We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome club lounge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Doha The City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Doha The City
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome club lounge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. It is way awesome! I was particularly impressed by the club lounge. They had everything in there and it was a large, comfortable space. Maya in the club lounge was very helpful and did an excellent job taking care of the guests there. I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Roberto,
thank you very much for sharing this great experience! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and the services in the hotel. We shall gladly pass on your special appreciation to the Club Lounge team in Qatars highest Lounge!
Best regards and see you back soon at your favorite InterContinental Doha The City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    267
    66
    24
    15
See reviews for
121
99
74
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We are currently staying at Intercontinental Doha the City and it's our 2nd day. We initially booked a deluxe king room but decided to become a member of the Ambassador Club. Our room have been upgraded to a suite and we are given access to the Club Lounge which are amazing! However, I have noticed the following that needs improvement.

1. Hot Water - only hot water is coming out from the shower and faucets. It was only fixed after 3 calls to room service and 3 hours from report of incident. Their response should have been fast.
2. There should have larger trash bins in the toilets especially when you have a baby with you. Only two diapers can fit in the bin.
3. Larger table in the living area or a dining table would have been great. There should be a dining table in every suite.
4. Hairdryer - you should constantly press the on button for it to stay working. Hard to use.5. No toys in the 3rd floor play area for kids. Probably it is still closed but it's already 10:30am at that time.

We are still thinking if we want to extend our stay here.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Pearl,
thank you very much for the review and suggestions.
We are working on the hot water circulation in some areas and there is some plumping work required, so fixes do take a little and we should have informed you accordingly. The hairdryer has a security feature which requires you to hold a bottom down while using. In case of an emergency this would switch off the electricity and avoid electrocution or other harm. This can be a little different to the household system however is in use in most international chains and countries.
We recommend to try one of our residences next time. They all come with bigger facilities (i.e. living room with dining table, kitchen with big bin, etc. They are indeed popular with travelling families. Else, just drop us a line before next arrival and we shall happily provide.
Withing you a great 2014,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times as thought they deserve a very good rating. It's hard to judge the location, but you can easily grab a cab to go anywhere but it is walking distance from the mall and sea. The staff are great, the rooms are very comfortable and the room service and dining was great. I am happy to make this home for my Qatar business trips. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Frank,
thank you for your loyalty and continued custom! It will be our pleasure to continue being your home away from home in Qatar. With pride we have noted and passed on your comments on the team! Have a great start into 2014 and see you again soon!
Your InterContinental Doha The City team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I wasn't too impressed by my recent stay at this hotel.
First, the good. The rooms are really nice, very spacious and modern with fantastic views. Also the location is great. Being able to walk to the mall was welcome and there are plenty of restaurants around.
However I have to say the price was quite high. Breakfast was not included and the buffet in the morning didn't have any hot food. This isn't so bad but it cost over $35!! i can't eat that much toast and muffin. Next day I ordered room service which was more reasonable but my selection of preserves were all apricot flavour. There were other few examples of this lack of attention to detail, eg, toiletries were not replaced by room service.
The other issue was that I must have been located next to a suite or apartment as there was a crying baby next door. Not the hotels faults but didn't make for a restful sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Vinda,
thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. It goes without saying that we can not be satisfied with 3stars and will continue our quest to consistently deliver 5star services at all times. Thank you for the great praise on rooms (except toiletry replenishment), for Breakfast we suggest the Lobby Lounge for quick & small bites. It is open from 7am and fresh bakery items start at 3U$. Maybe give it a try next time? We would be delighted.
Your Crew at the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel and really tall.
Rooms are OK but if you don't smoke ask for a non smoking room. I forgot to and although room was ok it really stank of smoke when I checked in.
It is a bit confused at moment as the main entrance is not open.
Lifts can be a nuisance and very slow to arrive. Important not to get in the Residence floor lifts by mistake as tricky to navigate back to hotel.
Bar at the very top has great views but a bit soulless. One night was in there and the speakers cranked into a tango and the most bizarre grouping of people broke into some very dodgy Argentinian Tango moves. Not a conducive atmosphere for anything unless you found it amusing. The bar is disappointing.
We ate in the Steak restaurant the name escapes me - it was OK not great but OK.
Breakfast is a bit like how I imagine a Travel Lodge would be.
This is a hotel trying hard but with very tough competition in Doha.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Namshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Namshur,
thank you for your feedback. the Main entrance is currently being enhanced as our guests told us that the arrival experience does not fully match the hotel... your with is our command! Strata features the Latino night on Mondays on 56th floor, which is usually visited by 120-150 guests of the dancing community, we certainly could have done better by offering you a seat in our wine lounge or restaurant section on 55th floor... it is one of the most stunning places in Doha. Prime, our steakhouse usually has a very good track-record and is among the 10 best restaurants of Doha and its No.1 steakhouse. We take your comments seriously and will continue thriving for excellence. Our new Executive Chef and F&B Director are working on the overall offering and we are certain, on a return, you can feel the difference.
With best wishes and season greetings,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was the second year we were staying for several weeks in this hotel during an exhibition in Doha. And we will come back.

The size of the rooms and particularly the suites is amazing. The property, originally intended to be an Apartment house, is structured in a way that every room is huge. If you have been in London hotels (where rooms are so small you have to open the window so you can unpack your suitcase), you really appreciate that freedom.

There is plenty of space for hanging your cloths and stowing your stuff if you are not here just for a day. We traveled with 12 suitcases and had still plenty of space left in the closets. This would not be the case is most other hotels I have seen.

It is a rather brand new property and in great shape. The Managers were very caring and handled any issues we had perfectly well and fast (the GM and the Resident Manager). The hotel does give a lot of benefit for a Royal Ambassador of the chain and it is one of those experiences which honestly makes us keeping up the status. It is these "extras" that you really appreciate and make you want to maintain the loyalty to the chain.

The Club lounge is great too, lots of space, fantastic view, and specifically the Philippine staff are making you feel genuinely welcome.

Given the prices for good apartments in Doha even the Residence Suites of the hotel are an option that can be more economical. Worth checking into this if you are in for a longer stay. And enjoy the service at the same time for the same money.

Finally also the location is well chosen. West Bay is where most of the business is happening. Shopping mall in walking distance, anything we needed was within a maximum 15 minute drive.

Overall this was a pleasant stay, and I can recommend it to all who know Interconti hotels - one of the better ones.

Room Tip: All of the room are huge, but if you have a status, talk to a manager about the upgrade, and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mr Goeldenitz,
it has been a pleasure having you stay as one of our most loyal guests to the IHG group. Thank you for the attribute of being "one of the better ones"! Upon return we shall be further improved and hopefully qualify for being "one of the best"! Thank you for you input during the stay also and with best regards,
Your Crew at the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I would like extend my warmest THank you for the service that you rendered to our team during our stay in your hotel and apartment. Specially to Igor, Fredie and Maurine in the residence side extremely unforgettable the day to day how you assist us in our transportation taxi, asking our night and if we had our breakfast. During the afternoon, offering drinks in the apartment after a long and tiring day, makes especial, and when you are seeing the geniune care feels like home.

Excellent location nearby to city center and katara. Vallet parker sometimes very late to take he car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Karim,
thank you so much for your positive comments for our Residences and the entire team looking after our guests. We certainly take your comment on the valet on board and have already made changes to the parking access in order for them to deliver quicker and even better service in the future.
With best regards,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#13 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.3 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Property: InterContinental Doha The City
Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing