We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Retaj Royale Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Retaj Royale Doha
Ranked #46 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful hotel for our trip. it is very near to Souq Waqif (5-10 minutes walking). Room and bathroom were very big. Free parking is available for the hotel. Varity of breakfast is excellent. Check in/out was very quick. There is a Public swimming pool 14th floor

I did not like the reception setup. Staffs are lacking of experience. No free Wifi internet available for rooms. Free internet is available only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hisham85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Retaj Royale Doha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 219 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Choose online from Booking.com comments and ratings and special weekend price. Location fine for Museum of Islamic Art and Souk, staff friendly and helpful, room clean and spacious. We also found the breakfast to be satisfactory.
We had same issues as mentioned by Greg B with soap holder in shower, handle in side of bath detached, plug in hand-basin didn't work. Expected from a 5 Star rated hotel (but didn't get) free Wifi, more than 2 towels, a hot water kettle and a good range of TV channels. Finishing in room very ordinary. Bedside alarm in room next door woke us at 12.15 am. Remedied following phone to reception but happened again on second night! Site invites you to sit and have a drink but doesn't say that Hotel is 'dry'. Also advertises massage service but this is only available for men.
Hotel is value for money and well sited but don't expect too much - definitely not 5 Star.
PS have a map for the taxi driver as most don't know where it is.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 501!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night because I had a transit flight the next day. It's a good hotel with very friendly staff. The old market or Souq Waqif is not too far and if u can handle the humidity and messed up sidewalks you should be able to make it there on foot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose this hotel purely from online information and it turned out to be mixed bag for us - a family of three.
The location was fine - walking distance to the Museum of Islamic Art - 10 minutes, and Souq Waqif was about 20 minutes. Our room was very spacious and had the normal tea/ coffee facilty but only espresso cups -not much good for a cup of tea . Reception staff were not helpfull when we asked for maps of the city - didn't have any. Asked the concierge about tickets to the show Aida - met with blank looks.
This hotel is only about one year old and is going to look very shoddy very soon. Little things like the soapholder in the shower was falling off, dirty walls where suitcases sit, no plug for the sink etc. Our room had a high tech electronic system for turning everything on and off but we could never figure out how to alter the temperature on the A/C. Also if you can't find the remote control for the lights in the middle of the night there are no normal light switches.Free Wifi - but only in public areas was annoying too.
Reasonable value for money but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

very nice food. very clean and well managed.
the service in the reception is slow though.
pricing is on the high side and you could find cheaper hotels for the same quality.
the telephones are not easy to use.
the gym is nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stumbled across this hotel on the hotelbooking website that I frequently used. Although the direct area is a bit on the downside, it's still in the middle of everything (50m from Corniche, at the Islamic Museum), so it's the same distance to West Bay and to the airport.

Giant room, comfortably equipped, nice bed, nothing special about ambiance, but very relaxing. Pricewise it's definitely on the very cheap side for Doha, so the price performance ratio is unbeatable. Arabic hotel company, so no alcohol - but you don't miss it with all those teas and arabic specialties and sweets.

Very nice, very friendly service. During my last visit I had to stay in bed due to a heavy gout attack - the reception got me a phantastic doctor, paid the bill on my behalf, immediately sent someone to get me medication, called me to ask how I was. Might be normal for 500 $ plus hotels (with the according charge) - here it was a very nice and comfortable surprise. As I am in Doha frequently, I definitely found my place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophhelbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here three nights and we do have mixed feeling about this place. On one side they had very polite, helpful and professional staff in the reception and we got an upgrade to a nice spacious suite with two bathrooms, two TVs and all the stuff needed as hairdryer, coffe maker etc. And their roomservice was quick and the food nicely arranged. On the other side they forgot to clean our room one of the days and even when the room was cleaned there were hairpins left on the bathroom floor which did not belong to us. They also promised to send an extra key to our room but we had to ask again before anything happended. We really liked the breakfast buffet which was well assorted with different kind of european and more traditional food. The fitness romm was small but the equipment was nice and well working except for the row machine which was not powered. On the other side we found the indoor pool area to be very cold (probably air conditioned) so we were freezing after a swim. We had dinner at the hotel one night and they did not have neither the main course or the desert we ordered. Perhaps most people eat at the souks which since we were the only ones present in the restaurant. Despite the lack of cleaning and the cold pool I would not hesitate to come back because of the close access to the souks and the relatively lowe price compared to the overall standard of the room and the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#49 of 136 in Doha
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#31 of 136 in Doha
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
#41 of 136 in Doha
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Royale Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Royale Doha

Address: Al Meena St, Old Salata | Corniche area, Doha 25556, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Retaj Royale Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retaj Royale is located near the Corniche Street and just 5 minutes’ drive from the airport. It offers 3 restaurants and a spa with an indoor pool. Guests can also visit the fitness centre. The luxury rooms and suites are elegantly decorated, mixing modern and classical wooden furniture. All the air-conditioned units feature a satellite TV and a minibar. The suites have also a seating area. At Retaj Royale guests can enjoy 3 restaurants with a wide selection of local and international dishes. It is also possible to relax and have a drink at the lobby lounge. A buffet breakfast is served every day. Including a sauna and a spa-bath, the wellness centre also has a variety of massages on offer. The well-equipped fitness centre is ideal for stay in shape. The popular Souq Waqif and the Islamic Art Museum are 2 km away. The Government offices are just a 5-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retaj Royale Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing