We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Southindian fare - could do with a bit of better service”
Review of Vasanta Bhavan

Vasanta Bhavan
Ranked #171 of 882 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Best Vegetarian Restaurant in Qatar!
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Typical Southindian fare - could do with a bit of better service”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Typical south Indian food - on the C-Ring road and a busy intersection. The restaurant is upstairs with a juice stall/sweet stall downstairs. The ambience is not great, old wall papers and short ceiling adorn the seating area, separate sections of hand wash/restrooms for male and female. There is a weird smell as soon as you enter through the ground floor housing the juice stall. The food though was tasty and looked hygenic. The service was average - which is expected in what looks to be a day-to-day restaurant. Haven't seen other side, but I would definitely eat here again - for the typical sambars and dosas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ram111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had visited the B RIng Road outlet the first time, and had opted safe for the Mini Idli with Ghee and Sambar. I hate to compare, but the taste was not even any closer to the same dish at Saravana Bhavan. And a riyal too costly at Vasantha Bhavan. The chutney too was very pasty and obviously with less coconut in it.
Premature to arrive at conclusions, but not a great start.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ok Ok”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Found average on Taste especially south Indian dishes (whicj I like most ;P) Its ok in taste and service. Can make lots of improvement on taste and serving.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayurSawant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good option for South Indian Dosas and Uthappams”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have visited the Parco Mall outlet a few times. Got a wide variety of Dosas on the Menu. Dosas were amazing with the accompanying chutneys. Dosas were crisp and well cooked. They have signature Dosas on particular days of the week too apart from the traditional ones like the Paneer Dosa and Mushroom Dosa. It is reasonably priced, neat and quality of service is also good.

We did not like the Vegetable Biriyani that we ordered once as they had over loaded it with mint leaves, and we are not very fond of the cool after taste of mint leaves.

This place is surely for those who love Dosas and Uthappams. The best part is you won't walk away with an empty stomach and empty wallet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WilsonPAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Veggi Food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good place to find Veggi Food for a typical south Indian.

Ambience, quality of service everything is good and you can feel cool and relaxed.

worth for money we spend.......

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vasanta Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing