We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucina

Cucina
Ranked #44 of 839 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $10 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience an authentic Italian restaurant serving fresh and flavorsome favorites. Featuring the Anti-Pasta and Pizza Corner, indulgent desserts and an extensive grape selection, this spacious restaurant is sure to please.
Qatar
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Italian find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Been to Cucina 2 nights in a row as we were enamored with their Risotto ai Funghi Misti (risotto, mixed mushroom sauce, garlic, chili, parmesan) and Pollo e Funghi (chicken, mushroom, cream sauce, fusilli) the first time we went to eat. Daughter ordered the Pollo e Funghi again while my wife and I tried their Calzone (Turkey, mozaarella, mushrooms) and Petto di Pollo alla Griglia (Grilled Chicken marinated with garlic, rosemary, chili powder). All delicious! The serving size of the grilled chicken should have been bigger though. But the Risotto could be shared as well as the pasta.

A must try in Doha.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Cucina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us in Cucina and for taking time to let us know about your visit.The Cucina team will be delighted to hear of your memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cucina soon.

Best Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    162
    64
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, lackluster food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The restaurant itself is lovely and very cozy. I love the tables and the decor. When we walked in everything smelled delicious and even the bread before the meal got our hopes up. Our starters (bruschetta and caprese salad) were good... but not great. We ordered the lasagna and the penne sorentina and both were good... but not great. The service on the other hand was knowlegeable, attentive and very accommodating.

The wine (I had the Torretino) and dessert (pumpkin sorbet) were both very good. But unfortunately we didn't go for just drinks and dessert so we were a little disappointed to spend nearly 100 USD on a lackluster meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WestTXTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Cucina, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear WestTXTravelGirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Cucina, it means a lot to us that you were willing to share that experience with others. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wine, service and atmosphere. I have passed on your feedback to our General Manager John Northen, as well as the Cucina team, as such remarks continuously inspire us to improve. Since your visit, we have introduced a new "Seasonal Specialty' menu along with a new express lunch menu, so hope you can try these on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cucina!

Kind Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Food is delicious. Rustic atmosphere amid high rise Doha. The staff are really lovely and friendly especially Luke. They look after us very well every time. It's good value relative to the other restaurants around. Definitely worth a visit. Especially if its your birthday. Ha!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Cucina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regard to your visit to Cucina and it is great to hear that the Cucina team inspired you to share your experience with us all. It great to hear that you received the full “Luke Birthday experience”. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cucina soon.

Best Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mediocre Italian Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's an very standard Italian restaurant. The food all tasted quite ordinary, with no real flair. I'd compare it to any of the various chain Italian restaurants you find in the United States along interstate highways.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Cucina, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear George W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our visit to Cucina, it means a lot that you were willing to share that experience with the Trip Advisor community. I have passed on your feedback to the Cucina chefs and team, as such remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do. Since your visit we have introduced a new express lunch menu along with a 'Seasonal Specialty' menu, which we invite you to try on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enough for our pizza fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Whenever my boyfriend and I need our pizza fix, we always go here. He's from Italy and knowing good food is a given. On a normal dining setup, we would order 2 medium pizzas and a bottle of Chianti and we're solved. This is kind of our local place. Love the food and the service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purplemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Cucina, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Joaocravo,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visits to Cucina. The Cucina chefs and team were delighted to hear about your enjoyment of the atmosphere and service. It's great to know that our guests are able to choose their favourite options. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cucina at West End Doha again.

Best regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing