We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with RDJOSH”
Review of Vasanta Bhavan

Vasanta Bhavan
Ranked #199 of 857 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Best Vegetarian Restaurant in Qatar!
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Agree with RDJOSH”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited the restaurant and basically
1. the food portions served to those who are from the same community is really quite large in comparison to what others are served
2. the toilets have water on the floors
3. there was a cockroach near the hand washing basin (really quite awful)
4. the consistency is awful with regards to the food
5. if you are in a queue God help you because once again the same community members will be given preference and if you should suggest that you are waiting in line - that will be borne in mind the next time you visit
6. that shows when you order and are made to wait for minutes to turn into a good half hour to get anything - of course and the waiters are all in it with yess saaar yess saaar three bags full saarr
7. if you want anything other than a thaali you've got to consider yourself lucky if you are given more than a pint sized portion. the North Indian naans and stuff taste sweet which makes one wonder what flour is being used. the dishes are horribly oily.
8. the parking attendants are helpful as opposed to the waiters - doubt that a swap in places would remedy anything.

It is unfortunate that a picture of the vb cockroach skimming across the mirror near the wash hand basin (just disgustingly unhygienic).

just wondering if this attitude is top down?

restaurants should be rated first on the inherent hygiene levels of their bathrooms. skimping on hygiene is just plain nasty.

why should anyone wish for anything other than getting basic hygiene and the same treatment being meted out actually happen - will not make things right. So go if you must and opt for a thaali.

I'm glad I never went with my parents.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sidrafoodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Reputed place to have nice vegetarian food.
Parking always available at Jaidah location. Almost all time, seats were available. Even if seats are full, they have a nice way of intimating and providing them as soon as they are available. Few chairs are made available outside for those in waiting.
Dosas and chutneys are exemplary. Kids always loved them; so did we.
They stopped family dosa. Paper dosas are the largest of the lot now.
Restaurant is clean and has good ambience.
Vadas seem costly in comparison with other items.
Overall, worth the money and nothing to regret of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akbar sheik h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been to the Bin Mahmood and Airport Road restaurants, both serving fantastic food, well priced, and good service. They accept credit cards to, which is handy for business customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StirlingSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try here if you are in Qatar”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Once in a while we visit here to get a Vegetarian change. Their menu has plenty but our favourites mains are Masala Dosai, Idly fry and Chilli paratta - dishes of South indian tamil nadu state.
Place is pretty cool but crowded if you are going during Thursdays and Fridays. Prices for Idly and Vadai seem costly. An Idly set which comprises chutney, sambar and two small Idlies costs QR 6 and a piece of Vadai costs QR 3 which I think could be reduced.
A lunch meal costs QR 14 with variety of curries sorrounding the plate and you could ask for more without extra cost. Lunch is reasonably priced.
Over a decade Qatar has seen many South Indian restaurant chains opening outlets and this is one of the best among them as far as I am concerned.
They've got three outlets - one in Airport road, one near Jaidah Flyover and the other at Parco mall food court. The first two seems to have good varieties.
The one near Jaidah Flyover attracts foreign visitors because of a star Hotel nearby I believe.
Overall I'd rate this 4/5.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vegan”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nothing to shout about. Just another typical South Indian joint for your dosas or other Indian food. The service is slightly slow. Will only go there if there is no where else better to go. However, the place is commendable for their cleanliness.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PriyaTawde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vasanta Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing