments about the location, transportation, food and the services provided by our team. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.


Sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel is one of the oldest in Doha but one of the most fantastic hotels I've ever stayed in in terms of service, restaurants, activities, food. The Paloma is a Mexican restaurant and bar with excellent quality of food and live band.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would primarily like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Doha and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are very pleased to know regarding that you were very pleased with the service, the excellent food and activities within the hotel and thank you for recommending Paloma Tex Mex Restaurant and bar for the excellent quality of food and entertainment.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I choose to stay at Intercontinental Hotel Doha as it was close to the venue where I was attending an exhibition. The hotel was really close to venue but a bit difficult to get to and I would not recommend the walk in full summer heat or darkness. As other Doha hotels it is really difficult to get a taxi and the hotels minimum rate for a hotel taxi was quite high for a 2 minute’s drive. However the hotel is really nice and the lobby impressive. The room was really nice too and big with a comfy bed and sofa. Very contemporary design and luxurious. I have asked for a quiet room so was a bit disappointed to discover in the morning that they are building a new wing of the hotel right outside my room. However it seemed that they were not building during my stay so was not disturbed by this. The breakfast has a lot of variety and is very good. Had time to use the pool and beach which are really nice but busy due to many locals using the facilities, which is a bit annoying when you are paying top dollar for a room. Again had no issues getting a sunbed so not a big problem but I was not in Doha during the weekend when I expect the pool and beach gets very busy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would primarily like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review InterContinental Doha and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are very glad that you found the location convenient which is close to your venue for exhibition and that you were able to enjoy your room while you stayed with us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments.

Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

From checkin to checkout I got great personal service at the Doha Intercontinent. The executive club staff were especially helpful and really excelled in service as did front desk and chaffeurs.

The room was nice and reasonably large and they let me checkin early after long 17 hrs flying. However room air con unit was very noisy as is common in many hotels. Amenities are the good intercont quality. housekeeping very good.

The service in all food venues good as are most options but more fresh cooked vegetables and fruit would personally be welcome. Eg. Some mixed indian meat and vegetable curries. Or fresh berries for breakfast as common in abu dhabi.

Overall the service was excellent just less fancy and more fresh food in all venues. Pool was great as was gym. Although a little cold now for pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherHxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDOHA, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear ChristopherHxxx,

Marhaba from InterContinental Doha!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We deeply appreciate you for having taken your valuable time to share your experience.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property. We also thank you for your suggestion regarding the variety of food and we would also like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the AC. We have forwarded your concern to our Engineering team to fix the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
InterContinental Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 140 in Doha
1,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 140 in Doha
1,527 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
2.3 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#16 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: $175 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing