We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe, terrible service, do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon Manor Hotel
Ranked #52 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On two separate days I have come back to my room, after all day meetings, to discover the door to my room had been left open! Management concern about this = zero.

At midnight one night the cafe downstairs buzzed on my door to ask me to sign a charge slip. It was midnight! I had the do not disturb sign on my door!

The shower did not work when I arrived, nor did the security box.

the service in any of the restaurants or cafes is so slow as to be a joke. There are hundreds of them, but it takes 20 minutes to get a bottle of water and longer to get a bill. Yet they lurk around with leering smiles. Disturbing!

In summary, this hotel is terrible. Come here to look at the view from the rooftop - but stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: no room here is good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank julieannerichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I too had the unintend courtesy of the Horizon Manor hotel due to a delayed landing at Doha international.

The Horizon Manor staff dealt quite well with weary travellers who were not happy at a 24 hour delay. They were polite, helpful and generally well mannered. Note to the hotel though, get more English maps of Doha. Just saying, and I'm not the first.

The rooms were spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Unsurprisingly not many English language channels of the telly.

The roof top area is a great place to watch the sunset and is desperately crying out for a roof top bar. I'd have spent a lot of time by the pool with an ice cold beverage looking over the city and watching the sunset.

I noet I am not he only one to identify this.

Otherwise this is a cetrally located hotel ideal for business travellers and very close to a lot of market and bazar type shopping areas (I've. never seen so many watch shops so close together other than in, say, Hong Kong or Singapore)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks to the North or North East to get a view over the Dhow harbour and Isla...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_H001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Horizon manor is a nice hotel where you get good value for your money - they have airport pick-up and drop-off, it's perfectly located with walking distance to the Islamic Museum and the wonderful Souk Waqif. The room we had was huge (quite unneccessarily big actually) and it was neat and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a wonderful, albeit fairly small, pool on the roof of the hotel which is perfect for relaxing in the late afternoons. There is also a small but good gym - indoors, next to the pool.

Helén, Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helén S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place was a real eye opener - I am so glad I did not pay for anything, that would have really been the last straw. I was whisked to this place as a 'complimentary free accommodation' for a 20hr layover in Doha with Qatar Airways - I was travelling economy...but that is not an excuse to stay steerage class! The hotel seems OK on first arrival, the location is a little suspect, opposite to some run down shops/offices and the street is a little dirty, however this is Doha....I was in economy.....and I was wiling to give it a try. Room was fairly large although at the time of writing (Nov 2012), it seemed as if the hotel was not really ready... It looked finished but then there were no pictures and everything looked like it was there, but not really at home.....difficult to pin it down. Alas, I was still being patient and willing to give the lunch a try. I dutifully entered the dining room (supposedly an asian/indian speciality place...) and was immediately confronted by what was more like a transport cafe on the motorway, lots of big silver 'buffet' style food dishes/platters going dry and not really that well put together - the food was 'basic', but edible and there was a good range of fruit for afterwards. My suspicions and uneasy feelings culminated in the reception I received when I tried to take my, half finished, 300ml bottle of chilled water with me to the room; given that the lunch was free mind... I was instructed that I could not take the water with me and that there was water in the room. I have no idea where this came from although the same fact was reaffirmed by another 'waiter'. I suspect the water in the rooms is not free...? Anyhow the water in the rooms was not chilled and, really......it was not as if you could give half a bottle of used water to anyone else...?

I checked out of the hotel, approximately 30 minutes after arriving - not a great impression I must say. The whole experience smacked of a 'cheap' hotel having won a bid (contract to the lowest bidder) to house economy passengers from Qatar airways - it seemed as if the whole crowd inside were 'on a coupon'. In fact the slurping and shovelling of free buffet food in the transport cafe only supported this postulate. I don't know whether to be annoyed with the hotel for truly bad service or Qatar Airways for prostituting their passengers out to this debacle of a hotel....

Unless you are a complete skin-flint and don't mind quality in favour of saving money - don't bother with this place - this is not me being bitter, just fair.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in September 2012. The reason for the hotel selection was the Knockout bar it had as not many hotels in Doha have this facility. The rooms were nice and the location was near the new city. The staffs are very welcoming and the Sarangi restaurant was good.

Room Tip: Its better to choose the Queen bed city facing rooms than the twin bed sea facing rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacobG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I also like the other reviewers stayed here due to cancellation of a Qatar flight for 5 hours.
The rooms were quite spacious with modern interior but the bathroom needed a good clean!
Food from the restaurant was poor. It was cold, tasteless and no real variety.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

i was checked in by accident due to missed connecting flight. the hotel is close to the airport and near the sea. my room was in the 12th floor..i have a good view of the city. i love their rooms - spacious..flat screen tv..meals were good - mixtures of meditteranean and indian dishes, i love their selection of salads..it was sad that i did not went to the rooftop- they have a big pool and the view is stunning there as i have heard from other people who were there..the staff is very attentive and accommodating..and i love shopping at the bargain malls across the road...i would love to come back and try their pool and spa...also they have free shuttle to the airport..that is a bonus point..but it would be much better if there is also a shuttle to the big malls in doha...

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the 12th up to 14th floor to get a good view of the city and of the sea
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audmonamikaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#107 of 136 in Doha
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#80 of 136 in Doha
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#46 of 136 in Doha
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#32 of 136 in Doha
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Manor Hotel

Address: Jaber Bin Mohammed Street | across from Qatar Islamic Arts Museum, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $59 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horizon Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing