We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management change needed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Veranda Italian Restaurant

La Veranda Italian Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 839 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Management change needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This property has really gone from excellent to average or poor. The location is ideal and during the cooler months the seating outside is superb, however there is a small problem, management, staff and food. The attitudes of the staff is terrible, on asking for fresh bread management stated i must eat at 7pm and not 10pm, on asking to clear the table, response was we will, eventually, it goes on and on. Salad bar is poor, rubbish is a better word to describe it, food average and over price. Its a real shame about this place, needs new management and a refurbish..,.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L4-Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    28
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bad service and okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our meal was fine, not great. Soggy salad, not overly hot when it came from the kitchen for the mains. I had to ask for my beverage when the other at my table had theirs and their appetizer already. The waiter said in a snotty voice a grunted it's coming. The other waiter was snotty when taking our order. I would not go back. There is better food many places in Doha with nice views and nicer staff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So much untapped potential”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Sorry La Veranda, we were not impressed. :-(
My wife and I went to this restaurant twice in Feb (2013).
The location is perfect - right on the water's edge, an occasional unobtrusive decorated dhow drifts past and there's a close up view of some of the unusual buildings that radiate the city of Doha. Live music is also a nice touch.
But it seems the management of La Veranda do not wish to invest much more into this restaurant.
We want to enjoy the few cooler nights before the inferno of Qatar's summer. However some of the gas heaters are broken (and just standing in full view of customers instead of stored out of sight) and the ones that do work are not always placed appropriately (such a waste).. Other hotels provide small blankets to their patrons but not the Sheraton.
The paint on the outside wall is pealing and unsightly (thankfully the water and night sky are a welcome distraction).
On the night that we went with friends the orders got muddled and I ended up standing at the computer with the waitron spending lots of time trying to explain who ordered what.
The one pizza that our friends ordered seemed to be delayed so it was decided that we would start eating and share our orders so that at least we could eat while the food was still warm. Eventually the pizza arrived only when we were almost finished our food. (We were thankful at least that the manager recognized our frustration and the late meal was not charged).
In the end of the evening the computer system handling the bill crashed resulting in a long delay.
There were many other potential things that could be done that would make this restaurant an awesome place to frequent but the enthusiasm to take this valuable establishment to the next level seems lackluster.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good lunch stop or a dinner with view of the corncihe lights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A good lunch stop or a dinner with view of the corncihe lights. Good Italian / International food. La Veranda is situated in the Sheraton Hotel's gardens overlooking the bay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank osto878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice inside and outside seatings but food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a table outside with a nice view at the water and opposite side of Doha. Had some fighting cats around which was not very pleasant. After a while chased away but one black cat remains coming (those who believe in bad luck when seeing a black cat with very bright yellow eyes beware). As stated food was OK but nothing special. It is hard in Doha to find a nice restaurant with outside seatings in general.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Veranda Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing