We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Retaj Royale Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Retaj Royale Doha
Ranked #42 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here during Ramadan for about 10 days.
Location is good, it is near to airport and also the Souq Waqif.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are really large.

Nice indoor pool and gym area.

Personally I thought the breakfast was ok - a good selection but after a few days it got a little tired. We also had an evening meal there which again was just ok. I only ate in the buffet so didn't try all of their restaurants.

I would very happily stay in this hotel again but I do think it could do with some improvements.
Wifi was expensive in your room. It's free in the public areas but if you want it in your room I think it is expensive. Since I was there for business I needed it in my room.

Also the lights in the room. The lights were controlled by a main panel in the room along with everything else (air con, power, do not disturb etc) however it was not a simple task to have one bedside light left on that you switched off from your bed. It's a small petty thing but just annoying.

Overall though, this is a very good hotel if you are on business and I think is excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royale Doha…

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us,We have highlighted all the areas which need improvement and conerning the bedside lampe,you will find in your next visit a remote control that it help you to manage all the lights of the room.

Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

We are really looking forward to host you again in Retaj Royale Doha.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    65
    31
    2
    7
See reviews for
46
35
28
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great Place. Spacious room, friendly staff. Loved the free coffee and tea in the lobby .
Location is great. Minutes from Soul Wakif and sea side.
Swimming pool is nice. Parking spaces available . Loved the Iftar and Sohor (was there in Ramadan) .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muharaq
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Big rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff, short drive from the airport & souq Wagif.
I stayed 1 night in RETAJ ROYAL, reception was nice, our room was big about 50 square meters + big & nice bathroom. Location is good close to tha airport & Souq Waqif but U should have a car, nothing is around by walking distance. I don’t think it is 5 stars but it is really nice & confirmable. When I get back to Doha I will stay here sure.

Room Tip: all rooms are big & nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royale Doha…

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

We are really looking forward to host you again in Retaj Royale Doha.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

From reservation through to check-in staff are friendly and professional. Late check out was accommodated for at no extra cost and the hotel is ideally situated for business travellers who have business at the nearby port.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royale Doha…

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

We are really looking forward to host you again in Retaj Royale Doha.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

i like this hotel in doha , good location , small cafe , very reasonable price , huge room nice bathroom , nice staff , but i dont like the pool and the gym , very good breakfast ,Hotel is centrally located in the old Salata area, close to the Souk Waqif very nice area ,and the Museum of Islamic Art . Hotel will not call a public taxi, but has limousine service available at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royal Doha…

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay, All concerned departments had a meeting and was discussed the feedback about your stay. We have highlighted all the areas which need improvement.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Retaj Royale. We were upgraded free of charge to a suite. The suite was very large and in good condition. The design was very old style and the hotel lacked atmosphere. The breakfast was very good. The hotel doesn't provide any transportation to/from the airport but it is a short taxi journey. Overall an OK place if you plan a short stopover in Doha.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royale Doha...

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay, We have highlighted all the areas which need improvement, I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

We are really looking forward to host you again in Retaj Royale Doha.

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is centrally located in the old Salata area, close to the Souk Waqif (5 - 7 minutes on foot) and the Museum of Islamic Art (10 minutes on foot). Hotel will not call a public taxi, but has limousine service available at reasonable rates. Distances in Doha can be long and it is advisable to choose hotels according to the purpose of the visit in order to avoid unnecessary taxi trips.

Hotel is very recent and the amenities are new and modern. Rooms are very large by European standards and nicely kitted out. Perfect for work (large desk in each room). Breakfast is also plentiful with a nice selection of foods (no pork meat). The Restaurant food was less convincing. Note that like many hotels in Doha, alcohol is not served.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fby1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKhorshed, General Manager at Retaj Royale Doha, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Retaj Royale Doha...

First let me thank you for choosing our Hotel while recently visiting Doha and for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

We are extremely grateful to have received the feedback about your stay. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Guests comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we will endeavor to always make your stays as enjoyable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to call on me or any of the Management Team Members, it will be our pleasure to be of any kind of assistance.

We are really looking forward to host you again in Retaj Royale Doha.

Ahmed Khorshed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#38 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#27 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#49 of 131 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fraser Suites Doha
Fraser Suites Doha
#45 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Royale Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Royale Doha

Property: Retaj Royale Doha
Address: Al Meena St, Old Salata | Corniche area, Doha 25556, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Retaj Royale Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retaj Royale is located near the Corniche Street and just 5 minutes’ drive from the airport. It offers 3 restaurants and a spa with an indoor pool. Guests can also visit the fitness centre. The luxury rooms and suites are elegantly decorated, mixing modern and classical wooden furniture. All the air-conditioned units feature a satellite TV and a minibar. The suites have also a seating area. At Retaj Royale guests can enjoy 3 restaurants with a wide selection of local and international dishes. It is also possible to relax and have a drink at the lobby lounge. A buffet breakfast is served every day. Including a sauna and a spa-bath, the wellness centre also has a variety of massages on offer. The well-equipped fitness centre is ideal for stay in shape. The popular Souq Waqif and the Islamic Art Museum are 2 km away. The Government offices are just a 5-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retaj Royale Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing