We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the First Floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid the First Floor!”
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I stayed here for a week on business a couple of weeks ago. 95% of the employees I encountered were eager to give 110% and went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed. The service in the Blue Salon was a bit spotty, but the breakfast buffet in the morning were amazing (even if it was $34 USD).
The noise on the first floor at night though is unbearable, I should have moved...ended up going to sleep with headphones on. Absolutely stay on the highest floor you can. We had two meetings and the meeting staff were very helpful. I have never met a friendlier front desk/concierge/front door staff. I had car service to the mall, to the airport, you name it...I would return just for the breakfast buffet!. All-in-all, a pretty nice place, but I've stayed in nicer digs for less than $386 USD/night

  • Liked — Breakfast Buffet
  • Disliked — The noise from the lounge at night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rbardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    242
    81
    22
    26
See reviews for
188
175
65
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We chose this hotel for a one night stopover between long haul flights in January and again in February and could not have made a better choice. On both occasions our room was very spacious, well furnished and had really comfortable beds. There was lots of wardrobe and storage space, had we needed it, and chilled drinking water, tea and coffee were complimentary.

The bathroom was also spacious with bath, twin wash bowls, bidet, WC and lots of quality toiletries. Bath robes and slippers were supplied and the towels were plentiful, thick and fluffy.

The hotel stands in beautiful grounds with lots of sun beds and shades, there is an enormous outdoor pool and the beach is only a few steps away. Sadly we had no time to make use of these facilities.

By making an online booking well ahead, on a no refund basis, we obtained a very attractive rate and although the hotel is a bit far from the airport, the drive time is only 20/25 minutes and taxis are plentiful and cheap.

Any future stopovers which we make in Doha will certainly be at this excellent hotel.

  • Liked — The spacious room and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — The shortness of our stays
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

A long way from the airport, and I arrived late at night to find that they did not have the non-smoking room available that I had booked. Indifferent manager could have cared less, and was only too happy to take my $400 for the nights stay with little effort to accomodate me in a different room, or offer a discount.
The room that I finally received reeked of cigar smoke, and the two beds consisted of roll-away cots. Terrible experience. Definately NOT up to Intercon standards.

Nice restaurant, terrific breakfast - the ONLY redeeming factor in my stay. There are much nicer 5* hotels in Doha, with a better location and similar price.

Never again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SpikeNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey UK
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

I have just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay at this hotel, which was the end of a business trip to the middle east.

Upon check in i was upgraded to a lovely suite and shown to my room by one of the guest relations staff, who showed excellent levels of service throughout my stay. I was on the 4th floor so i can't really comment on the noise that other reviewers have mentioned. The suite was a really good size, and the bathroom was excellent.

The hotel has several restaurants and bars. I watched the Champions League final in a very busy Palamo, with many of the customers seeming to be ex-pats rather than hotel guests. It's not really a relaxing bar, but the bar at Zoda (the Italian restaurant) is far more chilled. I ate twice at Zoda, and both times had great food. Room service food was also good, as was the pool cafe food.

The pool area is great, although on the weekend it is a little overrun with families who I think are local and must have some type of membership. However there was plenty of room on the beach, which was far quieter.

The only downsides to the hotel were the rather expensive charges for in-room internet and the hotel limo service which is about twice the price of the government run limo service (who have cars available at the hotel at all time and are the same price as taxis). I found this out to my cost on a run to a meeting in the city after i had been "steered" into the hotel limo. I refused to use them for any more trips.

Overall i would thoroughly recommend this hotel and i will be returning for a lesiure break.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank JG_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai UAE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

The hotel stay was good, but the noise levels were high on the first floor. Recommend you stay on the higher levels.

The restaurant Palamo was understaffed with brand new waiters. At least they were helpful and friendly.

Beautiful pool, but I did not spend much time there.

Construction next to the hotel makes for a bit of an eyesore.

I will try a different hotel next time.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank TheTravBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

My family and I recently visited Doha for a 10days. While there, we stayed with family but visited the InterContinental Hotel on several occassions to enjoy the beach, the pool and the restaurants.

Being from Canada, we are used to a certain level of service and expect value for our money. The service we received at the InterContinental Hotel fantastic. The pool staff were attentative and
always available to assist the guests.

Every inch of the property was spotless and the amenties were of the highest quality.

While in Doha, my daughter celebrated a birthday and we took her to Za Moda (Italian) restaurant. The staff went above and beyond to exceed our expectations. I have never had a chef come to my table to see what we would like prepared for dinner! Wow, unbelievable! I felt
that the people at ZaModa had known me for years and treated me like an old friend. What a great feeling. The food was magnificant and everything was perfect. We were astounded when the staff brought our daughter a cake and sang happy birthday. What a treat for her.

Even though I did not stay at the hotel, I would recommend that if you are visiting Doha, stay at the InterContinental and take an evening to experience Za Moda. Compliments to Chef Fabrizio and his staff.

Again, thank you to all the staff for helping make our trip to Doha a memorable experience.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank CanadaTravelcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

we stayed for 2 nights in a twin room. first day they gave us the first floor which wasn't that good so we asked for higher floors and the second day they gave us 4'th floor.

the room: good size rooms with nice bed and nice decorations, not very new though.

bathroom: very big with sep bath and shower. clean and nice.

hotel: breakfast was nice with many things. pools and beach very. the hotel is not in the city but qatar is so small that its 5 minutes to the city, infact u can see the city in front of u. but this distance makes it nicer bec the beach is just for u. try the boat tour of the city from the hotel only 65$. u'll see the whole city with it.

  • Liked — location and clean rooms
  • Disliked — size of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank cm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#13 of 135 in Doha
1,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 135 in Doha
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Property: InterContinental Doha
Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#16 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing