We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italians will be amazed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #40 of 847 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant is situated in Souq Waqif near the Art Gallery . We serve Italian home made dishes .We are open every day from 12:30 till 23:00 except Sundays from 18:00 till 23:00
Tir Eoghain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Italians will be amazed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only popped in for coffee but the coffee was excellent. We enjoyed excellent service and a warm welcome. We didn't have a chance to sample the food. Closed on Sundays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arseachran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Arseachran,

Yes coffee is good real Italian espresso but we hope to see you for
dinner ,unfortunately on sunday morning closed only Sunday evening
open at 18:00 till 23:00.
Thank you again waiting to serve you next time

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    82
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hmmm.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

After living in Doha for over a year, it was about time to try Le Dolce Vita - it had come recommended by others as some of the best Italian they had tasted. The position of the restaurant being hidden away is cute; but signage would be helpful. My friend and I ordered a starter to share and separate mains. They came in a timely manner by a waitress that could have been a little friendlier. The starter was ok, the accompanying salad was fresh and crisp. The mains were disappointing - a pasta dish and a risotto dish. Both lack a full body flavour to expect from a pasta and risotto dish.
I had the risotto dish which required seasoning or even a knob of butter to bring some of the 'risotto' qualities to the dish - I ended up stealing some mushrooms from my friends pasta main!
I have had much, much better in Doha, and in obscure places in other countries.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Miss MelM73,

Well what should we say we can not satisfy all clients ,but if your freinds recommended
our restaurant and as you say they had good food I leave judgement to our customers.
We can not comment on the risotto because we do not know what you ordered ,but you
can see from our italian customers which comment in italian that the best risotto in town
is served in our restaurant.
As far as the waitress it could be we will investigate and will try to be more friendly next
time.
Moreover, our signage are around as far as the souq permits us if you have any problems to find our restaurant kindly call us we will direct you.
Again, thank you for your comment
Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“unexpectedly nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

spent two weeks in Doha and didn't really hope to find that good italian restaurant in town. it's not that i visited every italian restaurant in Doha, but this one is the best i was able to find (i've visited about dozen of various places, some at Souq Waqif where Dolce Vita, some in other parts of city). food is really good, prices maybe a little highe compared to surrounding places, but just a little bit. definitely worth it. and charming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idstayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Mr.idstayfor,

Thank you for your comment on Ladolcevita .We appreciate when guest know how to
understand real italian food . We do not like to compare ourselfs to other italian
restaurant as it is unethical. We try always to ask our customers as there comments
are very helpful to improve our cuisine . As far as the price ,yes you are right comparing
with other local restaurant in the souq as being popular restaurants , but we are importing
our food from italy (parmesan,mozzarella,peeled tomatoes,olive oil etc...)which increase
our cost to have always serving quality, yes we can find local oil ,tomatoes etc..but we
wish to give the real taste of italy. We are not trying to find an excuse but compared to
other restaurants outside the souq we are still offering a good price.
Again ,we hope to see you soon and thanks for your review
Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dolce Vita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Three of us went on a Friday night, with reservations, & had wonderfully friendly & attentive service. Their special of pumpkin flan with parmesan sauce was lovely & delicate & their spaghetti with rock lobster was delicious with the pasta cooked truly al dente. My friends also found the caprese salad, minestrone and home made ravioli were very good. The place was filled with the sound of lively Italian & everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. The only minor drawback is that the outdoor seating is right next to another restaurant where the patrons let their children run around & ride on a scooter, so that it got a little hectic... but the wait staff coped.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar4continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mar4 continents,

Thank you for your review , we apologize on the drawback on behalf of our
neighbour . Next time will try to seat you away from the chaotic only to
remind us on your next visit .
Hoping to see you soon it was a pleasure having you
Best regards
Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Been Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I tried La Dolce Vita after one of his Italian friends suggested it. The restaurant is off the beaten path of the Souq, which meant it had a private courtyard and was very romantic. We sat inside, as it was still hot outside, and everything was just perfect. Service was exceptional, the food was DELICIOUS, and the atmosphere was so intimate that I can only hope we will return for Valentine's Day / my birthday. It was a little pricey, but the perfect romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Mrs. Katee,

Thank you we hope to see you before Valentine's day and Happy Birthday in advance

Best regards

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing