We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian restaurant and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Tandoor

Royal Tandoor
Ranked #284 of 848 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went here with a friend on a windy evening, but they let us sit outside. Service was quick and efficient (maybe too quick as we got mains while we were still having starters!) We both had Tandoori chicken with saffron rice and it was delicious and tender. one bowl of rice will do two of you as there's quite a lot if you've had a starter.We paid QR 155 for two courses and a soft drink each.Not bad for the Souq.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a nice restaurant in the Souq with a nice ambiance and I'll certainly use it again in the future. It has an extensive menu with attentive but not overbearing staff which was nice. They are also happy to make small adjustments to your dish so that it suits your requirements. The only downside is that I like a beer with a curry and of course it doesn't have a licence for alcohol, but that wouldn't stop me going again. Not too pricey either

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant, takeaway and delivery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

To be honest I rate this place as "GOOD", but it's not avilable on the rating above.
We chose the Chiken Tika Masala which was excellent and they also made apon request a meal that was not on the menu (Chicken Saag) which was also great.
What let the restaurant down was a distinct lack of atmosphere with all tables curtained off and very little inter-action with the staff.
Consequently we order in meals from the Tandoor on a regular basis which I feel suits both parties.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qatarscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOHA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“NICE FOOD AND QUICK SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ambions is good and the make food as per your requirement love and food the make, kids enjoys too, they are quite reasonablely price and have branches at many locations

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAFIQ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“great indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

we realy enjoy our dinner food was realy good and service too.we would like to many thanks to that hostess alice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleepy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing