We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUNAWAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon Manor Hotel
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is in a correct location, near the souq and the museum, that's the only thing good about it.
When I checked in, the key room was not working. The reception didn't give me another card, they simply sent me back with a security guard to open my room with his master key. So I had to request security every time I was going back to my room.
The room itself is quite large but empty and ugly (no colors, no decoration, dirty walls). There were no slippers, no bathrobe. The AC was noisy and not working very well, since I was feeling hot even at the lowest temperature setting.
In the morning, I wanted to go to the swimming pool but the access was refused, apparently there was a schedule with a window for men and a window for women. At this point, you wonder why you had to pay 425QAR for the night!!
Going back to bed, I was awaken by a call from the reception asking at what time I would check out, whereas that time had been already agreed at check-in time.
To sum up, this hotel is of no interest and not agreeable, useless if you want to take a rest after a hard week of work. Forget about this establishment!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamoaviron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 269 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just stay here one night for transit, Qatar Airways provided this hotel for me. their service is really really bad. i have to wait more than 1 hour for check in process with very long line. suck!! 2 staff behind desk is not enough to handle us?because they are to slow!. after arrived in the room, i wish to have shower. but guess what?? their shower is broken, and water flooding everywhere. i called reception to change my room, but he said they are fully book. ok then, i ask him to send engineering to come immediately, because i need to take shower before i go to sleep. but after 20mnt, no one come. so i called reception again. and he said engineering will come in few minutes. really2 night mare for me!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed one night and one day at Horizon Manor, compliments of Qatar Airways – and were enjoyed our staying in this hotel. This Hotel is strategically located in the commercial hub of Doha within easy reach of main business establishments and leisure spots. Hotel near Doha International Airport (5 minute drive) and just minutes away from the Qatar Islamic Museum and the sea shore.

The rooms are large, clean and well-furnished, with free WI-FI internet access and equipped with other amenities (basic toiletries etc.) which makes the staying very much comfortable. All staffs are very polite, helpful and generally well mannered. They provide buffet style breakfast with lots of varieties and plentiful. There is a bar and a dance club.

Can’t really think of a reason not to stay whether for business or pleasure trip there again when in Doha .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tutun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The horizon manor was a decent stay, all meals are served buffet style at the venue on the mezzanine floor, if you care to dine there. There is a bar on the third floor and up on the 13th there is a dance club. My stay here was short, but it is located on the older side of town, but most of the rooms offer a BAY VIEW of the entire city of Doha! On the roof is the wonderful pool! You have 360 degree views of anything you could want to see and its just great!!!! Watching sunsets from the roof top with your lover is great and seeing the night lights from the main city is amazing!

The motel was nice, but the views were amazing. Close to many eating venues and near the gulf!

Room Tip: Stay near mid-level to avoid noise from the club above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The airport transfer at 11.30 pm was 90 minutes late. Then the noise from the night club is so loud we were moved from 13th floor to 4th at 2am but then they had a huge party and fights broke out on the floor corridors the next evening. We were then moved to the 8th floor, noise again from the 14th floor night club base, moved to same level but across the corridor at imidnight, no noise, UNTIL the DJ turned up the volume and base and so no sleep pretty much all night. They should take into consideration this very obvious problem and fix it!!!! It's easy, turn down the sound but they won't because of the NC patrons. Still there because they won't refund, so now 6th floor. Ill keep you posted.

We were woken by a staff member asking us to confirm that the two passports in his hands were ours. I asked if this could wait and then I asked him the time , it was 11.53PM, I then shut the door!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed one night at Horizon Manor, compliments of Qatar Airways – and were happy with hotel, esp. given that it was complimentary.
Spacious and clean room (yes, the room is huge, but why is that a problem?), comfortable bed, good location (about 10 minutes to the Old Market). Were not disturbed by any noise (our room was in the 11th floor). Wi-fi was fine. No socket on one side of the bed (so if you need to charge your cell phone over night), you can’t have the phone next to you. Basic toiletries provided. No keycards and only one key, which isn’t really practical.
Lovely view.
Hotel didn’t really seem run down. Didn’t see any sleazy men or women hanging around and/or smoking everywhere.
Transportation to and from airport went smoothly. The hotel is close to airport, which is very practical.
Breakfast (even though we went very early) was good and plentiful.
Can’t really think of a reason not to stay there again when in Doha.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The airport transfer at 11.30 pm was 90 minutes late. Then the noise from the night club is so loud we were moved from 13th floor to 4th at 2am but then they had a huge party and fights broke out on the floor corridors the next evening. We were then moved to the 8th floor, noise again from the 14th floor night club base, moved to same level but across the corridor at midnight, no noise, UNTIL the DJ turned up the volume and base and so no sleep pretty much all night. They should take into consideration this very obvious problem and fix it!!!! It's easy, turn down the sound but they won't because of the NC patrons. Still there because they won't refund, so now 6th floor. Ill keep you posted.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#109 of 137 in Doha
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#46 of 137 in Doha
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#81 of 137 in Doha
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Doha
Best Western Plus Doha
#97 of 137 in Doha
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Manor Hotel

Address: Jaber Bin Mohammed Street | across from Qatar Islamic Arts Museum, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $59 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing