We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Doha, Qatar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Tadcaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Doha, Qatar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are visiting Doha, Qatar, this is the best place to stay. It's got the best beach in Doha, and a good choice of resurants and bars. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is a favourite watering hole for the expat community, so there are always plenty of interesting people to meet. The hotel has an excellent pool, spar and gymnasium with activities. You could stay for a week with no need to venture out of the hotel complex. There is also a free shuttle service to shopping mall and other places to visit. Overall, well recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has recently had the rooms refurbished so make sure you get one of these preferably overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are so pleased to read your wonderful comments about our hotel. Rest assured that we will maintain this reputation and we hope to see you again in our property very soon.

Regards,


Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    228
    80
    21
    25
See reviews for
173
167
60
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I cannot say that this hotel is a bad hotel because the quality in general is ok - in terms of room and food. But, when it comes to service quality and customer service, this hotel receives an "M" for MISERABLE!

We were organizing a 150 person event at the hotel and as such we expect a certain level of customer service. Instead, we receive no customer service at all, not a single attendant from the hotel to assist with the setup, we were told that the hotel would not provide chairs for the event and when we convinced them to, they brought the chairs, set them down and said "You put them where you want them", we were not allocated ANY tables for lunch and dinner, and to top it all off, when we said we would complain and probably never come back here, we were told "that's up to you, we don't care" - in THOSE WORDS!

So Never again will we set foot in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherifAbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear SherifAbaza,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the service you encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class excellence. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Rest assured, we have documented your feedback and will be forwarded to the departments involved to take actions accordingly. I appreciate your comments as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pros: Rooms are large and comfortable, beach and lagoon are wonderful (warm wave-free water), hotel staff are helpful, breakfast was great

Cons: Internet is extra, hard to get drink service from beech safe

The hotel isn't in d/t Doha. I took half-day city tour which allowed me to see Islamic Museum, souk and Doha Pearl. (You can also take advantage of hotel's shuttle to the city.) Doha isn't that exciting; if you aren't here on business, you are better taking advantage of the beach rather than being in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

I am so delighted to read about your description of our newly renovated rooms. Indeed, we took pride of our facilities as our hotel has the largest beach front in Doha and the warmest hospitality service from our staff.

I am also pleased to inform you that we do have a free internet access. You'll just simply ask your log in details from our Frontdesk staff who are more than happy to assist you.

Thank you too for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Doha where you can mix business with leisure.

Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel, excellent in all respects. Was delighted from the moment I checked in till the time I checked out, first class service at all times.
If I had to find something to moan about, it would be incredibly minor -
1. no free internet, this must vary from hotel to hotel within the IC Group, as the next Intercontinental hotel I stayed at provided internet foc. I bought a breakfast and internet package at check-in at QAR 150 per person per day
2. Lovely pool area, but the flies were a real pain - it might be worth spraying, other hotels have a similar amount of greenery but are bug free.
3. lack of taxis - every time I requested a taxi, it turned out to be a big deal and they tried to provide me with a hotel limo at twice the price. Instead I insisted on waiting for a taxi and the concierge managed get me one without a delay.....why the fuss, but the hotel needs a better arrangement with Karwa,the local taxi company, other hotels I've been to in the region have a steady stream of taxis rolling up, why not this one?

These were all minor points - this really is an excellent hotel, great rooms, really spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. And the breakfast in the Coral restaurant is fantastic, everything you could possibly wish for.

Room Tip: Lot of refurb going on at the moment, and although not noticeable as it is well boarded up, be caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time writing a review regarding your experience at the InterContinental Doha.

I am so pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Indeed, we deliver our promise to provide high standards of service to our valuable guest like you.

Regarding your comments about the internet, as we are taking our guest comments and suggestions seriously, we are already providing a free internet access to our in-house guest with the assistance of our front desk colleagues who will provide you the login details. As for the flies, we do have an Integrated Pest Management System in place and our pest control contractor are working hard to to avoid such pests getting into our premises. And as for the taxis, we will try to find a solution in order to provide you more convenience in the future.

Mr. Chris, thank you for your valuable comments and for your excellent rating. We hope to see you again at the InterContinental Doha in the near future.


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great beach and pool facility, very comfortable lounge chairs. In terms of the weekend by the pool – definitely one of the top hotels in Doha. The down fall was the beverages at the pool bar. I have asked for rum with pineapple and cranberry juice , and was given something else…with grenadine and sugar. The check was for “Sex on the beach.” The advice is to go for a beer, not a cocktail…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatYourWayThrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Anna C,

Thank you very much for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad to read your comments about our hotel particularly on the beach and pool facility which is one of our great asset in the hotel.

I am also very happy to know about your comments regarding the beverage and I am very thankful that you have specified such comment so we can target this particular area for improvement and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that has caused you at that time. Rest assure that this review will be shared to the team and to rectify such concerns.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to seeing you again at the InterContinental Doha to experience the true InterContinental service.


Regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good variety of restaurants on property. Lovely pool and beach. Easy access to things in the city - I used the hotel's shuttle to go to attractions, plus taxis and the hotel car service for other locations not on their route. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Currently renovating, so ask for a room away from the construction area if you are visiting soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear GlobetrottingFan,

Thank you very much for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, you have been to a perfect place to relax and enjoy a wide array of restaurants, the splashing water of our free form swimming pool and of course, the longest beach line in the city. We have forwarded your commendation to our staff and recognized for their excellent delivery of the true InterContinental Service.

Our dear guest, thank you once again for your excellent feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you to InterContinental Doha for another Great Stay in the near future.


Warm regards,

Andreas Pfister
General Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

one word: beautiful! stayed in the club room: super luxury! Breakfast in the coffee house: great varieties of food with nice view of beach and swimming pool. The private beach is awesome! Staff service: warm and friendly. Overall, I felt worth the money to spend for relaxing while being in the middle of town. I would love to comeback again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadrahamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Nadrahamzah,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

We are extremely delighted to read your description about our hotel. It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and services were appreciated by guests like you. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet with our guest's expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,


Andreas Pfister
General Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#24 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Property: InterContinental Doha
Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#14 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing