We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Doha The City
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed April 9, 2014

compared to other hotels in Doha this one is very good option. Very good location at the West Bay.
Amaizing views from the gym located on top of the building

Would be better when the neighbourhood works finalize.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Carles,
thank you for rating us "over and above" the usual Doha hotels. We re proud to be Qatars biggest and as we hope still most personal & genuinely friendly 5* hotel! Works in Qatar are everywhere and progressing very quickly in most cases... upon your return, it will all be different... just we will be trying hard to remain "a very good option" and your "No1 option"!
Best wishes from the InterContinental Doha The City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I am a Platinum Royal Ambassador member and the InterContinental Hotel At Doha the City, It has become my home away from home. The staff members at the City are awesome, from the Kenyan Brothers handling my baggage or the Valet service to Ms. Judi that took care of getting me into a awesome suite on the 47th floor that really made me feel at home. And of course when it comes to getting business done Ms. Fredei is top knock. Your technical ability and polite manners makes it easy to choice the City. This hotel has become my place of choice in Doha, Qatar. I will be back there in four days, so InterContinental Family I will be back for 15 more days because your staff continues to make me feel at home.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear John,
always great to get feedback, even greater if it is on such positive note! With pride we have passed on your comments to the team and look forward to your return!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been staying as a long term guest in one of the residence suites for over 4 months. This hotel is located very conveniently in West Bay. The suites are large, with modern furnishing and utilities - making a long term stay very comfortable. The best part of the hotel are its staff. A very friendly and professional bunch of people. For all our needs, a simple phone call to the "instant services" is sufficient to get assistance immediately. Special mention must be made of Mr. Sudipto Mondal who is a Housekeeping Supervisor. His attention to minutest of details and caring for the guests is outstanding! For anything that you need or are unsure of, just talk to him!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to stay long term in Doha, especially in the West Bay area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoushikSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear KoushikSinha,
thank you for your praise for your most recent stay in our residences. "Outstanding" is a great accolade for us and the team who makes this a special place, over and above the facilities.
Looking forward having you back at any time!
Best regards from the entire team from the InterContinental Doha The City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My company booked me into the InCon City for a period of a week. I was allocated a super super king size room on the 37th Floor.

First Impressions
The staff checked me in ahead of the official check in time which allowed me to have a quick shower after my long flight an freshen up ready to go to the office.
The hotel is very clean and tastefully decorated (for Middle Eastern standards). Though some of the decorating is a bit poor in isolated areas (I am being picky but this is a 5 star hotel so I am allowed to be).
My room was pretty big with a huge bed, desk, chaise lougue and 42" TV. The orientation of the TV and bed was at 90 degrees so not the best.
Views were great and only marred by the various construction works going on in the area (however one must accept this in the Middle East).
Bathroom was huge as was the shower room which had a railfall head and handset. A selection of Elemis toiletries were presented along with some other bits and pieces that could prove useful.

Sleep & Shower Quality
The bed though large was relatively comfortable but not as comfy as mine at home (but then none of them are) and I did wake up a bit stiff.
The shower control was very stiff and needed a lot of effort to turn. Hot water came out only after a few minutes running (not very efficient) but the pressure was great once it got going.
The bath also took a while to get hot water and taller people may struggle to stretch out as it is quite small.

Food & Drink
I only really stayed for a cocktail on Thursday as it was 2 4 1 and at 70QR per cocktail it made a lot of sense! The waiter did look at me funny when i ordered two for myself!

The breakfast was excellent, loads of choice, from cereals, pastries, cold meats, cooked breakfasts, pancakes, waffles, omlettes etc. It was difficult to keep my intake to normal levels!

Service
Service from all staff was very good and professional.

Location
Located in the West Bay Area, a 15 min drive (in no traffic) from the airport.
10 mins walk to City Centre mall for shops, supermarket and various eateries.
20min walk to the start of the Corniche.
Qatar does not cater for pedestrian and you really have to have your wits about when walking and crossing the busy roads and construction areas.
Loads of other hotels in the area so lots of places to eat and drink (but take your passport if you want anything alcoholic as some places will ask).

Summary
I had an excellent stay with some minor niggles which i won't expect in a 5 star hotel but the hotel is highly recommended and in a great location.

Room Tip: The end rooms are further away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dishmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Dishmeister,
thank you for the great and extensive summary! Your feedback is being very helpful and we appreciate your openness and time to share!
We shall be looking forward for your return next time your travel bring to Doha!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a fantastic hotel, great location. We were spoilt as we stayed on the Exec floor, the rooms were first class and the view was brilliant. Staying in the Exec floors is beneficial if you care for a drink in the evenings as they serve cocktails from 6.30pm until 9.00pm. Maya Lee the Club supervisor was outstanding, she was so caring and managed all our needs, including my wife and I arriving at 6.00am, We will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big47al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear big47al,
thank you for your kind words and praise! With delight we shall be welcoming you back on any future trip that takes you to Qatar!
Looking forward to your return and with best regards,
Your InterContinental Doha the City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I have written a number of reviews about this hotel since it opened and I first stayed here. The staff turnover is high as they're aren't many familiar faces which I think indicates the service issues that they still face a couple of years on from opening.

The property itself is beautiful and once the surrounding construction has been finished the location is good too in the heart of the business district of Doha. I have heard complaints about construction noise but never experienced this myself. The pool area is stunning.

They lobby areas are confusing as there are a number of entrances making it a challenge to meet people. The rooms are very well appointed with stunning views over the cityscape but it is the lack of consistent service that is the most frustrating. Some of the staff are excellent and can not do enough for the guests but it us evident (particularly in the Club Lounge) that they are severely under staffed at peak times. They seem also still to have some technical issues as I had to have my room key recoded 3 times on a 3 night visit - once admittedly was the fault of the receptionist at check-in as they coded my key to another room.

It is a real shame that this hotel can not seem to get things right as it has the potential to be a IHG property similar to the InterContinental in Dubai. I have tried to engage with the management to share my various experiences but they show little if no interest which is disappointing.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Vigggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Vigggen,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.

I apologize for you did not find some aspects of the hotel and our service level to your liking. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the hotel's management and will be used to consider improvements. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at the intercontinental doha the city because I had a conference there. The hotel in itself is ok. Nice room, great view from the city, but next time I would stay at the intercontinental at thebeach instead. Also nice hotel, and only about 10 minutes drive (about 5 dollars) by taxi. And then you have a lot more ammenities and when you arrive back to your hotel a bit of vácation feeling. Except for a shopping mall at about 15 minutes walk from the hotel, there isn't much to do around the hotel Intercontinental doha the city

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdictions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Traveladdictions,
thank you for your review and the great 4&5star ratings in all categories. Unfortunately the location pulled it down to an overall of 3stars. Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge or guest relations on your next stay. They will be able to point out ample of opportunities to you. We are ideally located in the heart of WestBay, which puts you in the middle of most happenings in Qatar.
Hopefully till soon and we will make your trip to enjoy!
Your InterContinental Doha the City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#18 of 138 in Doha
991 reviews
2.6 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli
0.3 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha 8299, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $149 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing