We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, good food and drinks”
Review of Glo Cocktail Bar

Glo Cocktail Bar
Ranked #33 of 912 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Relax in a cocktail bar with unique ambiance, vibrant design and suave sense of style serving mouth-watering cocktails and delicious tapas-style nibbles.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Glo's decor is modern and it isn't over the top so you feel very relaxed in there. Nice atmosphere with nice drinks, what else do you want from a bar?! We also ordered food to share between the few of us. The portion size is just right and the food is tasty! The staff are really friendly and attentive, kept asking if we want any more drinks. Really enjoyed the night at Glo. Will go again soon.

Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Glo Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello “MickeyinParis”

Many thanks for taking the time to share the experience of your visit to Glo and it is great to hear that you had a good visit. The team will be delighted with your comments on the food and the service you received.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glo.

Best Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

A great place to unwind during the week or be part of the 'scene' at the weekend. Can be a little smoky when full but a great atmosphere, fit-out is excellent and the range of drinks and nibbles is quite good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Glo Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Good Day “Jason M”

Thank you for taking time to share your comments in regard to your visit to Glo, they are much appreciated.

The team will be delighted to receive your comments in regard to our food and service and we do appreciate your loyalty.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glo soon.

Best Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice if your staying in the Hotel, not worth traveling too

Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Glo Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hello “John D”

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent visit to the Glo Cocktail Bar at the Renaissance Doha City Center Hotel.

Whilst we did provide some good moments, it is disappointing to see that we may have fallen short of your expectations and would value the opportunity to discuss you visit further and if you could contact me on robert.catlin@renaissancehotels.com so that we can arrange a suitable time

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glo Bar on your next visit to Doha.

Best Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I love lounges and this is a welcome addition to the Doha scene, not a night club with thumping music and not men's cigar lounge just a good looking bar to relax and have a drink. Very nice decor, those glass drops from the ceiling are awesome and twinkly ceiling very cute too. The menu is good and so it should be, I really like the modern twist, pepper caipirinha! We went during Happy Hour 5-8pm every day (wow!) and tried a few cocktails, I had the Watermelon Margarita while my husband had the caipirinha and while they both looked fantastic they just didn't have the punch, I couldn't taste any tequila (it was very sweet so that might hide it) and the Caprihana again was sweet but lacked any depth or those lovely cachaça flavours. Maybe it was just Happy Hour and they use half pours, I'm not sure, maybe we chose wrong and should stick to short drinks. I'll try again :-) The food was awesome, we had the steakhouse salad and the prawns, wow very tasty and excellent presentation, if this is bar food in Doha, watch out other bars! Wish we knew where chef get's the tiny steakhouse salad tomatoes! Ok the only disjointed thing was the staff. It was pretty hard for them to understand/pronounce the drinks, poor sods and boy they looked like they had just done 8 hrs cleaning rooms before another 8 in the bar before climbing onto the company bus out to their housing compound. I wanted to scoop them up and give em a feed, a beer and somewhere to sleep for 2 days. Now cocktail bars back home can have some really fantastic and edgy staff but gee I've never seen a less edgy uniform in all my life! This poor wee lass in a full length black mother hubbard flared skirt and long sleeve chambray button up men's shirt. Holly molly this bar is for people to kick back in a modern environment and this poor girl was in a uniform suitable for Armish Sunday prayers. Just didn't fit the atmoshphere at all! Our server was a lovely guy but a lot of places here in Doha seem to confuse subservience with service which doesn't make for a good time for anyone, you just end up feeling sorry for them. Anyway going off track here, this place looks great, has awesome bar food and a good drinks menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Glo Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hello “sumo_trades”

Many thanks for taking the time to share the experience of your visit to the Glo Cocktail Bar and it’s great to hear that you had a good visit. The team will be delighted with your comments on the food and the service you received.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glo Bar soon.

Best Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I liked the atmosphere, great selection of beers (yes they have Guiness) and Martini's. Never have eaten at the bar but the scene is nice.

1  Thank War182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Director of Beverage & Food at Glo Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Good Day “War182”

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regard to your visit to the Glo bar at the Renaissance Doha City Center Hotel.

The Glo Bar team will be delighted by your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glo Cocktail Bar also viewed

 

Been to Glo Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing